We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options available locally - not recommended ”
Review of Sun Avenue Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Avenue Pension
Ranked #19 of 44 Tagbilaran City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed just the one night, I'd anticipated staying longer but moved on.

It's well located, close to the airport, seaport and malls.

Hard to pinpoint why, but it just doesn't work well as holiday accommodation. The staff were friendly enough but spoke relatively poor English that didn't extend well beyond their check-in script, and they couldn't help with basic information.

The room had no window. Sigh. The bed had an itchy blanket rather than clean sheet.

Air con was good, bathroom was good (hot water ).

I moved up the road first thing the next morning to Nisa Travellers, which has much better private rooms (slightly more expensive) and amazing staff.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank isabel_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

It's located along the highway, 10 minutes walk from Tagbilaran Ferry Terminal. Restaurant/Cafe is located beside the building, which has great food for its price 100 - 200 pesos, they also offer motorcycle rentals (500 - 400 pesos and drivers license is required). The staff, especially the front desk (Kuya Ronald) is very accommodating and friendly. Internet access is available on the ground floor and cafe, not much on the other floors. I will stay here again, when I come back to Bohol.

Room Tip: Toothpaste and shampoos are not included bring your own toiletries. Get a room nearest to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peng S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I was with this hotel last May and almost evening time. What I didnt like was the staff entertaining, not so accommodating and very irritating, I kept changing rooms because the water not was functioning, the light was not turning on, the aircon was not fixed. If it was not yet evening, I wouldnt have checked in at that hotel. I wasssss really annoyed.

Room Tip: Not good for emergency accommodation, frustrating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glucke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Me and my husband stayed in sun avenue for two nights. The room is big and also the bed is big for us both. The CR is not that clean. The were dirt in the tiles, it is quite obvious because the tiles were white but there were just few dirt. Wifi is only available in the lobby. They have breakfast but they don't serve late breakfast and I think there were only two choices everyday. The durian coffee in there cafe taste really good :). Nothing fancy but we were able to rest well. Very near in there sea port.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Its conveniently located near the Tagbilaran City port, and a walk away from the 2 major malls in the city (BQ Mall and Altura's Mall). First impression would be a cozy place to stay, the staff are friendly and attentive but the bed... oh the bed gives you back aches and body aches. It is not really comfy and the pillows are very small that'll give you neck problems when you wake up. The bathroom is simple, nothing fancy but the toilet seat does not flush properly. Also if your life is wired, just want you to know that free wifi is only available at the lobby of the hotel and not in the rooms.

Overall I'd say, stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eugene_of_CDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Due to our late arrival in Bohol, we wanted to stay 1 night in Tagbilaran and then continue our journey to Anda.

Therefore the Sun Avenue was convenient as it is not too far away from the pier, where we arrived by OceanJet and where we could find a transport for the next day.

It was ok for what we needed it. We took a standard room in the basement. Therefore we did not have a window, which did not matter as we were there to sleep. The bed was ok, people with back problems would say it is uncomfortable. The AC was not too loud. The bathroom and the rest of the room was simple and clean.

There is an adjacient cafe where you can eat your breakfast. It's a very simple breakfast.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this pension house for two days. If you prefer a hot/warm bath, it takes too long for the water to turn warm. About 5 minutes or so. Shower current is not strong too. But what really killed the deal are the bed bugs! Got itches on my arm and legs. Also, their free breakfast is only served 7-9am. Once you eat beyond 9, they will charge you already. So, if you are a late riser, this is not the place for you.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagbilaran City hotels
0.9 km away
Darunday Manor
Darunday Manor
#7 of 12 in Tagbilaran City
124 reviews
3.6 km away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 12 in Tagbilaran City
427 reviews
2.6 km away
Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 12 in Tagbilaran City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
MetroCentre Hotel & Convention Center
MetroCentre Hotel & Convention C...
#4 of 12 in Tagbilaran City
166 reviews
3.6 km away
The Gabriella Bed & Breakfast
The Gabriella Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 44 in Tagbilaran City
48 reviews
1.3 km away
TR3ATS Guest House - Bohol
TR3ATS Guest House - Bohol
#9 of 44 in Tagbilaran City
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Avenue Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Avenue Pension

Address: Gallares Street, Tagbilaran City 6300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Tagbilaran City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Tagbilaran City
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Avenue Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sun Avenue Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Avenue Pension Hotel Tagbilaran City
Sun Avenue Pension Tagbilaran City, Bohol Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing