We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
234
96
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
96
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnippori stationyanaka ginzayamanote linenarita airportueno parkminute walkwestern style bathroomfood vendorstraditional shopstatami matstea bagswest exitrooms are greatshopping streetprivate bathroomnice neighborhooddrug store
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 343 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2017

This Ryokan is situated in a really nice and friendly area, 5 minutes walk from the subway and 15 minutes from the Ueno park. And on their website they even put a little video to show how to find the hotel !
The little market next to the hotel is authentic (you must try the Donuts Cats Tails in this little street sooo delicious !)
The personal at the hotel is really friendly, she even offered us a little purse !
The rooms are clean, a bit small and really authentic ! And the wifi works well

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreeny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Maybe we expected more considering the reviews we read on TripAdvisor, but we were a little disappointed. The rooms are tatami covered and we slept on futons, which were goodl. The bathroom was very small with a simple toilet and small shower. We had free wi-fi and there is a dining area in the lobby. We also had little refrigerator in our room. The owner (father?) was kind and polite. The only reason we took it is that it had a private bathroom and it was an OK place, but nothing too fancy. The location is great; right next to Yanaka-ginza, a nice little shopping street with souvenir shops. Their rate during the weekend is mroe expensive than weekdays.

Room Tip: Check the room to see that it fits you, but bear in mind that a more spacious room costs more.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haramachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights after our flights from Chicago. It is about a 10 minute walk to a J rail station. Our room had western style bathroom which I did insist on with our lodging. There is a arcade(Japanese version of a strip mall) with multiple restaurants in a 2-5 minute walk from the inn. Lodging was reasonably priced, hosts were friendly and we had the advantage that my son who speaks Japanese was with us. This is a taste of real Japan, not tourist Japan

Room Tip: make sure you have a western style bathroom,
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The layout of the Japanese room was really good with its own western style bathroom for a bit more privacy. The staff were helpful, location really good. There is a 7/11 and drug store close by. Plenty of shops, restaurant/cafes nearby also. Really good Fukusuke Sake bar up the road, and Nagomi Chicken Restaurant.

Nippori station is not too far. The bus service also can take you around and provides a more authentic feel to the place. Loved the Nippori area with its local character, and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we knew that this was a special place.
The welcome was incredible from a gentlemen who spoke very good English. He explained everything so clearly and took us to the room.
The room has air-conditioning but in February we needed it warm.
The room is Japanese style and the beds were so comfortable. There is a kettle with an ample supply of tea and coffee and there is a fridge.
I found the WiFi to be very good.
The bathroom is a good size but some people may find the bath to be on the small side.
When we checked in we were given an excellent map and the helpful gentlemen went through it with us. The area is so interesting and I would have liked to have time to explore it further.
We discovered a really nice bar called Yanaka Hello and had a brilliant evening there.
Checkout is 10am and again there was a very helpful and courteous lady on reception.
We did not opt for breakfast.
Annex Katsutaro is close to the station Sendagi which is C15.
I have no doubts whatsoever about staying here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comments.This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are glad to know that you liked our surrounding neighbourhood.
There are still so much to explore in this old fashioned Yanaka area!!

Please do come and visit us again,maybe in another season or so.
You are always welcome in our homely ryokan.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews