We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in a lovely and convenient hotel, with helpful/thoughtful front end/back end staffs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in a lovely and convenient hotel, with helpful/thoughtful front end/back end staffs.”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We travel to Japan from 1st May and left on 14th May, staying 6 different hotel and ryokan during our trip.

My hubby and I stayed in Hotel Sardonyx Ueno for 4 nights in Tokyo, from 2nd May to 6th May.
The hotel is reasonably priced, very very convenient (as there are 4 interchange stations which is 1 minute walk away, i.e. JR line, Oedo line, Hibiya Line and Ginza Line), clean and quiet.

The hotel room was small (as usual in Tokyo), yet very comfortable. I would like to special highlight the thoughtfulness of their housekeeping/maintenance staff. We were there 4 nights, and we only request to housekeep the room once. However, in order to ensure we have clean towers and sufficient toiletries, their staff put 2 set of yukata, 2 set of bath towels and hand towels, floor towels and green tea in a paper bag and placed it outside the room door. Apart from the ryokan in Takayama, none of the hotels in Japan that we had stayed in, did these for us. We were very amazed by their thoughtfulness.

The hotel were small, but have complete facilities, such as vending machines for drinks, coin operated laundry in reasonable pricing and a cafe that attached to hotel for our breakfast.

Further to that, the staff were very helpful too. During our stay there, it was raining almost everyday in Tokyo. Before we even reach the automated door to head for the train station, a lady staff with a very sweet smile (I forgotten to take note of her name) handed two umbrellas for us, and even reminded us on the temperature outside, and asked if we need to bring out any warm clothing, as both of us were only wearing a collared T. Good staff!!!

If I were to travel to Tokyo again, I will definitely choose this hotel. Many thanks to JTB Malaysia for arranging us to stay in such a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the coin operated laundy, and 8th floor has vending machines for drinks (coffee and bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joebaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    166
    45
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
104
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My 4 nights stay in this hotel was a very positive experience. The rooms are small (as usual in Tokyo) but clean and well equipped with a comfortable bed, refrigerator, internet, TV and bathroom.
The breakfast is one of the "minimal type", but in a city as Tokyo I don't want to eat breakfast at the hotel anyway.
And then what for me is always the most important for short stays: Location!

A perfect area with lots of restaurants, shops, restaurants, subway connection, restaurants, Skyliner connection (for Narita airport) and did I already mention there are a lot of restaurants in the area?
And the nice thing is that despite that the hotel is located in a active area, the inside of the hotel is unbelievable quiet and calm.
Value for money: absolute.
Would I return: absolute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da_BenDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at Hotel Sardonyx for 3 nights recently.For 21000 yen I got a small but well appointed room, very clean and breakfast included at the coffee shop attached to the hotel. Lovely comfortable firm bed with a nice warm duvet cover. The bathroom has modular fittings identical to a hotel that I stayed in later on my holiday and is a very functional design. The location is fine close to Ueno station and closer still to Okachimachi station on the JR Tokyo circle line and the nearest subway staion is only two minutes away as well. Plenty of shops and eateries in the semi pedestrianised lanes behind the hotel. I arrived late morning aware that the room would not be available until 1500. The receptionist was more than happy to take my luggage into store and off I went to enjoy the cherry blossom walk in nearby Ueno Park and some outdoor food in the Spring sunshine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at Hotel Sardonyx for one night at the end of a longer stay in Tokyo, because my flight from Narita departed in the morning and I wanted to avoid carrying my luggage through the whole city during rush hour. The hotel is located around 5 minutes from Keisei Ueno station, from where direct trains to Narita Airport depart. Also within around 5 minutes walking distance is JR Ueno station, from where a bunch of local and regional trains leave.

Next to the hotel is the area of Ameyokocho, formerly a black market strip during the occupation period and today one of Tokyos most vibrant street markets. Especially in the evenings it represents a great opportunity to enjoy the charm of the older days. There are also a huge number of small and rather traditional restaurants and izakaya nearby. Behind JR Ueno station is Ueno park, one of the hotspots not only during cherry blossom season! Visit excellent museums and of course: Ueno Zoo!

The hotel itself appeared very new and clean. The rooms were of average size, but did not leave open any wishes. The bathroom was quite tiny, but very clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable! My room was on the 10th floor and from my window I had a nice view over the area.

The only downside of the hotel might be that it does not have its own breakfast or dining room. Instead, guests receive a voucher for a small breakfast set at a coffee shop in the same building. This chain-café/ restaurant is very small and as usual, not divided into smokers/ non-smokers, which might be a problem for many guests. The American-style breakfast itself is not bad though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityHopper87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is located in the beautiful neigbourhood Ueno, close to train and metro. Nice hotel with friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

this hotel is a good location to everything and everywhere. basically situated walking distance the naka okachimachi subway station (hibiya line) and okachimachi station on the yamanote line and also JR ueno station. you can walk practically everywhere from here. to ueno park, zoo, ameyoko, hard rock. it was perfect. plenty of eateries all over. spoilt for choices. rooms are small in size but that's how its like in tokyo. free breakfast given and its a set meal of either toast, sausage, pancakes. very rare to get free breakfast so that is good. prior to our stay in sardonyx, we stayed at the disneyland hotel and paid like 56,000-00 yen per nite and yet we never received any complimentary breakfast. so its good that they offer breakfast.
there is also a self laundry room on the 3rd floor which only costs 200 yen. this was helpful too. if u r looking for something not so fancy, would reccomend this hotel. after all most time spent is outside the hotel. we only came back late at nite to sleep. beds are super comfy.. all in all a good location for moving about, loads of food and activities

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gunsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Located minutes from Ueno station and Ueno park. Just right next to Ameyoko market. With cozy room and great amenities, you won't regret staying here. I've stayed here where I feel like home. Kudos!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IskandarH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#42 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sardonyx Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sardonyx Ueno

Property: Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Address: 6-6-7 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sardonyx Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sardonyx Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing