We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
12
21
31
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
21
31
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shin okubo station futon mattresses shower toilet jr pass yamanote line japanese hotels tatami train
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

Japanese guesthouse style with simple futon mattresses that you roll out on the floor by yourself. The front desk is rarely manned so it’s hard to ask questions. But when you show up with bags to check in the front desk is magically manned.

We stayed here with two families, 4 adults and 4 kids in total and that worked just fine.

No breakfast is offered but on weekdays you can go to a cheap breakfast buffet across the street. On weekends it’s way harder to find a decent place for your morning meal. The closest place is above the cake shop at the corner of the closest larger street. It wasn’t that great and the most decent breakfast we had was at Komeda’s Coffee about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

The Shin-Obuko JR station is just 4 minutes away. The Yamanote line will take you straight to Shinjuku, Shibuya and Harajuku.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mikaelwehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is clean from the inside, good value for the money, quick check in and check out. The problem I see was not inside the hotel but outside the hotel. The road to the hotel from the Shin Okubo station has some trash along the way especially in the area where the South Asians live. It is not common ro see trash in Japan in the road but you can see it in this road to Hanabi hotel. They should do something about this.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Scottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

This is a tatami mat style hotel: no beds but given mattresses & quilt to sleep on. Rooms are small; shower/toilet areas are rather cramped. There is a hot plate & microwave provided. Most Japanese hotels do not provide bottles of mineral water.
Plus point: reception staff are friendly; hotel 5-10 min walking distance to Shin Okubo Train station, the nearest station within the locality. This hotel is within the Korean community, so expect lots of Korean eateries here.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank perky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

This place is in a good location and easy walking distance to most things.
Great variety of eating places very close. The Olympic grocery store is not to far a walk either.

Unfortunately, one of the rooms we booked reeked with smoke even though it was a non smoking room.

The futons are pretty thin compared to other places we stayed at whilst in Japan.

The host wasn’t really suited for the front of house. He appeared to be rather disinterested and focussed on telling you what you couldn’t do rather than what the hotel offered / you could do.

Overall, you get what you pay for I guess.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Ambassador278088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

My parents and I stayed here for 3 days in July. The room was clean enough, but I didn't like the staff's attitude, he seemed not ready-to-help at all. We were quite disappointed. One good thing is they have kitchen ready for you in the room, so it could be convenient if you want to cook for yourself to save money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngọc Ánh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews