We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average but good situated clean hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Average but good situated clean hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Situated at ginza area, the rooms are rather small but all together a good hotel. They serve a good breakfast. The subway is also not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbxl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    675
    165
    32
    9
See reviews for
287
401
119
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Srrvice was very professional as an upper business class hotel. Clean and comfortable accommodation. The location cannot be better if you want to shop and brows in GInza. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from May 16-19, 2012 and we felt like coming back again. Accessible from Metro Train station, high end shopping area and mostly very friendly and helpful staffs at the reception. One of the staff help us booked our full day Tokyo tour and he arranged everything for us. He also speaks English well. Our Limousine bus transfer was also arranged by them. Kudos to their front desk staff all of them are helpful.

Helpful?
3 Thank Vivzkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We arrived at this hotel via the Yurakucho subway train line and found that there is an entrance to the hotel directly from Ginza Itchome station without going out to the street. An elevator takes you directly to the lobby. Check in was simple and assisted by friendly English-speaking reception staff.
Our room was not as small as you come to expect in Tokyo and very nicely decorated. As usual in Japanese hotels, there was a small module-type bathroom. Internet access is free in the room via a wire provided in the desk drawer. There is also free wi-fi access in the lobby and a laptop available for guest use.
We ate lunch and breakfast in the restaurant and both were good quality at reasonable prices, again the staff were multi-lingual and helpful.
The department stores of Ginza ar only two minutes' walk away so easy to get back to the hotel with heavy bags.
The hotel is mid price for Tokyo and good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I always stay here when I visit Tokyo. It's near my office, close to the shopping district, and next to a McDonalds (a lifesaver when you need a break from the marvelous japanese food). Walking distance to the imperial gardens and a good bookstore too. As is typical with the Japanese, the hospitality is perfect, the rooms are always perfect, although small and expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hotel Mercure Ginza is not a Ritz-Carlton but it is a perfectly adequate modest tourist-class hotel in the heart of Ginza. Located on a quiet but central and easy to find street provides all basic comforts most short-term visitors would need. Rooms are smallish but clean and functional. Our room had a safe and a free cable internet connection (Ethernet cable is available free of charge in each room). Wireless internet is available in the lobby. There is no street noise and the beds are comfortable. Tea and coffee are provided in the room along with the electric kettle. There are at least four subway stations within a ten minute walk from the hotel with one of them (I believe Ginza-Itchome) right outside the hotel. It takes fifteen minutes to walk to the hotel from Tokyo main railway station. Two inexpensive convenience stores are located at each end of the short street and there is a MacDonald’s restaurant within the same block .Reception staff speaks good English and there is a breakfast buffet available in the hotel restaurant. Free International Herald Tribune is available daily and your toilet seat is heated! Minor drawback was the air conditioning with controls labeled in Japanese characters. Despite basic English instructions that did come with it we could never set it up correctly. Consequently the room was uncomfortably warm at night and one couldn’t open the windows.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand how to operate the AC controls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zodiac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I recommend staying at this hotel. It is excellently located in Ginza, which is a very upmarket area of Tokyo. It is centrally located and therefore it is easy to get to any of the sights in Tokyo from here.

There is a subway station in the basement, however this is not on a very convenient line. There are two other subway stations very close by, Ginza is the most convenient. It is so close that we actually walked there with our luggage when it came time to go home, and the information boards in Ginza Station tell you in English which exit you need to use to get to the hotel. All of this means that what ever sights you have decided you want to see in Tokyo, they are easy to get to from here. Just so you know here is some of what we visited and roughly how long it took from the hotel door,

Disneyland - about 30 minutes
Senso-Ji Temple - about 20 minutes
Shibyua - About 20 minutes

so as you can see nowhere is really going to be more than about a 45 minute subway ride away.

There are a couple of local 7/11 type shops near by which sell water and coke, sweets etc, which are cheaper than the mini bar, there is a Mcdonalds next door, and a few very good coffee shops/cafes in the street the hotel is in. In the next few streets are plenty of eating and drinking spots. The staff at the hotel recommended a sushi bar to us which was fantastic, it was called Bikkuri Sushi Ginza and I definitely recommend eating thee at least once.

The room itself was very nice, it was clean and well appointed, not that big, but then you are in the centre of Tokyo so what do you expect. The bathroom was very clean and well appointed, the most advanced toilet I have ever seen!! It had a dial to change the temperature of the seat!

There was free internet via a provided ethernet cable in the room and free wifi in the lobby. We didnt eat at the restaurant, breakfast or dinner, because there are so many other good spots to eat around, so I can't comment on the food.

Just so you know who is submiting this reveiw, we are not backpackers, we do not stay at hostels, we like to stay at very nice private hotels. Yes this hotel isnt the ritz but it is affordable in the centre of Tokyo.

Overall I would say: stay here, it is centrally located, easily walkable from Ginza subway station, and there are loads of facilities within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andyandceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#16 of 89 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tokyo Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Property: Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Address: 2-9-4 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#7 Family Hotel in Chuo
#9 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Tokyo Ginza 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of Tokyo's shopping area, within walking distance from Ginza dori and Harumi dori shopping streets, Kabuki Theatre and Tsukiji fish markets. The subway station underneath the hotel provides access to all attractions and sights inTokyo. The Mercure Tokyo Ginza offers a distinctive French flair and state-of-the-art technology. Due to its location close to Tokyo International Forum, the hotel is very convenient for exhibitors and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Tokyo Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ginza Tokyo
Mercure Hotel Chuo
Mercure Tokyo Ginza Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing