We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly good location and quiet neighbourhood!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fairly good location and quiet neighbourhood!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Clean and tidy room. Was here for a holiday trip in Tokyo and found this to be the most affordable hotel. It is a short walking distance to the nearest subway station of Tokyo or if you don't mind walking another 300metres or so, you will reach Ueno station. Along the streets near the hotel, you can find restaurants serving food 24 hours and you don't have to worry about peaceful night sleep, it is very quiet during the night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    199
    92
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
151
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in early March 2011. We found it to be excellent value for money, extremely clean, very quiet and would have no hesitation recommending it. The bed linen, including the doona cover, is changed every day. The beds are a bit on the hard side but we still slept well. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. If you want somewhere close to the Yamanote line this is not the place for you as it is about a 10-15 min walk. This didn't bother us as it is in a fairly quiet residential neighbourhood and we felt very safe even late at night. We stayed the first five nights on the 10th floor (non-smoking floor) and kept having that "rolling on a boat feeling" which we put down to jet lag and tiredness. We didn't realise that it was the build up to the earthquake as Japan had already had a few small quakes prior to our arrival. After the big quake hit, that swaying feeling was rather unnerving the higher up you are, so we moved to the 3rd floor (also non-smoking) and it was much better. Unfortunately for us, our holiday ended there as we fled back to the safety of Australia and didn't get to enjoy the remaining 21/2 weeks of our Japan holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was a fantastic hotel in a perfect location. We would highly recommend staying in Ueno to anyone visiting Tokyo. We also spent 1 night in Shinjuku (a free night in a Hilton), but ended up coming back to the Ueno area for dinner. The breakfast provided was substantial and delicious. The only negatives were a very small room (but we expected that) and a relatively hard bed. We would definitely stay here again if we have another opportunity to visit Tokyo.

Sending our love to everyone in Japan right now...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sommer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Great location to Japan Railway, subways, restaurants, shops. Hotel staff very nice, room very clean and bathroom was nice. Good breakfast, internet access. Best item - the breakfast breads! Worst item - HARD bed & pillows.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BentonAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Set in a quiet main street but close enough to Ueno´s main sights , we found this hotel to be great option in Ueno and also in Tokyo.
It is a short walk from JR, Toei and Tokyo Metro stations so practically you can get almost everywhere in Tokyo. Near commercial streets as Ameyoko also gives you the chance of a night walk and a goog dinner within a walking distance to the hotel.
As in most Japan hotels, service was extremely polite, efficient and attentive. They kindly helps us in finding directions, sights, ...
Rooms were basic and small but very clean with everything you need: TV ( unfortunately only japanese channels, but they are very funny to watch ), techno bathrooms, fair bed, writing table, ...
A good thing is that breakfast is also included. It´s not that great, but quite convinient. There is a buffet of croissants, toast, orange juices,... and also and oriental breakfast with salads, miso soup, ...
In general a good hotel but a good price to which I will probably come back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

I stayed here for four nights in early 2010 and by judging more recent reviews, Villa Fontaine has upheld its standards.

In first brush, it is not located right in the hub of things. But it turns out to be a good thng, if you like the feel of a more mature residential neighbourhood. And of course, Ueno Park cultural precinct is 15 min away on foot, and other major cultural attractions are but a subway ride away. And the airport express from Narita takes you right to the Ueno Station, which has a tourist desk, and money exchange, and a stand-up noodle bar across the street.

The rooms are smallish, but hey, this is Tokyo. What I like are the amenities and the privacy of a modern hotel. The modern lobby design doubles as a breakfast room, and provide space for interaction with other travellers. I have a room facing the main street on a higher floor and it is extremely quiet, both inside and out.

Do spend time exploring the immediate neighbourhood. It is largely residential, with small eateries and shops for everyday living. I got a listing of traditional public baths--Sento, from the tourist counter and found one within a 10 min walk from the hotel. It has been operating since the 20's and one of the few that would admit tatooed bodies. It certainly was an experience.

The Villa Fontaine chain operates a number of hotels in Tokyo, but I shall definitely stay here again next time I pass through.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrokenArrow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This place like all places in Japan is very small, the room was clean as was the bathroom. They provide liquid soap, also body sponges (some places didn't, they'd just have the liquid soap).
Two complaints, the laundry room is next to a staff entrance where they're obviously allowed to smoke so while I was loading the wash I would leave smelling like I was hanging out in a bar for hours, also everyone stands outside the front door to smoke and it billows in while you wait for the elevator causing the same problem (there are no stairs available for other than emergency use).
The second issue I had was with the dryer machine, it took 90mins (at ¥100/30mins) to get things semi dry enough to hang in the room while you're out for the day (if the clothing is light it will dry in time to pack the next day). This was not very efficient.
As a general helpful hint, coming from the states you'll be jet lagged and breakfast isn't offered until 7am, we woke up at 4am so we couldn't take advantage of breakfast every morning if we decided to get started early (something to think about)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laraberenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#47 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#29 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#24 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#20 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Centurion Hotel Ueno
Centurion Hotel Ueno
#52 of 121 in Taito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Address: 2-4-4 Kojima, Taito 111-0056, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Ueno
Fontaine Ueno Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing