We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$258
US$173
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$77
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$141
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,169)
Filter reviews
2,169 results
Traveller rating
1,785
273
64
23
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,785
273
64
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount fujiconcierge teampizza barbottega venetapark hyattluxury hotelgrand roompillow menufloor to ceiling windowsfour seasonsamazing hotelmitsukoshimae stationmitsukoshi department storechinese restaurantsushirestaurant reservationsfavorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 2,169 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We’ve stayed in the Las Vegas one and we’re impressed with the Tokyo on as well.
Our granddaughter loved the automatic blinds and curtains. What a view, particularly as the sun went down and city lit up.
Quiet, service great.
Remember, lobby is on the 38 floor!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear skiNebraska

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.


Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

It is a pity that a hotel that charges 900 euros a night does not meet the expectations! Sadly old, in need of urgent refurbishment!! Gym room a disgrace, spa acceptable, no pool. Couldn't get a reservation at any of the top restaurants, no creativity in giving options to guests ( but very polite and with wishes to please but unable to come through). One night we went to the hotel's chinese restaurant at 21:30 and before we could even say a word the hostess informs us that the last order is at 10:00 pm. It is 9:30 pm!! How about good evening you are welcome, how many in your party? Just shows how little they care or how lazy they were! Not very typical in Japan. The whole atmosphere is that of a lazy agonizing Dinosaur! A disgrace to the Mandarin Oriental Hotel chain. Never again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Ms Tom S

Thank you for this review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have given careful consideration to each of your comments.

These have been shared with the relevant Department Heads responsible for the areas in question and those individuals have carefully looked into what may have been the cause of your negative experiences.

It would be greatly appreciated if you would allow us the opportunity to discuss these experiences with you further and therefore we kindly ask that you email us at motyo-socialmedia@mohg.com with your preferred contact details.

Once again we thank you for taking the time to share these valuable comments and we look forward to hearing from you again soon.


Yours Sincerely,


Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely love MO Tokyo. It is THE hotel to stay in Tokyo. The staff are incredible. Traditional Japanese service is rather gated between guest and host. MO they really do want to chat and help and get to know you. Our stay was immeasurably elevated by all of the staff there.

Of course the food is top notch. Sushi Sora was delicious and the sommelier Makoto made the meal extra delightful. Tea service overlooking the city is almost scary how luxurious and wonderful it is. K'shiki for breakfast and lunch are the best. Try the squid appetizer. The gym amenities are superb and try the sauna if you can.

10 out of 10 will stay there again next time we're in Tokyo.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Grant P

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and were satisfied with the hotel’s service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.


Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

There's nothing terrible about the hotel but I'm baffled by all of the 'excellent' reviews on Trip Advisor.

We booked this hotel for the last night of our stay following 4 nights at the Shangri-La and 4 nights at the Four Seasons in Kyoto, both of which were excellent. The hotel is very dated in comparison and felt like a 4* hotel, I wouldn't rate this 5* as it needs a refurb.

The service was excellent, as was the bar area but the room and overall hotel decor were disappointing. It's damaging to the brand to operate a hotel of this standard. I'd be unlikely to stay in another MO hotel due to this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Dani1605

Thank you for this review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We were concerned to learn of your feedback and would like to discuss your comments further, so that we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you can reach out to us directly at motyo-socialmedia@mohg.com

We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Yours sincerely


Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
188
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

The staff were nice, the rooms were clean and near everything! We had an amazing time in Tokyo and we will definitely recommend this hotel to other people. Plus the food was amazing! At breakfast order the pancake it is a literal pan cake!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTYO, Social Media Communicaitons at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.


Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews