We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
27
70
50
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
70
50
16
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 173 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is not really a hostel where you can meet people and the common areas are a bit run down but the beds are clean and the staff are friendly and speak good English. Showers cost extra but internet is free. 20 min walk to Shibuya area.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed at The Ace Inn 3 times now and I love it. The location is great and the accommodation is cheap and easy. Expect to pay about AUD$50 a night which is really good for Tokyo. The beds are like when you were little and used to play in fridge boxes, surprisingly comfy and cosy. Definitely worth the stay.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarronHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I used to live in Japan and went to Tokyo quite often. I've stayed at this place at least a dozen times and if you put a lot of importance in a location that is close to the nightlife (Shinjuku, Shibuya), this is the place to go. Taxis are VERY expensive, and the trains stop running around midnight, so this is a great place to stay if you want to stay out late but catch some sleep before the next day.

That being said, it IS expensive--you can get a nice hostel in places farther away (e.g. Asakusa) for around the same price. Also, depending on who your floormates are, it can get quite loud with people coming back at all times of the night drunk. As bad as this may sound, it is quite true: the mixed floors definitely have an air of BO that the all-girls floors don't. If you really need more space and are willing to pay a bit more, there are other floors with larger beds and more room between each bed. There is one floor that reminded me of a reality TV show because it was literally a bunch of beds places within reaching distance of each other and with no curtains.

Quick Summary: friendly staff, free internet on the first floor, good location both from the station and central shinjuku/shibuya, but is expensive and can get loud and smelly. Good for short term stays.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller476
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Out of the 3 hostels I have been to in Japan (the others being k house kyoto and khaosan ninja), this is definitely the cheapest of them all. At 2000 yen a night, and a location near shinjuku, it is probably the lowest that one can find.

However, as other reviews have mentioned, it is probably worth noting a few things...
1. You need to pay 100 yen for a bathe. The bathe comes with free towel, shampoo and body wash. However, different from other hostels, you would have to leave your clothes outside in the open when you are bathing as the cubicle is small. You would also have to come out to top up more money should you exceed the 10 minutes of bathing time. Truthfully, i have never exceeded the Time. Makes me wonder if the 10 minutes limit is true.

2. The hostel is pretty dirty and messy. Unlike the other hostels, ace Inn is poorly maintained as you can see from the pictures. The rooms for the 2000 yen dorm is very messy, without lockers. And the "capsule" rooms aren't really the true capsule hotel.

3.the good location is quite a myth. Although ace Inn is located in shinjuku, it is pretty far away from the happening areas and will take about 20 minutes of walking to reach the shinjuku Jr station. The two stop journey by metro will take about 120 yen (I think). This further reduces the cost savings. If you aren't really a clubber or heavily active at night (before 12),i think a hostel in asakusa would serve your needs equally well. The only reason that ace Inn is good for this needs is because it would be cheaper to cab back from roppongi or shibuya when the metros are closed. Staying at other places, i would think the area near shimbashi or lower ginza as a better place for drinks and nightlife. Walked passed the area on a Friday night and saw lots of Japanese drinking and dancing there after work. Besides, the nearest station is not by Jr, so you can't use the Jr rail pass if you have already paid for that.

All in all, I believe the hostel is really cheap,but with much hidden costs. I Would think that
a cleaner, well maintained hostel is a much better place to stay in.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This has been my favorite hostel in Tokyo, and I usually opt to stay with them whenever I am over for a weekend. In general, the hostel provides a great and cheap place to stay, so for the budget travelers, this can be seen as a blessing coming from Japan.

Pros:
- 2000 Yen bed on the 10th floor. You get your own bed as well, and the price is hard to beat in Japan.
- The slightly pricier wooden capsule bunks are a great treat, though there are no TVs or plugs. Just one standard reading light inside, but is comfortable to sleep in.
- Located 20 minutes away from Shinjuku by foot, so partying doesn't have to end with the last train. Because it IS in Shinjuku, you will have access to western Tokyo attractions such as Shibuya, Harajuku, Ghibli Museum, and the bus terminal that connects to the rest of Japan.
- Towels are provided, and Wi-Fi is secure and good.
- Their curfew is at 2:00 in the evening, but can help you open the door should you want to leave and come back in-between the morning.

So-So:
- Nearest station is on a Toei subway line, so you may be hard pressed to find proper transfers to this station if you don't purchase the 1000 yen subway day-pass (as in, you will need to pay double the fare by transferring subway company lines).
- 100 yen showers for ten minutes. I'm not a huge fan, but I'm not opposed to the idea either.

Cons:
- There isn't really an atmosphere to meet other people here. The way the building is structured makes it difficult to meet others, especially when the lone elevator is used as means of getting around it.

Overall, a good place to stay if you're on a budget and have a full plan of action for the rest of your Tokyo adventures. I'd highly recommend this hostel.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews