We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 3 San Rafael B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We booked five nights as part of a longer holiday in Ibiza. We were misled by the details on Booking.com, which offered the Superior Double room as being suitable for 4 people (it showed 1 double and 2 singles and we put 2 adults and 2 children into the reservation request). We had a fifth small child, which we would have put in our double bed and were prepared to pay extra for, if the hotel felt so inclined. We chose this room instead of a family room, which offered similar accommodation but had less m2. The hotel contacted us and told us that the two single beds were 'extra beds'. In my 40 years of extensive travelling I have always considered 'extra beds' to be ones brought into the room that were not already there and not indicated on the room details. The hotel asked for an additional fee of €962 - another 30% on an already expensive room.

I asked to be put into a family room which was the same price as the room we booked but the owner refused, insisting we pay the extra and later offering us an even more expensive 'villa' for €1237 extra. We were on a budget (and this was not the main stay of our holiday) and the owner did not seem to appreciate that we would rather fit into a smaller room than spend an additional amount, which was basically our food budget for the holiday. So frustrated was I with the owner's attitude - which was polite and charming but adamant - that I even told him I would rather not stay in the hotel at all and preferred to lose the booking and spend the €1000 extra on an apartment in San Antonio instead. Making a guest so annoyed that they would rather walk away before they have even arrived was not good customer service and if I had been the owner I would have given a full refund and got rid of me. In the end we agreed €1000 extra for the 'villa' and my wife and I arrived in a bad mood and resenting having to spend a considerable amount of extra money. To his credit, when we arrived, the owner did greet us in person and gave a us a complimentary glass of Cava.

The 'villa' is not really a villa but a semi detached deluxe bedroom away from the main hotel block (although it does have a hob and a fridge for self-catering). As an architect of contemporary houses, I appreciated the contemporary design of the bedroom, which was excellent. There was plenty of natural light, a high ceiling, a walk-in shower and large sliding doors opening on a private terrace. We had a ground floor bedroom - 'no. 14 - which was a short walk from the pool area. Bigger detached villas are much further from the pool. It was difficult to fault the villas on design.

The pool area was excellent. The pool was just the right size and just about good enough for short lengths.The location and surroundings were very attractive. The waterfall was fun for kids but the pool depth was all the same and kids could only stand up in the steps area. Surprisingly, there was no rush for people to claim loungers and cabanas around the pool, even though there weren't that many of them. This was refreshing and all in all the pool area was very relaxed and chilled. This boutique hotel is the kind adults, especially couples, would appreciate but it is also very child friendly.

We ate at the hotel only once. The food was expensive but excellent. A nice, but not exceptional, breakfast was included in the price. Not many people seemed to eat dinner at the hotel and whilst there was plenty of table space, a nice setting and an outdoor bar it was surprisingly empty for peak season (perhaps the prices had something to do with it).

There were very few staff but they were friendly and relaxed. However, given the sky-high prices we would have expected a higher service level. The environment is a great place to chill. The hotel is not pretentious and the vibe is definitely 'laid back Ibiza'.

This hotel clearly gets enough people prepared to pay its high prices and perhaps the setting is sufficient to take most traveller's minds of it. The villas, the pool area, the gardens and the general setting cannot be faulted and it is a real gem surrounded by attractive countryside (low hills). It is also not far from local services, and beaches like Cala Vedella and Cala Comte are roughly a 30 minute drive. We did look at one of the bedrooms in the main block but they seemed small and dark (traditional small windows) which was probably the reason the owner didn't want his bolshy customer to take one. Those who travel widely and stay in high value boutique hotels around the world will probably feel they were being taken for a ride on the price and we certainly were certainly left with a bad taste at being forced into a 'villa' at a considerable extra expense (we could have had a proper contemporary villa and pool for more days for the same price). Nonetheless, the hotel, grounds and pool were lovely. It would be perfect is they dropped their prices to sensible levels and stopped calling beds already in the room 'extra' beds for which unjustifiably high charges are made.

Room Tip: Villas are light and have good views, not sure the same can be said of bedrooms - ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for coming to Can Lluc and for your nice and positive comments regarding your stay with us.

We apologize for the possible misunderstanding on the booking process trough one external online booking engine.

The description and prices of the double superior room (2 people) with salon in the Booking.com web, is always advised for 2 people. In the description of the room ,it also explains the possibility of accommodating 2 people more, and the extra cost for this additional people.
The complete information is included and given to the customers on this web and also on our web http://www.canlluc.com/en/rural-accommodation-ibiza/superior-rooms . We always try to give the best and more transparent information to our guests.

The room you booked is in the old part of the Agroturismo is very nice and successful. It has a capacity for 2+2 and we have many guests that come back to Can Lluc every year and choose specifically this one.

We have informed you, after the booking process with booking.com, that there was an extra cost for 2 children and 1 adult (it was informed on booking confirmation too) and the capacity or space of the double superior room Casa de Baix (Nº 4=2+2).

At that period the room booked was available and it could be possible to have been used but there was not enough space for 5 and not possible to put a comfortable third bed in that unit.

The number of people composing your family supposed an extra cost according to the rates of 1.375,00 € for the additional 2 children and 1 adult.

Our proposal was to offer you and your family a bigger and more spacious unit ( specifically a free of charge upgrade to room nº 14) and reducing the price for the extra people ( in fact we offered you 1000,00 € additional for the whole stay and the 2 children and 1 adult= 66,66 €/media per person and per night). Only considering the upgrade we did, the extra cost would have been +1.237,50 €.

This upgrade was a compliment from the hotel. This unit 14 is even bigger that the detached villas.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we will be very glad to see you again in the near future.

Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Lucas Prats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

We enjoyed our 7 nights stay at Can Lluc and was very impressed with the location in the middle of the island ,we enjoyed the fact that staying at Can Lluc was like having your own country house and sharing with only a few other guest.
We loved the nature and the fact the owners are putting so much effort to keep the place up to standards with being modern with all the amenitys of a 5 star property.
But do not get mixed up ideas when I say this "as its a beautitful small property in natural surroundings at its best.We stayed in the standard room number 8 and it was perfect for us as a couple ,good size bed which was comfortable and a nice sized bathroom with very nice Hierbas De Ibiza products to use in the bathroom nice slippers and dressing gown to use if needed.We also would like to mention the mosquito net which being someone that gets bitten often was usefull to have .Loved the location of our room and the size was perfect.We loved the touches like the hammocks in the garden ,and the walk to the Balinese style bed high up in the hills where you had a nice view all the way over to the sea in San Antonio,we had a great breakfast every morning with a lovely view of the pool,We swam in the pool every day and was very comfortable on the loungers on the floor,we ordered cocktails and they where also excellent I must say .We would definitely return to stay as we enjoyed being in Ibiza and the countryside location was a plus for us.We did not have enough time to eat in the restaurant as we had booked other restaurants as it was August so planned ahead of our stay.We would like to recommend C an Pilot restaurant in the local village San Rafael which is 5 minutes away by car great meat and service please do try as it is a local place .

Room Tip: room 8 was nice and for standard.if you are spacial with your room size and like everything Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Suzzane,

Thanks for your complete review.

You describe very good Can Lluc and what it means for our guests: rooms, views, breakfast, bar service, comfort, situation, relax... It is really useful to help other travelers to decide holidays.

Thanks again! Hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Tina Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We recently spent a week at Can Lluc (pronounced by the locals "Can Yuuck" and signifying simply Lluc's house) because it was close to some friends who live in Sant Rafel, and because it is located close to the center of this small island and less than 20 minutes by car from the glories and excitement of Ibiza town, and about half an hour or so from most of the delightful beaches of the island. We were pleasantly surprised. I'd give 5-star+ ratings to the staff, Tamara and Jose in particular, who made us feel like invited guests.

On our second day we spent the entire afternoon on a boat cruising the beaches and islands near Sant Antoni de Abad. Delightful! But we didn't get back to the hotel until 10:30 pm, which was after the dining room had supposedly closed. Not to worry, said Tamara, we'll take care of you after you've showered. So at 10:50 pm we sat down to a lovely dinner served outside, and we we had the whole place to ourselves until after midnight. A few days later we asked if we could have a paella dinner for seven to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We chose the rooftop of the dining room, and staff set up the most beautiful table setting so we could watch the sunset all by ourselves. Dinner started with complimentary cava and delicious hors d'oeuvres, and ended with more cava and dessert. It was the best possible way we could have celebrated the occasion with friends.

The contrast between the quiet and peaceful luxury of the hotel and the frenetic nightlife of Ibiza only 12-20 minutes away was extreme and fascinating. It's possible to enjoy both. We spent a day walking around Ibiza, and then returned the following evening; the contrast between day and night is amazing. You must spend time walking around after midnight to fully appreciate the crowds, the music, the discos, and the dozens and dozens of super-luxury yachts moored everywhere. It's very easy to drive around the island, and our rental car was reasonably priced (~$50 per day). Best beach: Cala Bossa, don't miss it.

Room Tip: Villas are very secluded and more expensive. We had a "Superior" room next to the pool whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pichuyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Pichuyos,

Thanks for that great review. Thanks for sharing with other travelers, who probably will appreciate it. Thanks for explaning about our setting, our restaurant service, and our relaxing atmosphere. Thanks for sharing abour our nices sunsets from the roof terrace.

Thanks for comming to Can Lluc for your wedding anniverssary.

Best regards,

Lluc Prats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We booked a 4 night stay for a 50th birthday celebration and absolutely loved it. It was on a part of the island we hadn't stayed in before and found it very convenient for Ibiza town and other parts of the island. We got a free upgrade to a villa room and it was gorgeous, with views over the local countryside. The room was huge and very well appointed. The resort is made up of several low-rise blocks set in gorgeous gardens. The breakfast is outstanding! Possibly one of the nicest hotel breakfasts I've had in years. The whole place has a very relaxed vibe and we had a wonderful stay. Bed was really comfortable and the countryside setting meant we had really good sleeps every night. My only slight suggestion to the lovely owners would be to be a little 'less relaxed' when it comes to poolside service, we had to go looking for a member of staff on a few occasions. That said every member of staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Philip,

Thank you very much for your nice review, we really appreciate it.

We are glad that you spend such a pleasant holiday and motivates us to continue working for our guests.

Thanks for your suggestion, we will take in consideration.

As you could appreciate, we have a service bar with soft drinks, coctails, natural juices, etc, and many areas for our guests to relax: sometimes it is not easy for us to guess when our clients want bar service or when they want to sleep by the pool; in many occasions we do not want to disturb.

We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Tina Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Spent 5 days here after getting married in Granada Spain. Lovely luxurious hotel with amazing staff who were happy to recommend lots of places for us to visit. Great location near everything. Very quiet and secluded. Food was fantastic especially the breakfast. Complimentary bottle of Cava when we arrived was a really nice touch. We really hope to stay here again! Zoe and Jon

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear Zoe and Jon,

Congratulations for your wedding!

Ibiza is an amazing place to visit, and we are happy you shared your experience with other travelers.

We really appreciate your nice comments about Can Lluc, our breakfast, our location ( wich is really perfect to explore the island), and our welcome bottle of cava.

Hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,

Tina Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Very warm welcoming to this very nice authentic place. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, the restaurant very good and the breakfast excellent with a lot of homemade cakes, pastries, crepes,... Very comfortable area around the swimming pool. Excellent location close to many interesting sites on the island.

Room Tip: Avoid room n°9 just located on the breakfast terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank virginieruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Virginie,

Thank you very much for your review.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. it was nice to spend with you a time in the bar, speaking about the nice places you have visited.

Hope to see you again in Can Lluc in the near future.

Greetings to your family and have a nice summer!

Best regards from all our team,

Lucas & Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Super hotel, super friendly staff, great breakfast, excellent dinner with really high quality mediterranean food and Spanish wines. Very relaxing location, but close to Ibiza city, the clubs and the beaches. The rooms are not that big, but sufficient. With the beautiful weather at Ibiza, you will stay most of the time outside, so the size of the rooms are less important. We stayed for the second time at Can Lluc and it will not be the last time!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michiel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANLLUC, Propietario at Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Michiel S,

Thanks a lot for your review.

We are happy you stayed with us and happy to you share your opinion in Tripadvisor.

We like you have had a nice holiday. This is a part of our commitment! :)

If you would like to have a larger room next time, please ask to us for the Villa room type.

They are the more spacious and modern rooms in Can Lluc.

Warm regards from Can Lluc,

Tina Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
15.5 km away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
979 reviews
13.2 km away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
964 reviews
9.3 km away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#6 of 51 in Ibiza Town
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Agroturismo Ibiza Can Jaume
Agroturismo Ibiza Can Jaume
#2 of 2 in Puig d'en Valls
78 reviews
3.8 km away
Gatzara Suites Santa Gertrudis
Gatzara Suites Santa Gertrudis
#3 of 3 in Santa Gertrudis
45 reviews
11.9 km away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas

Address: Ctra. Sant Rafel a Santa Agnes km 2 | Camí des Tercet, 07816 San Rafael, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael
Price Range: $338 - $1,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of rural Ibiza, in the authentic Ibiza which awakens your senses, you will find Can Lluc, a small luxury boutique hotel.Can Lluc’s agritourism stands in the midst of a thick pinewood in a highly ecological area surrounded by exuberant nature, only a few kilometres from the delightful Ibizan coves and 10 Km from the cosmopolitan city of Ibiza, with its enticing nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Can Lluc Boutique Country Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agroturismo Can Lluc Hotel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing