We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Annex Katsutaro Ryokan
Nearby Hotels
US$194
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$108
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$55
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$126
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Via Inn Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agora Place Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$115
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palace Japan(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
US$139
US$124
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
US$76
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
230
95
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
95
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnippori stationyanaka ginzayamanote linenarita airportcharming neighborhoodminute walkueno parkwestern style bathroomtraditional shopstraditional ryokannarrow streetsspoke very good englishtokyo neighborhoodprivate bathroomshopping streetdrug storetatami floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 338 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Ten minute walk from Nippori Station to Ryokan which is stop for Narita airport train. Well run establishment which is situated in a pleasant and quiet residential area. Good English spoken. Fair price and quality room. We had integral bathroom on 3rd floor. Easy access to a variety of food outlets. Beer available at popup street bar nearby. Two minute walk to metro station. Serviced daily and good standard of room with nice street outlook.

Room Tip: Third floor with street view and bathroom worked for us.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 370albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

This Ryokan is situated in a really nice and friendly area, 5 minutes walk from the subway and 15 minutes from the Ueno park. And on their website they even put a little video to show how to find the hotel !
The little market next to the hotel is authentic (you must try the Donuts Cats Tails in this little street sooo delicious !)
The personal at the hotel is really friendly, she even offered us a little purse !
The rooms are clean, a bit small and really authentic ! And the wifi works well

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreeny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Maybe we expected more considering the reviews we read on TripAdvisor, but we were a little disappointed. The rooms are tatami covered and we slept on futons, which were goodl. The bathroom was very small with a simple toilet and small shower. We had free wi-fi and there is a dining area in the lobby. We also had little refrigerator in our room. The owner (father?) was kind and polite. The only reason we took it is that it had a private bathroom and it was an OK place, but nothing too fancy. The location is great; right next to Yanaka-ginza, a nice little shopping street with souvenir shops. Their rate during the weekend is mroe expensive than weekdays.

Room Tip: Check the room to see that it fits you, but bear in mind that a more spacious room costs more.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haramachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights after our flights from Chicago. It is about a 10 minute walk to a J rail station. Our room had western style bathroom which I did insist on with our lodging. There is a arcade(Japanese version of a strip mall) with multiple restaurants in a 2-5 minute walk from the inn. Lodging was reasonably priced, hosts were friendly and we had the advantage that my son who speaks Japanese was with us. This is a taste of real Japan, not tourist Japan

Room Tip: make sure you have a western style bathroom,
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The layout of the Japanese room was really good with its own western style bathroom for a bit more privacy. The staff were helpful, location really good. There is a 7/11 and drug store close by. Plenty of shops, restaurant/cafes nearby also. Really good Fukusuke Sake bar up the road, and Nagomi Chicken Restaurant.

Nippori station is not too far. The bus service also can take you around and provides a more authentic feel to the place. Loved the Nippori area with its local character, and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews