We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Etrip
StayForLong
Booking.com
Rakuten Travel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
255
107
26
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
107
26
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 400 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016

General: a really nice, good value place to stay in a convenient yet interesting area of Tokyo. Ideal if you want hostel-style accommodation that’s a bit more sophisticated.

Room: it is small, there's no getting round that fact. As in, the room is the width of a double bed and its length plus say, a small suitcase. I think its important to highlight that because although its not necessarily a negative, it is a noticeable feature of the room and it would affect your stay there if you weren't expecting it.

Air-con is very effective. The size of the room and the fact that you put all your things at one end of the bed make it feel a bit like camping in a box that you can stand up in, which isn’t a bad thing so long as you don’t mind this. The tatamae mats are very comfy and make a nice change from sleeping on a western bed.

Facilities: cool onsen which you can book out privately, nice décor and a good top floor area with some alright views of the city – good for an evening beer. The other shower rooms (apart from the onsen room) are very small which is slightly inconvenient if you want to shower and change (as I needed to get changed in the actual shower, hence wet clothes!).

Staff: really friendly and chatty (they found my bad Japanese accent amusing!), with good recommendations food/drinks in the local area. Being a kind-of hostel set up, there are good opportunities to talk to other guests too.

Location: decent, you’re on a main metro line (hibiya..probably the most useful, well-connected one) and only a few stops from the JR overground train at Ueno too. The area is laid back and local, with a decent selection of restaurants and supermarkets.

Room tip: Floors 2 or above would be better as a bit more private than the ground floor
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Mr./Ms. Daniel J,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so grateful that you really enjoyed your stay at Andon.

In terms of the architecture and rooms, the simplicity of the room in Andon has made us distinct, one of kind accommodation, giving all the guests the great opportunity to experience the old way of life in which Japanese people used to live with sophisticated traditional bedding style in Japan called yojohan (four and half tatami sized), which is the smallest size of the basic tatami room. It originally comes from the size of traditional tea ceremony. Now that almost all the modern accommodations were equipped with westernized style bedding, we believe that it is truly meaningful to provide the typical Japanese futon bed.

After the busy day, you can’t miss the best relaxing time to recover from the exhaustion for the coming next day. You must have got a day off to a good start. You can also listen to the music in the Jacuzzi, required to ask the receptionist to choose your favorite. Everybody can enjoy an appreciation of the wall art of Ariake tiles created by a pop artist Mie Ishii and the antique animal collection.

The location is quite convenient for people who have never come to Tokyo for traveling by using the public transportation. It is very close to the bus stop to Asakusa as well as the subway, Minowa station within 5mins walking distance without any confusion. On the Hibiya line from Minowa, as you mentioned, there are lots of great places to be easily able to visit such as Ueno, Akihabara, and Tsukiji. The original map around Andon is absolutely helpful to find not only the very local places to have some lunch and dinner but also the nearest convenience store, supermarket, bank and so on…

We would like you to appreciate you had a good time with us. All of Ando staffs truly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Andon Ryokan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Pro: Awesome and friendly staff! The best breakfast I had in Japan (for a reasonable fee). The private bath is great and the room comfortable. The decor is also really artful.

Con: a bit far from the usual sight you heard about like shibuya crossing and akihabara. But plenty of it if you research the neighborhood.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear our valued Jeff L,

Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us 5stars on Trip Advisor.

Not only does your comment make us truly happy, but also gives us the great motivation to provide all incoming guests with unforgettable experience and exceptional hospitality at Andon Ryokan. All our Andon members love to welcome the guests and especially can speak English fluently enough to communicate with people in the world.

The breakfast, which is cooked and then served right in front of the guests, has earned a favorable reputation for long time. The guests don’t have to find a place to eat in the morning. All they have to do is come down at the lobby and make an order. You can definitely get a day off to a good start.

Regarding the location, to be honest we are not very close to Shibuya but we are in the vicinity of beautiful local areas such as Ueno and Asakusa where you can enjoy the traditional Japanese lovely spots. Its great location for the public transportation very close to the subway would be super convenient for those who don’t know much about the neighborhood areas and less trouble moving through Tokyo than they expected.

Again, we sincerely appreciate your writing a fanatic review on us!
We can hardly wait to welcome you back in Andon!

Andon Ryokan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

First thing to say is, I love 'Andon Ryokan'. It represents everything that's wonderful about Japan. Toshiko-San (who is also the owner), Hiro-San, Megumi-San and Aya-San can't do enough for you. They're unbelievably friendly and helpful and speak very good English!

The rooms are spotlessly clean and perfectly formed. There's a very cool, stylish guest 'sento' (bath) at the top of the ryokan, which you should definitely reserve a spot for. Breakfast is served from 7am - 10am and is a bargain. I had to leave for an early flight the first time I stayed, so couldn't make breakfast, but unsolicited Toshiko-San still made me a sandwich for the journey and yes it was delicious.

I know it all sounds a bit too good to be true, but believe me it isn't. Check it out for yourselves and enjoy Japanese hospitality at its absolute best.

Room tip: Side and to the rear of the hotel, is very quiet, but a little dark. If you want more light, take a room at the front of the ryokan.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Mr. Martin_Squirrell,

Thank you very much for staying at Andon Ryokan and posting an incredible review on us! We are surprisingly glad that you really enjoyed all about us!

How’s everything going? It's been a while since you checked out. You are very special to us since you made us feel as if we were part of your family or the best friend. Not only does your stay gave us happiness, but also inspired the great motivation in us to provide all incoming guests with unforgettable experience and exceptional hospitality at Andon Ryokan. Andon members loved to chat with you every day.

On behalf of all Andon Team, I would like to say, it was wonderful for us to meet you at Andon Ryokan. We truly look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Andon Ryokan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

We accidentally planned our stay in Tokyo the weekend before Marine Day, a national holiday in mid-July, so the hotels and hostels I've stayed at previously were all booked, even though I was trying to make the reservation more than a month out. All of the budget-oriented hotel chain locations that I could find were also booked. Thus emerged Andon Ryokan, which I had not heard of before, as one of the only places we could find only that had vacancy across all of the days we were trying to stay in Tokyo.

As with most hotels in Japan, rates are determined on a daily basis, and the pre-holiday night was more expensive- we paid an average of around 9000 yen per night for a double. That's pretty expensive for hostel-style accommodation, and I've stayed in business hotels in Tokyo for about that much- albeit not on the weekend before a holiday.

The closest Tokyo Metro station, Minowa, is on the Hibiya line and is pretty easy to get to from Ueno. The proximity to Ueno makes it particularly easy to get to if you're coming from Narita, since the Keisei Skyliner runs to and from Ueno. However, we arrived at Minowa at night and in a heavy rain, so we had a little trouble finding Andon Ryokan the first time. I had written directions based on Google Maps Street View, but some of my visual cues had changed since the maps data had been updated, and so we ended up going around a block a few times. We eventually ended up using a phone with data access and Google Maps. If you won't have access to data, I'd suggest just printing a route map to make it easier on yourself. After you exit the station the rest of the walk is on level ground- no bridges or slopes, which makes it a little easier when you have luggage.

The staff are helpful and also speak English. When we got in, they gave us a rundown of the place, along with some tea, and then helped get the luggage to the room. They have a baggage elevator for that purpose, as the stairs are pretty narrow. As is typical in Japan, we had to pay upfront, and credit cards worked fine.

We had a double room on the third floor. The room size was what I would have expected for a private double room at a hostel-style place. There was a cabinet as well for storage, which was nice. There's an alcove with a TV and a mini desk. It's a washitsu (Japanese-style) tatami room, so you're expected to leave your shoes outside the room. There's A/C, which worked fine, and a small window. I found the room to be quite dark- even with all the lights on and with the window open during the day- because there is no main overhead light. It made it feel a bit like a cave. Since it is a Japanese-style room you sleep on a futon on the floor. I don't recall having any issues with comfort of the bedding.

I'm not sure if it's the same for all floors, but our floor had a sink in the hallway, a toilet for ladies, and a room with three sinks for both genders that was in front of the men's toilet (separated by a sliding door). I didn't have any issues with the restroom/sink arrangements. There was one shower stall on the floor, and while I didn't have any issues with waiting for it, I did find it to be rather cramped- particularly the tiny space in between the hallway door and the shower door. There were not enough hooks to hang things on either. Otherwise, the shower worked fine, and shampoo/conditioner/soap was provided.

I did appreciate the water pot and tea that was available in the hallway. There was a shared refrigerator in the hallway as well. We didn't make use of the jacuzzi or their lobby cafe. We did use the coin laundry machines on the top floor, which worked fine. We also checked out the view from the roof on a clear day, and can get a pretty good view of Skytree. A warning though that the stairway up to roof is rather narrow. On checking out, we asked them to hold our luggage for the day, and we had no issues with that.

Overall, I would have expected a bit more for the money- as it was within the lower end of the price range of "normal" business/budget hotels. However, given the circumstances- trying to find a room for the weekend before a holiday- I was relieved to find a room at all. I would recommend it in particular for those who are familiar with hostel-style accommodation.

Room tip: Higher floors might be quieter as the bottom floor/lobby area is probably a little busier/noisier than the rest of the place.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ibmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Dear Mr./Ms. Ibmman、

Thank you so much for staying with Andon Ryokan while you visit Tokyo. We truly appreciate you looked back on your stay and write such a nice and detailed comment for us! Your review will absolutely encourage us to work harder than now and get us think of how we could improve our hospitality for incoming guests. We can’t say thank you enough.

To give all our guests the great opportunity to experience traditional Japanese culture has led us to standing out among a thousand of ryokans and hotels in Tokyo with the unprecedented hospitality. As for the room, the simplicity of the room in Andon has made us distinct, one of kind accommodation, providing the old way of life in which Japanese people used to live with sophisticated traditional bedding style in Japan called yojohan (four and half tatami sized), which is the smallest size of the basic tatami room. It originally comes from the size of traditional tea ceremony. Now that almost all the modern accommodations were equipped with westernized style bedding that you probably looked for, we believe that it is truly meaningful to offer the typical Japanese futon bed. In terms of the light on the ceiling, we didn’t put any center light to illuminate the room brightly from the top since we are Andon, which is a night lamp used basically inside a room by using a candle. The room is supposed to light you up dimly. We are so sorry that you had a little trouble making yourself at home in Andon room. As for the stairs to the roof top, it is quite steep all the way up to terrace but we had to satisfy the earthquake resistance standard of the Building Standard Law in Japan. It eventually turned out to be very sharply-made staircase.

Thank you again for your recommendation and sharing your feedback of your nice stay in Tokyo. It would be definitely helpful and considerate for people who have never stayed with us before! We are so much looking forward to having you back again soon!

Andon Ryokan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Andon Ryokan is a very good choice. It could be excellent, was it not for the noisy inconsiderate guests and the inability of the literally paper-thin walls to block their noise.

We spent two nights in this place. The first one, after a 12 hours flight, was excellent. We fell asleep at 8pm and woke up 12 hours later or so. The Japanese breakfast (additional cost) was tasty and they managed to make a vegetarian version of it for us.

In the second night, however, we were not knackered any more. Went to bed around 10pm (as we had to leave early to catch a domestic flight) and couldn't fall asleep until 3-4am. Our room was located near the shared toilets and every few minutes I could hear someone walking along the corridor, doors open and slammed behind.

You can say it's not the Ryokan's fault the guests have a tiny bladder. They even put a sign asking ladies not to use the toilets after midnight and use the men's room that is more insulated, which was ignored. But this is a design issue that could be resolved.

So if you're lucky, this can be a refreshing experience, a night in a traditional Japanese accommodation in the heart of Tokyo, a few minutes walk from a subway station. But it can be a bit sleepless if you're more sensitive.

It's worth mentioning that they also offer a funky Japanese style bathroom, which you can easily book for an hour for free. Which is very cool. The also have a bike rental service.

All in all I had one of the best night sleeps on their comfy futon and one of the worst night sleeps the following day. I would recommend this place, but if it doesn't turn out well, I warned you... :)

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RestOrRanteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear our lovely guests RestOrRanteur、

Thank you so much for choosing Andon Ryokan while you visit Tokyo. We do appreciate you looked back on your stay and wrote such a nice review for us!

First of all, we are so sorry that you were disturbed by the loud noise which other guests made while sleeping. In case that our rooms are occupied by guests, the floors and bathrooms particularly get considerably noisier than those are not full with people. What we have done is to provide as many guests as possible with stays in Japanese style room at a reasonable price. That is the reason why the facilities on each floor are shared with other guests.

Nest time, when you stay with us, feel free to ask us that you need a quiet room. We will do our best to provide you with a comfortable stay.

Lastly, we would like you to thank you again for the thoughtful feedback of providing a chance to choose the best stay in Tokyo. We are all looking forward to having you back someday in the near future.

Andon Ryokan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews