We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
West Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Located around the corner from the US embassy, and next door to a subway stop, this location is hard to beat. There are hundreds, if not thousands of restaurants within walking distance, and numerous convenience stores open 24 hours. The staff is extremely professional and eager to help you. However, the rooms could use some updating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcalo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    1,054
    331
    75
    41
See reviews for
370
582
232
941
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Top notch customer service and quality. Nice size rooms and super comfy beds, as well as the pillows -- great to sink into after a long overseas trip. Easy to get to from Narita and Tokyo Station. Breakfast is a tad steep, which is the norm for hotels with this many stars, but the food was delicious with lots of Japanese and Western selection -- and fruit was fresh. Relatively well equipped exercise room. Try to get the higher floors for a nice view of Tokyo. I'll definately be staying here on my next trip to Tokyo. .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have visited Tokyo on many occasions but this was only the second time that we stayed at the Roppingi area and the first time at this hotel. The location was really what sealed the deal for us when we tried to decide on where to stay. Firstly, it's the dropoff location for limo service from the airport, which makes things a lot easier for us. The fact that it's only 2 minute walk to the metro station with connections to 4 major subway lines also helped (although it does take another 8-10 minutes just to walk from the metro entrance to the platform.)

The interior design of the hotel was a bit dated but we found the atmosphere to be quite comfortable. The room was spacious in Tokyo standard though a bit noisy at night since it faced the front of the hotel where there were a few overpasses connecting Roppongi to other parts of the city. The bathroom especially the bath-tub has definitely seen better days and could sure use a facelift.

It was disappointing to find that there's no Wifi available in the rooms but if there's any consolation, there was a network cable there just in case you have a laptop computer. If you are using an iPhone/iPad, you can try what one hotel staff suggested to us - stand real close to the business center and try your luck connecting to the Wifi there. We tried our luck but no cigar.

There were many nice restaurants in the hotel, ranging from Chinese, Japanese to French but there's a hidden gem at the corner - the pastry store by Pierre Gagnaire. Pierre was best known for innovative French cuisine but we were surprised to find that his little pastry store offered a nice variety of cakes at very reasonable price. We tried the taro mousse cake and chestnut/ginger cake and they were very delicious. It's definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid noises from the overpass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedonist420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Ticks all the 4-star boxes. Polite, attentive service, a business-ey feel, huge lobby with nice restaurants and bars. Outdoor swimming pool. A skybar with wonderful views at night.

My room was ok and I am sure it was amazing in 1990 when the carpet was new and the furniture had not been worn out. Don't get me wrong, it is comfortable, roomy enough, nice bathroom, but no contemporary decor or furniture.

Drinks in the spectacular skybar are furiously expensive (but really delicious), as is the cable broadband in the room. Room service and breakfast are also quite pricey. This is a business hotel for sure, bring the expense account card.

The location is a bit of a walk from Roppongi proper and Akasaka, along an unappealing main road. However, take the rear exit from the lobby floor and there is a kind of open-air plaza with several restaurants and cafes, a very pleasant place to unwind and do lunch. The location is right amongst the embassy district, so you can lose your passport here all you like, and just walk to the embassy of your choice in a couple of minutes for a pink replacement. Sugoi!

Rooms on the east side of the tower sport smashing views of Tokyo Tower, for those who like, um, views of Tokyo Tower.

I'd come back for sure. But at a pinch I'd prefer to stay at the Grand Prince Akasaka.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clownshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed only one night in this property, at check-in, we were given a temp room because our junior suite was not ready yet at the time, we left for lunch and later we returned to the hotel, our luggage was already moved from the temp room to our suite. A lot of time, what you see on the website photos about the room are different from the actual ones, but mine is just like the photo they show on the website. The club lounge is on 35th floor with view of Tokyo city, spacious and relaxing. The building right next to the hotel has several restaurants, bookstore, convenience store, and post office. The subway we used is Namboku line, it is only 3 minute walk to the station " Roppongi-ichome". Everything just works out for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I was only here 2 nights, but enjoyed it a lot. Not quite right in the center of Roppongi, but just a few blocks walk from the center, so not bad either. The ANA is a large hotel and has that feel, but that can be a good thing compared to the smaller places that often sound great but don't deliver. The room was very comfortable with a small sofa and the bedding was excellent. Bathroom also very nice and they have wireless, but like many big hotels, they charge 2,000Y per day for it which is a big thumbs down... The breakfast buffet downstairs is quite good and the hotel overall is very comfortable and decently priced as mid-range. It is recommended for a no-hassle comfortable stay in a great area with the large hotel feel. The concierge was really very helpful and patient! Staff stood out as better than the smaller boutiques..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed in this hotel again after three years.They seem to have upgraded the decor of the room which makes it cosy. Service continues to be great at check-in/check-out and at the concerige. Room cleaniless was top notch. It is located near the entrance of the subway station with a few lines running through it. However, the walk to the actual platform takes 5-10mins.
Breakfast was included in my rate and while it is a good, there is nothing special. The only complaint is the size of the room. There isn't too much space to move about. However, the amnities and features are good.
I would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka | Minato ku, Minato 1070052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing