We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Difficult to find, Some-What clean room, slow internet....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel
Ranked #49 of 75 Speciality lodging in Taito
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We got off at the Asakusabashi station and headed to look for the hostel. The time was around 11pm which was 1 hour before the check-in time ended. However, we couldn't find the hostel for the one hour. We walked east, west, north, and south but couldn't find it. There were no signs indication the location of it. We asked other tourists from Germany for the location and taxi drivers, but they all had no idea where it was. By the time was 00:30, we finally found the place by the pure luck. However, the reception was closed and we had to stay that night at other inn nearby. I wrote email to the hostel about the day's situation and they kindly understood the problem and didn't charge us for the day we couldn't stay. The staffs were really nice and they had all the information and maps for touring in the Tokyo. It is close to other attractions and easy to get to once you know the location of it. My room was tatami floor room with three beds. It had air condition and room's size was bit small but I was expecting that. Internet was bit slow and the smell was bit bad (we had to spray some febreze). We stayed there for a week. They have very good first floor lobby and good shower room plus coin laundry and toilet. On Second floor, they have big room with lot of table for people to interact. (To be honest, most people were just staying at their rooms). Overall, I liked it. One other thing I did not like, that we had to do our own bed sheet and such.

Room Tip: Private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dong Hoon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2015

The staff here are wonderful. Ask for anything, and they will help you find it, do it, see it, eat it, use it. Whatever you need, they are extremely accommodating.
The facilities are good. Wifi connection is great in the common area. The rooms don't have a lot of privacy, but they are clean and comfortable. There is a kitchen area and eating area.
Everything but the common area is closed up during the day. If you forgot something in your room, they'll let you go grab it. But they take the 10am-4pm time to clean and things. This seems pretty typical for Japan. Just don't plan on sleeping all day with no interruptions :)
I would highly recommend this place. Also 5 minute walk from a station.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Murken789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

After staying in some excellent hostels in Japan for similar prices we were pretty disappointed with our stay here. The wifi did not work the whole time we were there. Only two showers for each gender. The males bathroom had broken doors. The place is very very noisy. People walking up and down the stairs all night and I got eaten alive by some kind of mosquito. You also have to be out of the building between 10AM and 4PM for "cleaning" which was at times very inconvenient. Location is asakusabashi is good and close to the JR station meant it was convenient but next time would much rather spend a little more money and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Stay at K's Hostel which is about ten minutes down the road and is much much more comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Basic room. Bathrooms and the kitchen area was ok, clean enough. Close to subway station. Stayed in a dorm. Not much space but guess it's just as to be expected. Wifi is free but only available in the common area, not in rooms. Annoying that you and to be out of the hostel between 1000 and 1600. Was ok, I woudlnt personally stay again but you get what you pay for and for just a bed to sleep in, does the job.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

You have to be carefull because there is a curfew at 23h 30 and you have to leave the hotel between 10:30 and 4pm. So it forces you to have a really daylife trip (bad if you like to party hard).

But if you don't mind place is good and staff easy going.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I've stayed here twice for two nights with large groups of teenage American tourists. It's located close to the Asakusa-bashi train station and in a quiet, safe part of Tokyo. It does take a bit of navigating to find it but luckily the hostel has little signs put up along the street to help guide you once you get close. The rooms are located on the 3rd and 4th floor and there is no elevator to get to them. The rooms are shared as is expected in a hostel, with futons provided. They're surprisingly comfortable if you can get used to them. The internet access at the lobby is 50¥ per hour which is really reasonable. Wifi connections are limited to five at any given time so sometimes you have to wait to log on. There are two showers for boys and girls and sometimes have strange abandoned soaps in them. There's a conference room and vending machine upstairs with a microwave, a guest book and a small TV.
If you're using this hostel as a landing pad for exploring Tokyo it's a really great and inexpensive option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed there for a week and half, and it was amazing! The staff is kind and awesome, they always try to help you if you're looking for something in Tokyo! I took the dormitory, it's clean, depending who you get to sleep in the same room as you, it can be really really noisy... I know what I'm talking about! Showers, bathroom, Kitchen are always clean! There's always hot water and tea, and the 'meeting-room/kitchen is great when you want to meet new peep's! The internet connection is way to slow.. But it's okay still.

It could be easier to find it, but still, once you got to know the way to get there, it's nice! And Tokyo is such a lovely place!

(was there on June 23th 2010)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hans Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 75 in Taito
230 reviews
Yotsuya, Iidabashi
Tokyo Central Youth Hostel
Tokyo Central Youth Hostel
#9 of 38 in Shinjuku
68 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Backpacker's Hotel New Koyo
Ueno, Asakusa
Juyoh Hotel
Juyoh Hotel
#18 of 75 in Taito
161 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Nui. Hostel & Bar Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel

Address: 2-21-4 Yanagibashi, Taito 111-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range: $21 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel is set in a residential area of the old downtown region of Tokyo, giving guests an authentic feel of living in Tokyo. With easy access from both international airports and the main attractions, it makes for the ideal city getaway. The friendly, helpful staff will make you feel welcome and you can enjoy this cosy Japanese-style hostel complete with 'tatami' rooms. After you have used the facilities, including internet access and TV room, it’s time to start exploring the sights. Akihabara Electric Town, Asakusa temple and Ryougoku Sumo Hall are within walking distance, and from the nearest station you can get to places like Shinjuku, Shibuya, Tokyo Big Site, Tokyo Disney Resort and Kamakura. You can even organise a one day trip to Nikko, Hakone or Mount Fuji area and if you arrive in late July don’t forget to watch the fantastic Sumidagawa Fireworks Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Sumidagawa Youth Hostel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing