We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aux Armes d'Estaing
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
34
32
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
32
13
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016

This building next to the hotel restaurant is torn to shreds.
Going up the shabby stairs up to your room in the dark is a ordeal.
The room is terribly basic, so is the shower.
A tiny tv not in fonction and no wifi in the whole building.
You can hear people talking in the room next door.
It is like a youth hostel in the sixties but far from being the price of a youth hostel.
Food was very average: the meat was good but the entrée was very probably a defrost mushy small onion tart, the desert was a bad quality supermarket cake.
Altogether not a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pierre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2014

Comfortable rooms with an old world feel. Nice bed, good sized room, bath was OK. Only downsides were that the hotel was very noisy, both from other rooms and the street (street facing room) and that the hot water was so hot that one could really get hurt (I did burn a finger just touching the hot water pipe that connected to the hot water dial). Ear plugs totally solves the noise issue. I suggest that the management of the hotel put a cautionary note in rooms regarding the hot water. The restaurant is top flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the tstreet
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2014

I'd stress, after reading other reviews about the hotel, that we only ate lunch at the restaurant - but that was *very* good. The menu was read out, rather than being printed, so it was a little tricky to keep track of prices (particularly on the wine, they don't seem to do pichets, so we just accepted the recommendation on a half-bottle) but it isn't that expensive. The food was beautifully presented and very nicely cooked, so I would definitely recommend it for a lunch if you are visiting this lovely little village. The location is wonderful, just by the river, and the friendly staff speak English (despite our best efforts!).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PCB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here while walking the 'Chemin St. Jaques' the hotel is in a lovely position, right on the river but the very small room we were given is in a rather shabby, hostel like annexe. The food was good, and the 'Madame' was very friendly , and it was a very interesting village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived on foot as clients of Sherpa Expeditions. No instructions from Sherpa saying we may be accommodated in another building. Hotel looked pleasant and welcoming as we approached it across the bridge towards the town.
However we were ushered into another building close by. The dismal room approached through a dark and uninviting hallway complete with grimy artificial flowers, was very dusty and there was much mould in and around the shower room and bedroom wall & doors. Shower stall had an indescribable area of dreadful damp extrusions growing around the doorway.
There was no mattress cover on the very ancient and lumpy sprung mattress. On asking if we could have a blanket to cover same we were told that it was not necessary as the mattress had been sprayed !
Madame lost her fair command of English when we asked why we were not accommodated in the main hotel , but eventually offered us a room there ,( when she had previously declared it was full ) if we paid extra.
This hotel was the only really dreadful place we stayed on our otherwise well organised self-guided walking tour with Sherpa. To be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex. It is old , dreary and dirty.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boboranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews