We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with all of Roppongi's ammenities in walking distance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
Ranked #53 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with friends before going snowboarding in Hokkaido.
We had not done much research except that Roppongi were a good place to party. This turned out to be very true. The hotel itself were nice and clean with a OK enough size on the rooms.
We had breakfast one day which were fairly standard for Japanese hotels.
The staff were helpful and all in all it was a pleasant stay.
Will suggest this hotel to people that want to stay close the Roppongi area and the Metro is located just a 2 minute walk from the door. Good price for Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_eikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Look, here's the deal, Tokyo is expensive. Hotels in Tokyo are expensive. Business hotels, which are the reasonable option, tend to be a closet with a bed. Villa Fontaine is clean, reasonable and central to the business / international districts of Akasaka and Roppongi. There are no frills here, what so ever, and no room service, but there are things to eat around the hotel, and, I'll say it again, it's clean! The size of the rooms are not huge by US standards, but won't leave you feeling like you're incarcerated either. So, for the money, it's not bad!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sverkhovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is our 5th or 6th stay in a hotel in Tokyo so by comparison to other rooms we found our room sleeping 2 plus a rollaway quite roomy. The shower was hot and the beds comfortable. The only real complaint would be that although we were on a non smoking floor there was always a strong smell of cigarettes in the corridor.Breakfast was basic, purely fuel really, and if you have plain eaters (children) with you go elsewhere. That being said we only found the best breakfast place on our last day and being the weekend it was closed as the area is mainly business. It was on the station level directly below and had it's own bakery. Other nearby dining was in the Ark Towers where there were plenty of choices for dinner after a hard day shopping and walking. We found the railway station quite convenient as it was only one stop to the Ginza Line and 2 or 3 to the Maranouchi line which makes it only a short hop to Shinjuku.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Booked this through my company's website for the corporate discount despite travelling solo for leisure - I was working at a big bank and most of their partner hotels were very nice and expected something similar here but it wasn't to be - I think there were two wings to the hotel and I was clearly in the cheap one. The room was very small and you wouldn't really want to stay there with two people or for any period of time. There was a smell of stale cigarettes in all the corridors and in a way it felt like a place for travelling salesmen. The way a business hotel in Europe would have been in the 80s or perhaps 90's before they realized that fresh paint and cleanliness don't cost too much.
All that said the location is good, close to Roppongi but on a bit of a strange empty road and the area around it felt very deserted.
After arriving straight off a 10 hour flight they wouldn't allow me to check in 45 minutes earlier either until I kicked up a VERY big fuss and they brought that forward to about a 15 minute wait. The hotel wasn't full so was not impressed.

All that being said you get what you pay for and the price was the best thing about this hotel and the reason why I don't give it a two.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruePravda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over winter for leisure and sightseeing. It was our first time in Tokyo and we picked this hotel for price and size of rooms, which were both good. The location was a few minutes walk from the main street in Ropongini, which I admit we found a little loud and intimidating and not the sort of nightlife we were after. However there were some good little local restaurants down the nearby side streets. The hotel was right above the the Roppongi Itchome metro station, unfortunately this station was not on a line that we frequently used to reach the major tourist sites so we found ourselves always switching lines. This wasn’t a hassle but did add 10mins or so to our journey times.

I began coming down with a cold a few days into our stay, which was ok during the day but terrible when I woke each morning. It took me a while to come up with the theory that I was allergic to the air spray the cleaners were using to cover the faint smell of cigarette smoke in the room. I am sure the staff would have helped, but we just kept the do not disturb sign on the door so the cleaners didn’t make up our room and that helped a little. It was unfortunately that getting sick like this marred our stay.

Finally, breakfast was a pretty dull affair after a few days and there was no wi-fi. However, a business centre with two computers was available on the ground floor. Overall, the hotel was pretty standard and as expected. I personally wouldn’t stay again and think you could probably find somewhere else a little more inspiring.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights in December of 2011 while visiting family and seeing sights. It is situated above the Roppongi Ichome metro station, and there are many restaurants and shops located in the building. Roppongi is within walking distance, and the metro connects you to the rest of Tokyo.
We paid $149.50 per night, and this included breakfast. Breakfast consisted of salad, rice, two kinds of soup, fish, eggs (raw and, somedays, boiled or scrambled), meatballs or sausage, yogurt, breads, coffee, tea, orange juice and milk.
The room was cozy, but space in Tokyo is at a premium. The bed and pillows were quite hard. The staff was very nice. The shower had great water pressure, and the heated toilet seat was nice on those 30-degree nights! We faced a building that was under construction, but the windows blocked out all noise.
Certainly a nice place in a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This Villa Fontaine along with the Shiodome hotel are the "flagships" of the brand.
Rooms are nice and spacious, with very trendy dark decor.
My room faced into the courtyard atrium so anyone in the lobby could see into my room, so as a consequence I had to keep the blinds closed most of the time.
It bills the bfast as "free", and for boiled eggs, sausages, salad and miso soup it is ok for a day or two but any longer and it gets old fast.
Location is so so,there is not too much in the immediate area being a business location. However it is a 10 min walk to Roppongi, which is a good or bad thing depending on what you are after/

Room Tip: Try to get one that faces out, not in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarokun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b tokyo roppongi
the b tokyo roppongi
#48 of 116 in Minato
338 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
#75 of 116 in Minato
82 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Remm Roppongi
Remm Roppongi
#21 of 116 in Minato
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Itchome Ekimae
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel & Residence Roppongi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Address: 1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range: $112 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Roppongi
Fontaine Roppongi Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing