We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$394
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$76
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Conrad Tokyo(Minato)
US$458
US$338
Conrad
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,246)
Filter reviews
1,246 results
Traveller rating
732
393
82
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
393
82
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshinagawa stationnarita expresskonan exitdean and delucabullet trainoffice towerconvenient locationcovered walkwayhotel lobby ishigh risebusiness travelersmall hotelfitness roomexcellent locationfantastic hotelgreat businesseasy access
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,246 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Generally, a very good hotel:

- Room was nicely furbished and a decent size, with a nice bathroom and comfy bed.
- Location is (arguably) a bit out of the way, but that seems to be reflected in the price and its very close proximity to Shinagawa station means you can be at Tokyo Station or Shibuya in less than 20 minutes (12 minutes to each on the Yamanote line).
- Very easy to get to from Narita airport on the Narita Express.
- Staff were generally good and all (at least that I encountered) spoke English.
- Wifi is free (this should be true of all good hotels, but sadly isn't).

The only gripe I can think of is that service in the bar was a bit slow on the one occasion I went there.

So, overall, pretty good. I'd stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Random_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Strings for 4 days during our stay in Tokyo. The hotel has a great location - its literally right no top of Shinagawa station which is a major interchange and also has trains to Narita and the Shinkansen terminal.
Downside of the hotel was that the in room dining menu was extermely limited and the portions were small - especially given the hefty price tags.
The staff was extremely helpful. The concierge was also very knowledgeable and gave us great recommendations that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnumehaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2013

There's absolutely nothing special to write about, you get very similar experience at majority of Japanese hotels. If you think this place is exceptional then you need to get out more often in Japan.

IF you are a foreigner and have to have IHG loyalty thing, then this is for you. There are many other hotel choices in Shinagawa area, the old and trusted Prince is always consistent and there's reason why Japanese people prefer to stay at Prince...The Prince always has special promotion campaign and priced competitively...you gotta remember, this is ONLY Shinagawa (think of staying in Queens or Staten Island for NYC) and there's no reason you should be shelling out so much $$$. If Shinagawa is your destination and you are a member of US hotel group loyalty club, there's also new Marriott chain in Shinagawa. My recent experience turned out to be great and i'd stay there over the Strings....I saved HUGE!!

The Strings is located within huge office building complex, and access is pain (go up and down the elevator, 99.9% of cab drivers don't even know this place, or takes you to one in Akasaka).

There are only two restaurants, Chinese place doesn't open until lunch (but they have the best view), the other western style opens for three meals but boxed in the concrete structure. both places are just above average, I do, however, love their afternoon tea. Breakfast menu has also changed recently, used to be full buffet, now it's only continental and limited offer. Hmm.

When this place opened, the hardwood design was unique and felt so elegant, but now they are worn and cheap look.

With the Olympic coming to town, many overseas hotel group is buying up Japanese hotels in the area and I'm sure this place will face competitions soon. If you have unlimited budget, go for it, but for budget conscious mind I'd research before booking.

Room Tip: Being a foreigner is the best token in Japan.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tito t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Tito t,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive everyday to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. I apologize if you found our hotel location inconvenient for your activities and hotel decor to be less than satisfactory. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

While we understand that your experience is not 100% satisfactory, we still hope that you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed with my wife on our vacation trip.Located directly next to the shinagawa train stain its absolutely easy to get from the airports to the hotel, but also to reach to any of the Tokyo spots, you have multiple options. Nearby there are also some shops and restaurants, but its really a business area where especially after office hours you find not a lot of places to eat. But as said, many train and underground lines are stopping at shinagawa. Also Shinkansen stopes here making this hotel to a good voice for a short stopover in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Arrived at Haneda at 10.30pm and was connecting to a flight out of Narita in the evening the next day. Used an IHG free night stay to book a room. Strangely, the staff recognise the use of the free night even though the system produces a dummy pricing after the booking has been confirmed (it kept showing up on Awardwallet.com as a paid stay). The Keikyu line was a fast and quick connection option to the hotel at Shinagawa station that late at night.

As a Platinum member, was allowed to check out at 2pm the next day, which was good to make a morning trip to Shinjuku on the conveniently located JR Yamanote line (visited Shinjuku in the morning, hit the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Observatory and Omoide Yokocho) before catching a ride on the 3.20pm bus out to Narita airport. Was upgraded to a king room on the top floor even though I only booked a queen.

The wifi (free for all guests) was a bit spotty at times (perhaps because it was in use by too many guests?) but was generally good. The staff were always courteous - totally deserving of all the awards that the hotel has won. I would come back here in a heartbeat again - really love the glass elevators going up from the 26th floor lobby to my 32nd floor room!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews