We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best hotels I ever stayed at. amazing experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“one of the best hotels I ever stayed at. amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I actually stayed here before the movie "Lost in Translation" was produced, but if you are thinking of staying here, watch the movie first!! then you will have no doubts, this is a great place to stay in Tokyo. Style, comfort, minimalism, elegance, taste. 5 stars. The robes are kimono style, and I loved mine so much I bought one to take home with me!!. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: this is an amazing hotel and I am sure all rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,148
    366
    91
    26
    26
See reviews for
491
1,146
247
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stunning views over Tokyo, beautifully luxurious rooms and professional and friendly staff. One of the best hotels I have stayed at. We decided to book this after 2 weeks of budget traveling in Japan. Splurging on a 1 night stay at this hotel was worth every penny.

We had some very expensive drinks in the New York Bar but the ambiance, atmosphere and the stunning views of Tokyo by night were well worth it. Its been an experience I will remember for a long time. Like other reviews have said, words cannot describe how wonderful that 1 night stay was.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Beautiful rooms, beds that you dream of bringing back home, luxurious baths, service beyond compare...and all atop a wonderful bakery, dining room, bar etc.

Words cannot adequately define the Park Hyatt Tokyo experience. It is consistently rated highly by world travelers for one reason: They are the standard that others strive to achieve.

Bravo, Park Hyatt Tokyo.

Room Tip: I really enjoy the corner rooms with more window visibility, and for the room layout. Any room he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Beautiful rooms with a view and impeccable service. The staff are extremely professional but still friendly. The breakfast buffet was also good although some Japanese selection could have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Park Hyatt Tokyo is by far the best hotel in terms of service, food, and room comfort. The service is simply unmatched by any hotel I've ever been to. I've also stayed at the Conrad hotel in Tokyo and while the rooms were beautiful, the service just wasn't up to par with the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Wow - we were on the 43rd floor and the views were fantastic! The rooms were lovely and the staff very efficient and courteous. Superb hotel and would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

1) Service is impeccable. From the bellhop to the concierge to the hostess at the lobby restaurant -- everyone is extremely helpful, fluent in English, and respectful and pleasant in every way, making you feel welcome and at home each time you pass by or encounter them.

Here's an example of above-and-beyond service: On the 52nd floor, I was having drinks with a friend over a plate of fries. When we couldn't finish the fries, I asked to have them wrapped up to take away. They did 10 times better. The waiter remembered my room number, and with my permission offered to have the entire plate sent down to my room when we departed the restaurant. After paying and leaving (fries were still on the table when we left), by the time I had taken the elevator down to my room and walked to my door, an employee emerged from a staff door with a silver tray, upon which was my plate of fries, a napkin, and a flower... as if I had ordered it from room service! Everything with a smile.

I would tip everyone over and over, but they do not accept tips! (something I also appreciate from a service-oriented hotel)

2) Rooms are peaceful and spacious... Try to spend a bit extra for a deluxe room, as the room size difference is enough to make it worthwhile. Room had enough room for two king beds; beautiful view from the windows of the city (either park view or not... park view is going to be more expensive, but at that height, any view of the city is great); Bathroom had separate shower and soaking tub and TV.... huge walk in closet with room for all luggage and a safe. Shoe horns, umbrellas, etc all neatly organized. This place really thinks of everything. Complimentary Wifi in the rooms, too.

3) Not perfect for families, but OK.... the New York Bar and Grill is a MUST see, but there is also lots of smoking up there, so perhaps not the best to bring your kids. Good music / jazz performances, though.

4) Not the best location. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from Shinjuku station which is okay, but not great. The hotel has a shuttle that runs to and from, but I wish the hotel were within more walking distance of things. Even the Tochomae station which is technically closer (and smaller) is still a 7 or 8 minute walk away. In the winter time when it is snowing, it's not so convenient.

5) Did I mention they have the best service??... when I was unable to purchase a sumo ticket myself (despite my efforts), the concierge did it for me, and had the ticket ready for me long before the actual event. Again, all with the biggest smile and happy-to-do-it attitude.

6) Pricey... it's too bad it can be so expensive to stay here... but a) Tokyo is fairly expensive to begin with and b) I do think this rates up there as one of the best hotels in the world, so why shouldn't it be expensive?

Honestly, the ONLY con with this hotel is that there is not much within a 5 minute walking distance. Other than that, you can't really go wrong.


If you are going with a family, and want something with a lot more within a 5 minute walk and at least a TAD cheaper, then try the GRAND HYATT in Roppongi Hills. It's connected to a mall, new cinemas, is in Roppongi, and still has very very good service ------ but let's be honest, the Park Hyatt Tokyo is beyond stupendous. If you want to feel like royalty, go there.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you can. Park view is quite a bit extra and not necessarily needed IMHO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN and Ctrip TA so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing