We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
AlgotelsUS$172
Trip.comUS$207
Vio.comUS$164
ZenHotels.comUS$188
EtripUS$164
Destinia.comUS$182
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,325)
Filter reviews
2,325 results
Traveller rating
1,387
783
105
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,387
783
105
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel quiet street train station third floor green tea japanese restaurant massage chair suidobashi tokyo pajamas laundry lines slippers suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 2,325 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

During a trip to Tokyo, we stayed at Hotel Niwa twice - each for 2 nights. Both times the hotel was an excellent place to say, with a friendly welcome, spotless presentation and comfortable rooms.

The staff on reception all spoke at least basic English, and were very polite and friendly throughout. Sadly arriving early an early check-in wasn't possible, but our bags were tagged and looked after until the room was ready, when they were taken to the room.
The room itself was, as to be expected in Tokyo, relatively small. However, based on some of the other reviews, I had expected a tiny box. This being Japan, everything fitted in what space there was - there was room to get both sides of the bed; a small fridge and shelves; a desk and chair. Admittedly a large suitcase might have had trouble laying out on the floor, but there was an area big enough to lay out a medium size case.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, and kept that way throughout the stay. The view from the window was of an office block, but decent blinds were provided to both keep daylight out, and a sliding paper screen kept the view inside attractive.

We didn't try the lounge or any of the facilities outside the room and common areas, so can't comment on those.

As others have noted, the restaurant was quite expensive - even the room service bento box was approx £25 ($38-40). To be fair, I don't think the prices were out of range of a good restaurant in Tokyo, but there is a convenience story next door for snacks. Also, one block away (on the road leading from the train station) a range of restaurants offered choices from fast-food Japanese style, to Western style cakes/toast/sandwiches.

Niwa's location was about 500m (5 mins or less) to the JR rail station. For tourists with a JR Rail pass, this was ideal as you could get around most of Tokyo on the JR network, and indeed get to/from Narita or Haneda (via Monorail) using your pass. It is about a 10minute ride to Tokyo mainline station, and from the Niwa you can walk to the war memorial/museum in one direction, or a slightly longer walk to the Imperial Gardens.
From the rail station to Niwa, the obvious route is over the pedestrian bridge - but with luggage it is easier to walk down the road (past the restaurants), turning left at the first set of traffic lights.

The only minor irritation was that the wifi was slow. Could get connection to the service, but the actual speed when connected was very very slow - so don't expect to be doing large downloads!

If I ever return to Tokyo, I would certainly stay at Hotel Niwa again. It was a lovely clean, modern and comfortable hotel in central Tokyo.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy to hear that you had a good time during a trip to Tokyo.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable hotel for foreigners, so please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel Niwa is a beautiful boutique hotel in Suidobashi. This is not a great location because you need to change trains and with luggage it's difficult. Furthermore, this is a self-service hotel so you need to bring your luggage to/from your room. We were given a smoking room when we have a young child. Furthermore, the restaurant is really overpriced. We ordered some late night fettuccine. We were given spaghetti (not fettuccine) and the bill was steep. We were tired and had a guest with us so we didn't complain at the time.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandwaterpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is a beautiful boutique hotel.
We believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Thank you again we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Got lucky on this one, I must say. In a recent trip to Japan I needed a place to overnight in Tokyo after arriving from US, but was late booking a place and all reasonable hotels near train lines from Narita were booked up. Then I found a half-price deal for this hotel on Expedia.

This hotel is extremely centrally located, just a short walk from the JR/Metro Suidobashi station and not far from Tokyo Dome. I'd characterize this hotel's approach as the review's title says - it doesn't provide too many "bells and whistles" but delivers quality in what a traveler really needs. Both the public area and the room are nicely designed in a Japanese-modern style. The single room (inevitably small, as this is Tokyo) had a comfortable US twin-size bed and ample desk space for working. The room did lack, however, any drawer space; fine for overnighting but, at least for me, it would have become an issue for a multi-night stay.

One minor problem I had was that I couldn't connect to their wi-fi network. I contacted the front and they troubleshot for me, but in the meantime I could get on to the Internet using a wired connection in the room.

As mentioned, the Expedia deal (just shy of 10,000 yen including tax) made this an outstanding value. Not sure if I would so consider it at full price; hence four rather than five stars in the "Value" rating.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWWandLBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located to the JR / Metro Suidobashi station and not far from Tokyo Dome. We are so happy hear you enjoyed very good location.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
We look forward to serving you again near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We thought this hotel was lovely. We stayed here first night on our honeymoon and it had great ambience, and was beautifully fitted out. While the rooms were on the small side, this didn't bother us, the place was spotless and the bed was wonderful to sink into after our flight. We loved the sliding screens at the windows and the pre fab bathrooms.
It was our favourite place of all the places we stayed at in Japan - even some that we double the cost.
We thought the location was great - very close to Suidobashi which gives access to all the spread out attractions in Tokyo.
Stay here - it's great.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenGWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO your honeymoon and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a wonderful time with us.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable and lovely hotel for foreigners, so please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and our helpful staff we look forward to seeing you again.
Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights, based on good reviews here. All I can say is that not in the top ten hotels in Tokyo for nothing! Can't think of many useful things to add, but I would say that its an excellent location if you don't want to stay somewhere like Shinjuku. I guess this was the one aspect that I was unsure of before I booked this place, but the transport links were ten times better than I was expecting. The usefulness of Suidobashi station (less than 5 mins from hotel) having both JR and metro links cannot be overstated, and I can't think of a single place that was difficult to get to from there. Lots of wonderful restaurants nearby, many of which are cheap. Great rooms, helpful staff, great base for exploring.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulklee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located close to the JR and Metro Suidobashi station.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Thank you again and our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews