We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
55
185
56
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
185
56
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastmembership cardred light districtbudget chain hotelgreat drinkingminute walkchange linesbreakfast selection isbudget travellerseast shinjukueconomy double roomlove hotelsjr stationlaundry facilitiessmall roomheavy luggagewasher dryer
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 314 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2016

Similar to other Toyoko Inn experience - clean, tidy with basic amenities and reliable wifi. About 15 minutes walk to Shinjuku JR station, passing through Kabukicho alleys of restaurants, motels/hotels, nightclubs. Having lived in Japan previously, I found it safe enough for women though first timers may not like the proximity to more sleazy side of the area. The walk is tiring for those with huge/heavy luggage. Do book non-smoking rooms if you are smoke sensitive. We enjoyed the Japanese breakfast with rice balls, miso soup, salad, yummylicious meat balls, corn soup, rolls, pickles, coffee/tea. Overall, the Toyoko Inn franchise is a value for $ option for the budget conscious. Membership is recommended for frequent stayers of the huge Toyoko Inn franchise throughout Japan and also available in Korea and Cambodia.

Room Tip: Non-smoking room
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Soo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay in Hiratsuka, average hotel charges / Hotel Expenditure, Cool n calm place, lots of restaurants with different nation's cuisine, Japan national route no 1, for Tokyo / Kyoto just near station, Fantastic shoppingMall is developed under Station

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Pandit Gaurav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

First time Viator to Japan and decided to use the Toyoko Inn network based on a recommendation of a friend who says "its the best kept secret for locals". Location was brilliant and we could not have asked for more. It is very cost effective with friendly staff and a basic breakfast fare whilst not huge in volume or variety is filling. The downside are the rooms are small with a bathroom module that is great on water speed and controls (think hot/cold) is nonetheless small. Was a bit of a challenge for us as we had a few pieces of luggages but we got used to it. All in all a good option especially if budget is a consideration and you have little luggage and are not fussy on size of room which is still not a bad considering this is Japan

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Desmond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

A low-budget value-for-money option. Single room quite small but is clean and tidy, and with adequate accessories and wifi. It's not quite close to Shinjuku Station, about 15 minutes walk. Noise and door slamming outside at corridor can be heard every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SamHO8009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times because the hotel's location is perfect. It's very close to Shinjuku station, but a safe distance from the nightlife. In other words, it is close enough to the station and nightlife but still not very loud.

The rooms are clean and a Japanese style breakfast is included. Personally, I'll take miso soup, a buttered roll and onigiri (Japanese rice balls) over pancakes any day but people who must have eggs and cereal might not like this.

The staff is very polite.

However... I would give this hotel 5 stars but there is only one worker who can speak English well. Normally I wouldn't care but this guy is extremely lazy and rude. Without fail, all 4 times I have stayed here he has been rude. My friend and I were carrying heavy boxes and asked him to please call a taxi. He told us very curtly to just walk and carry the boxes. Another time when I had a question about the phone charger he rudely asked, "Waddya want me to do bout it???!!!" I know his attitude is not typical of most Japanese people. We noticed his attitude towards Japanese guests was very polite.

Room Tip: Make a reservation online and ask for a Toyoko Inn membership. You get a free night after 10 visits.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank MBenzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews