We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Fabulous Stay in an Excellent Location for a Great Rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Ranked #28 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Stay in an Excellent Location for a Great Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this location and cannot say enough about how good it was. We flew in from Hong Kong late and were able to connect via the airport limousine bus directly to the hotel at Narita ( we did not need to carry our several bags). After a great night in the hotel we left some baggage with the bell captain and connected easily by the Keiku line to Haneda airport where we departed for a 5 day trip to Shikoku. Because the hotel is across from Shinagawa station it was quick, convenient and inexpensive. We returned for 4 nights and were reunited with our luggage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this renovated hotel and found it to be an excellent location as we had need to be in Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakasa and Asakusa over the remaining days. The staff were great, the rooms at the upper end (we were on 26) are larger than average and we intend to stay at this location when we return.
This is such a calm oasis compared with the Prince Hotel conglomerate across the street.

Room Tip: By a Suica or a Pasmo card at thefirst station you enter and use for all of your ground transportati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    485
    148
    22
    17
See reviews for
146
113
147
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is only 3-min walk from the Shinagawa Station, where the transportation is super convenient but not chaotic and overcrowded. One can easily identify the building where the hotel is housed at the first moment walking out of the Shinagawa Station. And there are some restaurants (incl. the famous Ramen Shinatatsu) and supermarkets nearby, which I personally value when picking a hotel in Japan. Convenient location but quiet in the room and most importantly it is fairly priced (5,000 yen/ person without breakfast) in downtown Tokyo with a spacious 25 quare meter standard double room. I will definitely recommend to people who need a good sleep and convenient access during their trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel was shuttered for months, but is now a fantastic hotel as the Keikyu EX. The common areas are very nicely appointed. We enjoyed tea and coffee in the lobby bar. Some of the rooms have been renovated, others have not. My first room was an un-renovated smoking room. The hotel was full, so I couldn't change rooms until the following day. New room was un-renovated as well. Some of my colleagues had renovated rooms which were very nice. Choose a room opposite of the train station for magnificent views of Fuji on a clear day. Did not eat at the top floor restaurant, but I visited it just to see the views... incredible. The Shinagawa area is convenient to all things Tokyo, and has some good dining / shopping options nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, non-smoking, opposite of train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higashikagura-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My family and I recently stayed for 3 nights in a standard triple room. We got a great rate of only 12,000 yen per night. The room was spacious and clean although the bathroom facilities are a bit date. The buffet breakfast was great and had a wide fare of western and Japanese dishes and was only 1,000 yen per person. The station is right across the street from Shinagawa station which has convenient connections to Haneda airport, Narita airport and just about anywhere you want to go! The airport Limousine bus service also makes stops at the hotel and so if you have a lot of luggage that might be easier than walking across to the train station. On the 2nd floor there is a TGI Fridays which serves good food and excellent drinks. We will be staying here again the next time we are in Tokyo!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdrianinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights earlier in the month. We took a 3 person room which though not exactly spacious was more than adequate. The bathroom was one of the more spacious ones I've seen during my hotel stays in Japan, and the view from our room was pretty neat as well.

Though I see some other reviewers giving negative reviews about the service, I found the receptionists to be helpful (though businesslike), giving me directions, offering to book us a cab etc. The refundable lockers at the ground floor allowed us to store our luggage between checkout at 10am and when we eventually left the hotel at 5pm.

Having said all that, the biggest selling point for this hotel has to be its location right next to the Shinagawa train station. It took us under an hour to get to the hotel from the Haneda airport, and we managed to get a pretty good online deal for our room as well, making the stay a whole lot sweeter.

Room Tip: Our room facing the train station came with a pretty neat view, but with the curtains drawn the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbasith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viersen, Deutschland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Good price/performance. Breakfast costs Y1000 extra (about 10 Euros) and the buffet is OK, but mostly Asian, few "Western" foods. Great view from breakfast room (garden / waterfalls).
Rooms OK size for Tokyo with great view of Shinagawa. Not the most modern rooms. There is an iron and ironing board (a joke of a little thing) if you go downstairs and get it (and you have to bring it back, no maid will do it for you). Great restaurant at the top with fantastic view.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Convenient location but please take note that this hotel do not porter service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMak1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#64 of 107 in Minato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Tobu Hotel
Shinagawa Tobu Hotel
#91 of 107 in Minato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Toyoko Inn Sinagawaeki Takanawaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae

Property: Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Address: 3-13-3 Takanawa, Minato 108-0074, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minato
#23 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 935
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keikyu Ex Inn Shinagawa Ekimae Hotel Minato
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing