We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown in glitzy Ginza ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I've always associated Peninsula for dated obnoxious. I was so wrong.

The Peninsula service is impeccable the moment you stepped in. The front desk staff will personally escort you to your room upon check in. And nothing is too much trouble for the concierge. When we asked for direction to the Hibiya station (which is located just at the basement of the hotel), the staff personally walked us to the station and even showed us how to buy our train ticket. Now that's service !
We wanted to print our tickets at the business Centre and instead, the staff suggested we forward via email to her for printing and she even helped us checked in! Wow

Peninsula Tokyo is luxurious by Japanese standard. The room is equipped w spacious dressing room, separate lounge area, and a dainty dining table that gave an amazing view of the tokyo.

Local restaurants, cafes and convenient stores surround the hotel and gives your ultimate flexibility when you're hungry or craved for a midnight snack

In fact, you have all shopping needs fulfilled as the hotel is located amongst top brand stores, malls.

My only gripe - dislike the sofa in the room that sink the moment you sit and sofa cushions smelled of dried perspiration.

Otherwise, it's with a heavy heart that we check out of Peninsula. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank IamPatPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 October 2017

Dear IamPatPat

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay at The Peninsula Tokyo. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Incredible service that the Peninsula is known for in the heart of Tokyo. The rooms and amenities are very impressive as well as thoughtful. Loved booking through Fine Hotels & Resorts program. The standard for a traditional luxury hotel!

Cons:
-Restaurant when you walk into the lobby is quite strange and makes the whole space less impressive than it is
- technology is a bit dated in the rooms and should come into the digital age
-rooftop bar has a stunning view and a great happy hour, but it is quite dated and looks straight form the 1990s, was very smoky as well
-overall very stuffy feeling, so don't stayif you like more modern relaxed luxury

Room Tip: top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ccpp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 October 2017

Dear ccpp2016

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us. We are grateful to read that you enjoyed the location and services of our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments, as they help us to improve our services and facilities. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Impeccable service from greetings to housekeeping and getting u a taxi.
The hotel is very thoughtfully designed to impress and please the senses and satisfy all human comfort.
Staff speak fluent English and are always ready to go the extra mile.
Would definitely want to come back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GraceN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Dear GraceN17

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay at The Peninsula Tokyo. Needless to say, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we very much appreciate your kind words and compliments.

We will look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

My visit to Tokyo started with the Rolls Royce experience. Driving from Narita airport to the hotel in luxury, and getting checked in from my room. The suite was amazing. Dressing room, bathroom, lounge and bedroom. Exceptional service in all respects. I used the laundry service to get my shoes shined. It got collected in 2min, and returned about an hour later.

Breakfast in the lobby was also great. Try the Peter bar on the top floor for great views.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Dear SATraveller25

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us. It is our pleasure to be part of your Tokyo experience and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Absolutely amazing hotel set within 5 minute walk to the main Ginza shopping & dining district. Check in was spectacular as we were escorted straight to our room from our Tesla limousine and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was not a buffet but it was still sufficient for us to start our day. Also, this hotel is connected to the Hibiya train station which is connected to the main Ginza subway station. Truly an iconic experience!

Room Tip: Choose ones which are facing the Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren Linggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 September 2017

Dear Darren L

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us. We are grateful to read that you enjoyed the location and services of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

It's very rare that a hotel owns the whole building in the heart of Tokyo. The building connected to the Tokyo metro, although the sign of the entrance is not very easy to find when I first got there. They got one of of the best spa facilities in the would.

Room Tip: some rooms are facing other office buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Dear Jimmy L

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. We are grateful to read that you enjoyed the location and facilities of our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Staying at the hotel is a wonderful experience, where the service is second to none. Everything is done to make your stay a relaxing, stress free experience.
We were collected from the airport in a Peninsula Hotel Rolls Royce, which glided effortlessly through the traffic!
We were greeted at the door like old friends and escorted to our room, where the paperwork was done for us while our cases were put into our dressing room.
Your room is a comfortable haven, where laundry is magically removed from the 'laundry cupboard' and returned immaculately presented the next morning in the same way. Effortless!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Dear Liz W

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future!

Yours Sincerely
Sonja Vodusek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,093 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 78 in Chiyoda
1,200 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $671 - $1,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing