We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
142
140
26
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
140
26
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room meguro station a popular wedding venue spa bath wedding banquet japanese style japanese onsen living room western beds beautiful hotel japanese bathroom executive suite close walk free shuttle mt fuji cherry blossoms the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 318 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Like stepping back in time 200 years. Previously home to a samurai Lord. You will feel like royalty just walking through this place. Had lunch here in a private tatami room. This whole hotel left me breathless. The most beautiful Japanese place I have ever seen with my own eyes. Lunch was so delicate and exquisite with the smallest detail to enhance the meal experience. You will not be full, but you will not be hungry either. This place has totally retained the old Japanese character of the nobility. I can't wait to see this place again.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Traveler703146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Location-wise, Hotel Gajoen was a welcome relief from the high rise around Maranouchi where we stayed for 6 nights on this same trip. The hotel overlooks the Meguro Canal which apparently is spectacular come Cherry Blossom season. Meguro is relatively quiet but you can walk, bus, train or taxi to nearby trendy, cool areas and areas such as Ebisu with upmarket stores and cafes. In the immediate vicinity there is a 7-11, a Family Mart and OGGI, one of Meguro's best bakeries.
An excellent nearby area for cafes and restaurants and quirky shops is Naka-Meguro.
Back to the hotel - the room was huge - 80 sq metres with brilliant sunlight streaming in AND a view of Mt Fuji! The layout of the room would make it perfect for a family as the bedroom (two double beds) can be shut off from the large lounge area. The bathroom is massive with shower, double vanity, steam sauna and spa bath. There is a generous supply of Omnisens toiletries which are lovely.
Breakfast was superb with fish cooked to order and omelets with any additions you choose. There certainly was no shortage of breads, pastries and Japanese vegetables, pickles and fruit.
The hotel itself is an historic site and has been a popular wedding venue for decades. There is a waterfall with a pond with koi which sits beside Pandora's Cafe which was popular with Japanese Ladies who Lunch". A shuttle bus runs between the hotel and the Meguro station.
We would definitely stay again at Hotel Gajoen for the comfort, the location and the value for money.

Room Tip: I was told all rooms are at least 70 square metres. Room numbers ending in odd numbers face Mt Fuji.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beaverlea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Located near Meguro river (popular during sakura season) & surrounded by housing area. There's a 7-11 convenience store on the left, outside the hotel. Nearest station is Meguro station, which is about 5-7 min walk uphill. Not great if you have luggages or young toddlers in tow. The hotel provides free shuttle but there's always a long queue so we ended up walking most of the time.

We stayed in the Japanese room with tatami beds. Very authentic & luxury experience for us, especially the kids. Unfortunately, I'm not used to the thin tatami bed and the pillows were super soft to the extend that it flattens out when I slept on it. Hence, I didn't sleep well at all. The actual bedroom can only fit 2 tatami beds so 1 more bed was placed out at the living area.

However, I loved the wooden Japanese bathroom that has a steam room, an open shower area & a wooden jacuzzi tub. Very spacious and luxurious. The toilet is located separately, near the main entrance.

Breakfast was limited. We had 2 adults & 2 kids aged 6 and 8. The hotel considers kids aged 7 and above as adults. So we had to pay the breakfast price of 3 adults & 1 child. To be honest, breakfast was not worth it. You can opt to grab some breads or japanese breakfast at the 7-11 convenience store just outside the hotel.

Overall, it's a good one-off experience. But with the same price, we prefer Four Seasons Hotel in Ginza with better location.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank meyxtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour804534, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear ,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for not having met your expectations. We are doing our utmost to offer our guests a delightful stay and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in order to reassure you of our commitment to serve you properly, make amends and demonstrate our respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Staying at the Gajoen is like sleeping at a 5 star Japanese museum. It is loaded for the senses with beautiful art, antiqities, gardens, and beatiful would be brides in Kimono planning their wedding at this gorgeous location. It really felt we were in a fashion or cinema photo shoot for the traditional elegance of Japan. There are only 60 rooms and you feel very special staying here, and are treated like royalty. The rooms are luxurious and large with huge bathroom. Ours had a steam sauna. We staying in a family style Japanese and Western room with our two teenage children on big tatami and futon beds, and western beds for my wife and I. It was a great night to spend together as a family. The price is a good value and costs no more than getting two separate rooms for 4 at some other not nearly as nice or memorable hotel. The breakfast included was also really special and much higher end and diverse than any we had tried in Tokyo. Lastly, the Meguro train station is a short 5 minute walk so it is easy to connect to the great train system and explore Toyko.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank ehermelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテル雅叙園東京, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear Eric H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking time to give us your feedback posted on TripAdvisor. I am glad to know that you and your family had a great time with us and you specifically liked our location, service and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Once again, thank you very much. 
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

My family and I stayed here for four days at the end of a long rustic trip in Asia. When I booked this hotel I didn't realize ahead of time how much of a luxury it'd be -- I just wanted something "nice" on the Yamanote line and a little bit out of the frenzy. This place fit the criteria perfectly. The rooms are beyond well appointed and super comfortable, the staff is as professional as they come, and the breakfast is the executive lounge is the best -- so good! Be prepared for all out formality -- it's 100%. Also be prepared for a steep walk up and down the hill from/to Meguro station. There's a Seven Eleven really close to the hotel for late night snacks and supplies. Consider venturing into the neighborhood adjacent the hotel (away from the Meguro station area) -- there are some great non touristy restaurants (as in bring your Google translator, you'll need it!). We had some billing issues with the hotel, to which we came to an agreeable solution but note it was their website (where I booked directly) and was quoted one price but asked for something much more when I arrived. I don't see this as a theme in the reviews so I consider it an anomaly.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews