We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly positive ”
Review of Gruta Huagapo

Gruta Huagapo
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Tarma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

I didn't expect too much as the indication was that one could enter 200 meters into the cave. What positively surprised me then was that for the 200 meters one had to climb with the help of a rope and in the light of a head lamp. An adventurous surprise, also for the children.

Other than that, the cave is giant and one can feel its size when looking down into the holes that open up on the sides. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank hbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2017

We went with a guided tour, so we only got 160 meters into the cave. Inside you have to climb a ladder and go over some small wooden bridges. My 7 year old daughter was ok with it, but it might not be suitable for small children and people that don´t like heights, dark environments, climbing or have some kind of disability.

There is a steep path to get to the cave. This might be slightly challenging on the way up because of the altitude.

Use good shoes and bring your own headlight as the lights you get with the tour are usually weak.

For our surprise, there was a photographer inside the cave. We got our picture on the way out, it costs 5 soles. Fun souvenir to have.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Lissete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gruta Huagapo also viewed

 
Tarma, Junin Region

Been to Gruta Huagapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing