We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
234
96
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
96
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnippori stationyanaka ginzayamanote linenarita airportueno parkminute walkwestern style bathroomfood vendorstraditional shopstatami matstea bagswest exitrooms are greatshopping streetprivate bathroomnice neighborhooddrug store
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 343 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Not what you would think of as a traditional ryokan on the outside, it is a concrete building typical of so much modern Japanese architecture. The rooms, however are very nice tatami mat and futon sleeping arrangement with small bath.

The rooms are clean, staff is very helpful, they do have laundry machine, good wifi and speak English.

The location is great, near Nippori station on Yamanote line and just one block from Chiyoda subway. Plenty of mom & pop traditional restaurants nearby, however many close around 8 - 10, (most are tourist-friendly). 7-11 right across the street with an international ATM, morning coffee, evening snacks & beer.

The neighborhood walking up to Nippori station has plenty of traditional shops and architecture (apparently wasn't bombed during the war). The shops range from kimonos to drug stores, to anything kawaii cat merchandise.

All in all a perfect place to stay while visiting Tokyo, great neighborhood, great rates, clean place, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jlabsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comments.This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017

we were unsure what to expect in our first family experience with a ryokan but everything was great, very friendly owners, nice sized room (we slept 4 on 3 futons/mats). we loved the neighborhood, cool shops and very close to the C-line metro

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Ten minute walk from Nippori Station to Ryokan which is stop for Narita airport train. Well run establishment which is situated in a pleasant and quiet residential area. Good English spoken. Fair price and quality room. We had integral bathroom on 3rd floor. Easy access to a variety of food outlets. Beer available at popup street bar nearby. Two minute walk to metro station. Serviced daily and good standard of room with nice street outlook.

Room Tip: Third floor with street view and bathroom worked for us.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 370albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

This Ryokan is situated in a really nice and friendly area, 5 minutes walk from the subway and 15 minutes from the Ueno park. And on their website they even put a little video to show how to find the hotel !
The little market next to the hotel is authentic (you must try the Donuts Cats Tails in this little street sooo delicious !)
The personal at the hotel is really friendly, she even offered us a little purse !
The rooms are clean, a bit small and really authentic ! And the wifi works well

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreeny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Maybe we expected more considering the reviews we read on TripAdvisor, but we were a little disappointed. The rooms are tatami covered and we slept on futons, which were goodl. The bathroom was very small with a simple toilet and small shower. We had free wi-fi and there is a dining area in the lobby. We also had little refrigerator in our room. The owner (father?) was kind and polite. The only reason we took it is that it had a private bathroom and it was an OK place, but nothing too fancy. The location is great; right next to Yanaka-ginza, a nice little shopping street with souvenir shops. Their rate during the weekend is mroe expensive than weekdays.

Room Tip: Check the room to see that it fits you, but bear in mind that a more spacious room costs more.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haramachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We appreciate your comments.
This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews