We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Prestigia.com
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
344
46
13
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
344
46
13
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower baby alpacas pisco sour class plunge pool private garden colca canyon high altitude trout bottle feeding sitting area pisco sour making storage area separate toilet presidential suite free activities golf buggy welcome treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 416 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We stayed here for 5 nights. They upgraded us to the presidential suite, which was spectacular. It has two fireplaces, an outdoor shower, and a private hot tub. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful in arranging excursions. The service was amazing. The grounds were beautiful, with a nice walking path. The best part was the daily visit from the resident baby camel and baby alpacas!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank 372lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020


Thank you so much dear 372lori!

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed of activities, service and traditional food experience.
The presidential suite has been ideally designed to enjoy five special nights at Belmond Las Casitas.

Greetings on behalf of the whole team and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best

Cristopher Mendoza
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2019

The arrival is not quite what you might expect from such a hotel which is down a bit of rough track (quite in the style of the general area). The parking area and drop off point is above the reception which you have to walk down to or take the "golf buggy" down with your luggage.

Check in was simple and again you can be taken down to your room or you can walk. All the rooms are down from the reception building (this building includes the bar and restaurant).

How far you have to go is entirely dependant on which room you have. We were in number 19 which was adjoined by number 20. This was a fair way down the valley slope. The walk back is to be taken slowly as you are at high altitude so slowly is the word. This does not in any way spoil the experience but just be aware.

The room was magical. We entered a joint lobby with Number 20. Then left in to the room. This had a large double bed, a sofa, chairs, a coffee table, desk area and chair plus tea and coffee facilities. Large windows to the front and patio doors which open on to a veranda. This has a hot tub (stone) and a table and chairs with views across the valley.

Inside is a storage area with wardrobes and a safe deposit box. Beyond this is a bathroom. The bath is contained in what is almost a conservatory . Two showers, one inside and one outside, plus all you would expect.

There is a screen and bushes which give you privacy from the next door room.

There are walks round the grounds including down to look over the river. At the time we visited there were 3 alpacas and 1 lama, plus a number of horses grazing. None of these caused any issues.

As mentioned there was a walk up back to the restaurant etc. You can request a buggy to help if needed. All I would recommend is a steady walk and stop if you need to.

We had two evening meals inside the restaurant and one lunch outside. Outside there are large sun shaded to protect you. Given where it is there is not a massive choice but for several days the choice is entirely adequate.

Breakfast is a buffet which has a reasonable but on extensive choice. The restaurant staff were friendly and accomodating.

The hotel is built on terraces which are similar as to the surrounding farm land of the area. The rooms are mostly of stone with tiled roofs.

We felt this was just a really great place.

Unfortunately the TA restrictions on photo sizes prevents any photos from being posted.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wylienorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Manager at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Dear Wylienorwich

Many thanks for sharing your Belmond Las Casitas experience!

We are more than glad to know that we meet your expectations and that you had a great time with us, enjoying the different services that we have to offer.

The whole team is pleased to have been your host and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best

Cristopher Mendoza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2019

My husband and I booked three nights at this hotel as a part of our honeymoon. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience there. The rooms/casitas are absolutely stunning, and we felt very spoiled to be able to spend a few days in such a tranquil setting.

The service was outstanding. Barnaby and the rest of the front desk staff were attentive, welcoming and very wonderful to work with. The room service and restaurant service was also exceptional. We didn't realize we booked our honeymoon during the start of the "slow season," but we really enjoyed the peaceful and quiet atmosphere that this brought to the hotel and the restaurant as well. Our server (the same one every night) was great and I'm sad I can't remember his name to give him the credit he deserves. He made excellent recommendations on food and specialty cocktails for us every night.

The atmosphere is wonderful - with the alpacas and the spa and the gardens and tranquility, we really felt like we were in paradise. We had a couples massage that was also wonderful.

Our transportation to and from Arequipa was also perfectly executed. Umberto was a wonderful and safe driver, who delighted in showing us the sights along the drive from Arequipa to the hotel. He was also our driver with Edwin for our day spent in the canyon while condor watching and biking back to the hotel. Both Umberto and Edwin were excellent guides and we really enjoyed our time with them.

Overall, we have nothing negative to say about any of our experiences. We had the very best time during our stay and would love to be able to come back on a future visit to Peru! Thank you to all of the staff!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelpetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Manager at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2019

Dear Mrs. Rachel,

Thank you very much for your visit and for this amazing review. Your words mean a lot to us.


Thank again for taking the time to share your comments with us!!! Be sure that i will share it with all the staff and specially with Barnaby.

One of our goals is to offer a very relaxing experience and to offer our guest the opportunity to reconnect with nature. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the peaceful of the hotel and the valley.


Best regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2019 via mobile

Just like the name, each room is a house. One could have full privacy and have an escape. Most of the staff were so friendly and the food was delicious. Also the spa was just as memorable and relaxing. Highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KyleWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Manager at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

Dear Mrs. Kyle,

Greetings from Colca Canyon!

Thank you very much for your visit and for this amazing review. Your words mean a lot to us.
I will share your review with all the staff.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the peaceful of the hotel and the valley.

Hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2019

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to see the condors. The room was VERY nice and even had a hot tub (not that we used it). It has some beautiful grounds with alpacas, llamas, and horses and a little pond.

The restaurant was quite nice (food was delicious) but they charged a ridiculous amount of money ($7 US dollars) for a tiny bottle of flat water. Of all the places we stayed, including other Belmonds within Peru, this was the most outrageous expense. The breakfast was also just so-so: a buffet that had some minimal items. It was only after the waiter heard us talking about the minimal choices (and having eaten what was available) that he informed us that we could order off a menu as well (a bit too little too late).

The other thing we didn't love about this place was that it was a VERY far walk from our room to the dining area (up hill at high altitude). In the dark, despite the flashlight provided, it was very challenging.

Finally, when we were ready to leave the following morning, I called to have our bags brought up and, after waiting 30 minutes, I/we finally gave up and went up to the main building for breakfast and to complain. Much to my dismay, the person who was supposed to get our bags was busy spending the entire time waiting for a single guest to check out as that guest had many complaints. Couldn't the staff member have unloaded the bags and left them in the front to come get ours rather than sit there and wait for the aggravated guest?

Anyway, overall the hotel room (each its own little house) was very nice and the staff was friendly. If it weren't for the few small items I mentioned, it may have been a 5...but given those, I think a 4 (4.5) rating is appropriate.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dlit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Manager at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

Dear Mr. Dlit99,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay with us.
Be sure that I will check each comments with my team in order to improve our level of service.

Best regards,


Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews