We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined an otherwise perfect day !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aux Armes d'Estaing
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Estaing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived on foot as clients of Sherpa Expeditions. No instructions from Sherpa saying we may be accommodated in another building. Hotel looked pleasant and welcoming as we approached it across the bridge towards the town.
However we were ushered into another building close by. The dismal room approached through a dark and uninviting hallway complete with grimy artificial flowers, was very dusty and there was much mould in and around the shower room and bedroom wall & doors. Shower stall had an indescribable area of dreadful damp extrusions growing around the doorway.
There was no mattress cover on the very ancient and lumpy sprung mattress. On asking if we could have a blanket to cover same we were told that it was not necessary as the mattress had been sprayed !
Madame lost her fair command of English when we asked why we were not accommodated in the main hotel , but eventually offered us a room there ,( when she had previously declared it was full ) if we paid extra.
This hotel was the only really dreadful place we stayed on our otherwise well organised self-guided walking tour with Sherpa. To be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex. It is old , dreary and dirty.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boboranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Aux Armes d'Estaing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel looks nice but if you are a walker or a pilgrim you are relegated to the annex. The room have not been redecorated since the 1960s. Friends of ours had reserved a room and specifically asked for a room in the hotel so as to have a view of the bridge. Yet they also ended in the annex. Diner was average and disappointing. One did feel that we were expected to eat quickly and then leave. As we were a group of six, we did linger but ended finishing the evening in the brasserie next to the bridge where we were welcomed! Overall we should have gone to the other hotel which was much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolande G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were now into our second week of our Tour De France and we headed back into the beautiful Lot valley. The weather had been very boring...each day cloudless, sunny and hot. Its a tough life but we endured. The drive down into Espalion had once again reminded us of this hidden gem of a location with its deep wooded valley, old castles, some in ruins and the uper reaches of the great river Lot at the bottom.

Estaing is a small town with a Chateau by the river (see photo). The Chateau had for many years been a convent but is now being restored by a trust headed up by the former French president Valery Giscard D'Estaing who, as his names imlpied has family roots here.

The hotel sits beside the main through road and has a small number of available parking spaces just to its west. The reception area doubles as a bar and the manageress greeted us warmly and decided that she was more comfortable with using English than with my attempts to slaughter her native French tongue.

Our room (14) was on on the second floor...no lift so plenty of exercise for me hefting our bags upstairs. We had a nice south facing view over the river and old bridge with a small balcony (standing room only). The fact that is was south facing meant it was also warm from the sunshine and also overlooked the main road which was busy....all night! The en suite was small but functional with a shower, loo, sink, hairdryer and joy-of-joys a razor socket. Toiletries were good including bottles of shampoo rather than sackets.

The bed was rather short and only just coped with my 6 foot 1 frame (I'm talking length here so no jokes about enjoying my food too much.) Generally the room seemed a little cramped. The TV was flatscreen.

Dinner was tremendous. We had the more basic menu but basic here is a relative term. The Kir apperitifs were a little ungenerous and unusually came with no canapes. This lack of generosity was made up for with the starter where Mrs L got a rather large double slice of Black Pudding and fois gras terrine which she enjoyed rather too much. I had a smoked trout with pesto that was devine Each came with a walnuts and pine nuts green salad. Then we both had very tasty Perche with smoked ham, ratatouille and cheesy potato, followed by a cheese board selection (St Nectaire, Chevre and Brebis in this case). dessert was a Strawberry and pistachio cake than was wonderful. All this for 25 Euro; just fantastic! The only problem was this added to the burden to be moved up the stairs. The wine was a Languedoc Vin de Pays Armonia (an organic wine) as recommended by the manageress...OK but no more.

Hot room meant open window. Open window meant noise intrusion. Whatever the compromise sleep was not as comfortable as it might have been.

Breakfast was good but held in a rather plain backroom. Everyone was given stewed apples. The jams were individual pots of commercially bought brands and also a propriety peanut butter spread. The honey seemed to be more rusic and was nice. Croissants were large and fresh. Pain au Chocolat and other bread were also sampled. Freshly made coffee was served in pots with hot milk.

Overall and nice place to visit but may be best to avoid the hotter months.

Room Tip: During hot weather ask for a room over looking the rear.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We did a two week walking holiday and stayed in 10 different hotels of comparable price across the region. Aux Armes d'Estaing was disappointing compared to the other hotels. The hotel is nicely situated on the river and has an excellent restaurant, but we got very little sleep because of the noisy room (road noise) and uncomfortable bed. I am not particularly tall at 5'10'' (177cm) but it was impossible to stretch out lengthways on the short bed with metal railings at either end. The woman who runs the hotel was not interested in our complaint. This is a nice town to visit, but there is not much choice of accommodation. It may be better to visit for lunch rather than an overnight stay. There is a very nice bar/restaurant across the road, run by a friendly family (Brasserie du Chateau).

Room Tip: When booking, don't mention that you are on a walking holiday else you will get grotty annex
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HighburyCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres donnant sur le Lot
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank sapignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estaing
12.3 km away
Hotellerie du Couvent de Malet
Hotellerie du Couvent de Malet
#1 of 1 in Saint-Come-d'Olt
159 reviews
8.0 km away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1 of 1 in Espalion
62 reviews
10.2 km away
L'Auberge du Chateau
L'Auberge du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Muret-le-Chateau
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Hotel La Riviere
Hotel La Riviere
#1 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
395 reviews
20.3 km away
Les Coudercous
Les Coudercous
#1 of 3 in Saint-Chely-d'Aubrac
212 reviews
20.3 km away
Best Western Le Relais de Laguiole Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Armes d'Estaing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Armes d'Estaing

Address: 1 quai du Lot, 12190 Estaing, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Estaing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Estaing
Price Range: $70 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aux Armes d'Estaing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing