We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
109
203
50
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
203
50
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsokachimachi stationitalian tomatonarita airportfree breakfastsimple setit'll costameyoko marketvalued hotelwalking distancestreet shoppingsimple breakfastdouble bedroomyamanote linetrain stations arecoffee and juicelate flighteasy access
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 369 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in the the Ueno Sardonyx hotel for a short city break for 3 nights. We arrived at around 11pm from a late flight. The hotel is an eight minutes walk from the airport Keisei Ueno station. The Naka-Okachimachi underground station is just 30 meters away from the hotel.

The double bed room is sufficient to sleep two people. Room is bright deco, electrical and electronic devices friendly. It is not spacious however sufficient enough to open two luggage on the floor. The bath and toiletries are well suppied for a valued hotel. Room is cleaned properly daily with nee and crisp bed linen.

The room rate includes breakfast at the ground floor restaurant runs by Italian Tomato, with choices of pancake, toast, self service coffee and juice.

Around the hotel it never short of restaurants, bars and convenient stores.

Overall an excellent valued hotel in the Ueno area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

This was our 8th visit to Japan, and this time our main goal was to "chase" the flower blooming events around Tohoku. Ueno is the perfect base for us to use our 5-day JR Tohoku Pass since most if not all Sinkanshen trains to the north stop here, and accommodations near Ueno train stations are much cheaper than those around the Tokyo Station. We stayed at this hotel for 5 non-consecutive days, as it allowed us to store our large luggage while we brought only backpacks to stay at some event destinations for a couple of days. We also used their coin laundry machines at the 3rd floor. It was 500 yens for a week's clothes, including detergent and drying. The hotel itself is clean and quiet, despite it is located between a major highway and a bustling business district. One night we returned from Aomori at 11:00PM and walked back from JR Ueno Station. We felt very safe. I would not do it in major European cities.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RobusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Our first night in Tokyo and arriving late, a hotel in Ueno close to the airport train seemed like a good idea...

And the hotel actually isn't that far from the Ueno station - the JR Ueno station that is! Oh well...

That said, it was easy as to get back to the JR station at the end of our stay and the Keisei (airport) station isn't really that far too - except after a long flight.

It's a modern hotel opposite a major road overpass but quiet inside and with friendly staff and a free (though minimal) breakfast - a good stay overall.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is small but enough for 2, the location is very convenient for us to access to most of the tourist attractions in Tokyo.
The hotel provided us with simple breakfast and can be exchange with cakes in the afternoon.
U can shop at Ueno for all u want and go for supper by 10 mins walking distance to the busy street.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our family had 2 rooms for one night before we left Japan. When we arrived from the Shinkansan at 1 pm, the room was not ready as check-in was 3 pm. The reception desk gladly stored our luggage and our jackets while we went to lunch. When we checked in later, our bags were already in one room with the jackets hung up.

Since we wanted to tour one of the Ueno museums after breakfast and check out, reception gladly stored our bags and jackets again until we came back after the tour. It was convenient to have hot dogs in their Cafe Jr for lunch prior leaving for the airport.

Hotel is walking distance to Ueno Station and Ueno Park. To save time in the morning, we used taxis to and from the National museum.

Rooms are modern and clean although our room was smaller than our daughter's. She made a last minute direct reservation, while our reservation was through Agoda, so that might have been the reason why. A limited menu breakfast was included and our daughter had to get pancakes as the bagels were "sold out" even at 8:35 AM with breakfast going on over a hour more.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank lotsoftrips5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews