We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,702)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveller rating
1,316
275
68
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,316
275
68
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club escort service train station lobby lounge narita express corner room meet and greet daimaru department store nespresso machine office building little things beautiful room rain shower wet room city view perfect service luxurious hotel
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This place is wonderful. We stayed on the horizon club level, and it made all the difference. What an elegant establishment, with service from some of Japans very finest. The lounge area upstairs made such a wonderful impression upon us, that every time we left the hotel, we could not wait to return. The gym is spacious, well equipped, and even has a swimming pool, with a skyline view. The music played throughout the hotel creates quite an atmosphere. The team who works here are at the top of their game, including the restaurant staff - Mr. Martin - especially, who was always looking after his friends from Hawaii. We will be back next year, and can hardly wait.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusBauder, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Trevor J,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out Fiachra Martin. Your feedback motivates all of us to keep raising the bar. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Marcus Bauder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel because of the attentive service, wonderful room and great location. I would highly recommend this hotel. The room was fantastic. The only disappointment was the breakfast buffet; the entree selection was outstanding but the buffet had limited selection given the price of the meal.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buchabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusBauder, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear buchabob,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and rest assured that we will continue to enhance our breakfast buffet offering. We will actually launch an entirely new buffet in August. We hope to see you again very soon to receive your feedback.

Sincerely,

Marcus Bauder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Shangri-La. Unfortunately, there were a few bumps.

On arrival, my room was not ready although the arrival time had been communicated days in advance. When finally a room was ready, it was a twin bed (I do not sleep in two beds).

Service at the bar was sub-standard. While there were plenty of servers, they seemed to look straight ahead rather than around. Unless you are making a windmill with your arms, they won’t see you. Refilling water etc. was not happening.

Worst was the food service. With two people at the table, our food arrived 15 min apart. Also for one of us, the fries arrived much later than the burger to which they belonged. - Having said that, the food quality is decent. The quality of the cocktails excellent.

Breakfast service is a different story. Smooth and attentive as it should be. I think the Maître d’ is from the Middle East - he runs a tight ship. The quality of the food again very nice.

Rooms are specious and clean.

Even considering the significant downsides (service!), it is still a far better option than the Four Seasons (see my other review).

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank travellingf0rw0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusBauder, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear travellingf0rw0rk,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and the breakfast experience. However, please accept our apologies for not having met your expectations with regards to the arrival and the service at the Lobby Lounge. Rest assured that your comments have been addressed immediately and will not recur going forward.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future to re-assure you of our commitment to make amends and provide you with the service experience you rightly expect.

Sincerely,

Marcus Bauder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Love this hotel - great location, excellent views and breakfasts. Cosy meeting facilities. Panoramic windows - cool urban landscape day and night. Imperial Gardens view. Through windows you can see how bullet trains below goes back and forth.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank eldaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusBauder, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear eldaru,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We truly hope to be able to welcome you 'home' in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marcus Bauder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

We travelled to Japan as a family of four and wanted a central location with easy access from Narita Airport via Narita express . The Shangri-La is conveniently located next to Tokyo Station and downtown. The hotel concierge met us in Tokyo station on the rail platform and graciously escorted us with luggage to the hotel . The pedestrian entrance is on the ground floor but the lobby is on 28th. You transfer to different elevators for The rooms which start above 31 and we booked the Horizon Club on the top 37 th floor . This was well worth the cost for the comfortable rooms, concierge services , delicious breakfast and drinks and snacks during the day . Check in was in your room - a nice discreet touch .
The rooms were magnificent with spacious bathrooms and comfortable beds . They were quiet despite the bustle of trains and city life below . The hotel welcomed us with some Proseco ,fruits and chocolate as we were celebrating our anniversary - another nice touch. Fresh water bottles were replenished daily and there were in room coffee/ tea makers
The Buffett breakfast included with the Club rooms was also healthy , fresh and delicious with both western and Japanese cuisine.
The motor entrance is on B1 and the bell hop hailed taxis easily if needed
Shangri-La was convenient to Ginza, shopping and the famed Tsukiji Fish market as well as all the JR or Metro lines
Our dedicated concierges Ami and Mai were professional , courteous - they took care of every wish including booking Shinkansen tickets to Kyoto and our bell hop Kai Yang escorted us to the Exact platform at busy Tokyo station
The hotel also kept our luggage for a couple days while we were in Kyoto .
We loved the hotel for its superior 5 Star service, central location , luxurious rooms
And the Horizon Club . We look forward to returning for another wonderful stay .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vacationer151922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusBauder, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay and we would be very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo in the hopefully not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Marcus Bauder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews