We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Save
Tokyo Off the Beaten Path Full-Day Private Tour with Government-Licensed Guide
9

Book in advance
from
US$118.16
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Fukagawa Edo Museum
from US$118.16
More Info
from US$204.80
More Info
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
151
110
46
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
110
46
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 311 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2018

My seven year old daughter and I had a wonderful couple of hours exploring this recreation of an Edo-era village. Our guide was very kind and knowledgeable, and after a helpful little tour we were left to explore the town ourselves. You can touch and feel everything, so my daughter spent ages opening drawers and cupboards, playing with abacuses and rice grinding machines, comparing the kitchens of the different social classes, and imagining life 170 years ago. Well worth the (minimal) effort to get to.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

When i visited this place it was an eye opener into the everday life of Edo people, our guide Mr Hiroshi Otaka was excellent and full of knowledge,gave us a great tour with a very friendly and professional tour.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Relatively speaking, this part of the city is much less popular than the city center. But if you are in the area, this museum is a must do and represented a much-appreciated change of pace during my trip to Tokyo. As others have mentioned, the museum, although not that huge, is installed with a life-size replica model of a small community from the Edo era. The houses and stalls were recreated with a keen eye to detail, down to the placements of various articles inside the houses. Kids would have a blast here no doubt. Entrance fee is just 400 yen per head.

Date of experience: September 2018
5  Thank mrhostim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

The museum is a short walk from the Fukugawa Fudodo, making it a great oportunity to visit two attractions on the same day. For a small fee, you can experience what a Edo period village might have looked like. The museum is so detailed and realistic, even a cat on the roof of one of the homes. You can touch everything (cookware, tools, clothing, etc) while exploring the entire village. From what I was told, there are seasonal changes made to the town, such as Fall foliage in the Fall or cherry blossoms in the Spring.

There are English speaking volunteer guides if you need one. The museum is popular with students so arranging for a guide in advance might be nice.

It was well worth the small entry fee.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Milikena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

The museum is a realistic model of a few streets as they looked like during Edo period (a cat on a roof is included). You can enter the houses and touch everything. The best part - there were volunteering guides. One of them gave me a personalised tour through the exhibition and explained me everything in English. The visit was worth much more than 400 yen, which I paid for the ticket!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews