We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yethouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newcastleton, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
howieScot...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Yet house, Last minute booking and we could not have been more lucky to find this lovely cottage. We were meet by Barbara on arrival who was able to provide us with lots of local information. There was myself, my partner and our dog and despite the house being able to accommodate a lot more people we still found the cottage to be cosy. The house was spotless and was very well equipped, modern but retaining the cottage feel. The enclosed garden was great for the dog and had beautiful views. Oh and not forgetting the lovely lemon drizzle cake freshly baked for our arrival,
Lots of walks directly from the cottage, Newcastleton woods great for letting the dog explore. We walked into the village where there are two dog friendly hotels, however we only eat in the Grapes Hotel and the food was lovely, We managed to also fit in trip to Kielder Forrest (recommended by Barbara) which is well worth a visit.
All in All excellent accommodation and place to visit .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house and area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and sampled our local delights. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the feel of the house, the location and the owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review for us. Delighted that the family enjoyed their stay. We have never been compared to Narnia before but our tagline is 'middle of nowhere, centre of everywhere', your review encapsulates exactly what we try to deliver our guests. Thank you for being so gracious. B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jan 2015
Thank you for sharing your experiences again. Delighted that the children were all able to see Santa on Christmas eve, made our Christmas as well! Looking forward to next time already. Best wishes B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wakey2703
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just spent a weekend at the Yethouse for a family get together. We had a fantastic time and only wish we could have stayed longer!
The house itself was perfect for two families with children and two furry friends. It was extremely well equipped and incredibly comfortable. We enjoyed lovely times next to the stove playing board games in the evening! There was nothing that we needed that wasn't there. The house was also decorated for Christmas and felt so warm and hearty.
We took the dogs to Newcastleton woods which is very nearby and it was perfect to allow them a good long run around.
To sum up how suitable this property is for a family holiday is impossible but suffice to say we will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated. Delighted that you enjoyed the house and wish to return, we look forward to seeing you all again.
Best wishes
B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
1 review
“Perfect weekend spent in a fabulous cottage”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Another great weekend at Yethouse! It was great to return - we love this place and really feel at home here.

The house is full of character and I always feel as if I haven’t spent enough time just relaxing and enjoying being in the house. In our two previous visits, we have never used the dining room or the parlour, so we were thrilled this time that our visit would present the opportunity to enjoy time in both rooms.

The weekend was to celebrate our parents’ ruby wedding and our party comprised 4 adults and two children. We had booked places for a Family Astronomy evening at Kielder Observatory (about 30 minutes’ drive away) which was well worth the visit. It was cloudy so we were not able to view the skies through the telescopes; nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed the engaging presentation, tour of the observatory and demonstration on how the telescopes work.

The highlight of the weekend, and the main element of surprise for our parents, was the private dining we had arranged for Saturday evening on our return from the observatory. It was made all the more special with Barbara’s assistance. Barbara had recommended a number of local catering people who would come to the cottage to cook for us. We chose Wild Dining www.wilddining.co.uk and were not disappointed.

On the Saturday evening, Barbara had arranged for the caterer to arrive while we were out, prepared the dining room – decorating it with our banners and balloons. She welcomed us on our return and suggested we enjoyed drinks in the parlour before dinner, thus maintaining an element of surprise for our parents (through bypassing the dining room). We acted on this suggestion, and I must say the parlour was a very pleasant room in which to enjoy our champagne (cooled in the top hat ice bucket provided).

We all enjoyed a fantastic evening, our parents were thrilled and overcome with the occasion, It was great not having to cook, or to clear up afterwards, and the meal prepared by our chef for the evening, Andy, was delicious.

I can’t believe it has been two years since we were last here – we are not going to leave it so long before our next visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
WOW! Thank you so much. It was a real pleasure to have you all back, more so that we were able to keep the surprise hidden till the key moment! It was a fun weekend for all and the chef was really pleased with your feedback. Thank you, see you in 2015 I hope! B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another return trip completed”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Another great week at Yethouse. From the lemon cake on arrival to the excellent views and log fire, it is just wonderful returning, this our third time and already booking for next year.

The house is great and all you would hope for from a luxury house for the week. For our family, what sets apart is the location. We spent all week (as usual) outdoors - walking is excellent, but what makes this place so special is the biking right from the door step. With mountain bike routes for all abilities (enough to keep me, my 8 year old and 5 year old all challenged) right from the house, there is always something to do.

And if you want a change of scene, then pop 25 mins up the road to Kielder Forest where there are enough trails to last you many many re-visits.

And this year, icing on the cake, 7Stanes/RockUK/Newcastleton have opened a new MTB route up to the forest from the village - the route is so well designed that all abilities can do the 'up', with the dips, berms and bumps on the way back down bringing a smile to every face.

Enjoy your stay - but don't book the weeks we want!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you for your most generous comments, it was lovely to have you all back. Delighted that the new trail extensions to the village have kept you challenged and that everyone enjoyed the Kielder activities as well. See you next year! B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Thank you! Shame you only came for a few days - plan for longer next time!
Best wishes
B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing