We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location , Super Clean,Friendly Staff”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location , Super Clean,Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed in four room dorms, its a very clean & modern, their living room are great u can meet new people here and using a free internet connection , the kitchen is clean & they provide coffee & tea for free.Their staff are super friendly & helpfull. The three of us reccomended this place for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    59
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
24
83
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Great location (right next to the Asakusa and Ginza subway lines, perfect place to visit the Asakusa temples)

Super friendly and helpful staff. They even went out of their way to try and plan our transit out of the city. They employ guests (who can thus get free lodging) to help out with the cleaning. One of these workers didn't fully clean the room we were going to stay in. When the staff at the reception noticed this (while checking the room before we checked in), she dashed off to clean it herself. She was super embarrassed and apologetic about this, despite our assurance that it was fine. Of course, when we went into the dorm room, it was very clean. Every guest gets their own locker for valuables. Guests can control AC/heating.

The shared shower room is a nice one and is very clean. They provide shampoo, conditioner and body soap. We brought our own towels (though, I think you can rent/buy one). Toilets were also clean. Note: Each dorm room, which had four beds in it, had its own toilet and shower room.

Laundry room is on the roof and it closed around 10 or 11pm. The machines were coin operated.

The common rooms (computers, lounge, kitchen...) were quite welcoming and spacious. There were three computers with free internet that could be used at any time. There was also free wifi. There is also a vending machine with discount prices (the mandarin juice is nice). The kitchen had all manner of cutlery and utensils. Guests were also invited to leave any untouched food they didn't want to bring with them (with the date of checkout marked on it).

They organise many events for the guests. During our two stays there (yes, we liked it so much that we stayed there twice), there was a sushi party and an okonomiyaki party. I think there was also an event during which people helped clean Asakusa while wearing yukatas.

The only complaint may be about the one oblivious male guest who had crazy sex with some girl in the lower bunk of the bunk bed while my travel partner was in the top bunk. If you are planning on doing anything with anyone, please make sure you are actually alone in the room. Of course, this is not the fault of the hostel...

Information about reviewer: Travelled as a pair (male & female), aged 23yrs, stayed for a total of 5 nights in two different rooms, late November.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagoi, Riau, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in Khaosan Kabuki Tokyo in the end of September 2011, this was the best hostel I ever stayed. Cheap, clean, near to train station and tourist area. The staffs are very friendly and the most important is they can speak English. The room clean spacious, have internet for free usage, free coffee and tea and all the rooms have attached bathroom..VERY GOOD and VALUE for money! I will recommend this hostel to all my friends and family. Keep up the good work and sampai jumpa :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Decorated like a little theme attraction, Kabuki is a cozy hostel located near the Kaminari-mon, making it pretty easy to find. There are also small shops and eateries around the area so you could always go out and find something to do. The rooms are clean and quite spacious with available wi-fi, and the staff speaks English. Only beef I had with the place, although slight, is it's late check-in time (3 PM). I wish they would make it earlier. Other than that, it's a great value for the traveler's money and I will be sure to return whenever in Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The location of this hostel is great.It close to the station. 1 min walk to Ginza line.30 seconds walk to Karinarimon gate. The staffs are nice and helpful.We get a two double deck room for 4 of us. The shower is small but is enough of almost everyone unless fot those over 300 pounds. The commom refrigerator was almost full. We heard a little noise at night since our room is in the ground floor close to the lounge. I don't think they have a staff on shift after 10 pm, they have an emergency phone. password to enter the hostel.You can only pay in Cash.The room is not spacious but it is enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Pros:
1. Very near to the train station and only 1 min walk to Sensoji Temple.
2. Friendly staffs.
3. Nice deco.
4. Best place to meet friends.
5. Staffs provide useful information.

Cons:
1. Not advisable buy souvenir from Sensoji Temple, the price is more higher. We tried to bargain, but most of the stall won't cut down the price.
2. Food around this area is quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 64 in Taito
217 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#3 of 64 in Taito
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Address: 1-17-2 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki Hotel Taito
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing