We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A great little B&B "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaria Rita - Mertola
Ranked #8 of 13 Mertola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had been driving around the town of Mertola looking for a place to stay and one of the locals recommended Hospedaria Rita. It is located off of the main road down a little side street, if you have a car as we did, it is best to leave the car parked on the main road overnight.We had no problem doing that. The hotel is spotless and very peaceful. Our room was facing the river, we had a small balcony and a fabulous view. The room was huge with an enormous King size bed, very modern decor and a small fridge and TV (portuguese channels only). In the a.m. I watched the shepherd bring down his flock of sheep from the mountain to graze closer to the river, their bells clanged as they ran, it was almost biblical and made my day!
The breakfast was excellent and the host's very pleasant (my party speaks Portuguese)so I'm not sure about whether they speak English or not and I don't think it would matter.

Room Tip: The room at the back of the house farthest from the front door. It has a King size bed and a privat...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tullahlula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaria Rita - Mertola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We found Rita's by chance as we drove around the village, great room overlooking the valley and river below... peacful and very quiet at night... car headlights in the distance, cicada's squeeking in the dark hills...lovely and very relaxing... The room was spacious and clean and it had its own balcony area. I conversed with the owner with sign language and even managed to get a late checkout...definately worthwhile and only 50euros a night!! The historic part of the village is worth the slight climb and the heat, it took us about 4 hours to walk around the various sites including a church, blacksmith, weavers house and roman ruins

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking over the river, some rooms appeared to face in the other direc...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The rooms and dining room were of the space-age -- enormous king bed, spacious rooms. Do not expect Portuguese decor or simplicity. Seemed to come out of a design magazine. Extensive breakfast in modern dining room. Hotel seems to be run entirely by a husband and wife, neither of whom speak any English but work extremely hard to please guests as best they can (the husband actually hosed off our rented car before we left). The view of the river and bridge aren't the most beautiful, but the hotel was well-situated for walking the rest of Mertola (which is probably the most interesting historic village you will find in Portugal). When we were there it was a city festival, with a rock concert in the castle (!), but our rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: make early reservations
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We could not fault this lovely B&B. We had a room with balcony overlooking the river, it was very relaxing and laid back. THe place was spotless, recently built with all modern conveniences. The room was large, and had a small fridge, the only one so far in Portugal. Breakfast was great, we had it on our balcony, but the breakfast room was beautifully set up too. We even had some port at night which was complimentary! Mertola is a great place to stay, and the route down to the Algarve is very scenic. The hosts are wonderful, we can't recommend this enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilyroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We have stayed in several places in Portugal but this pension is the best. It has a great view on the river and the old castle. The rooms are large, well equiped, good beds and modernly designed. Each room has his own colour. The nights were quiet and we slept well, especially with a cup of Erva-Luisa tea made by the host. If you want a litlle more privacy, like we did, you can also choose one of the rooms downstair where you can use your own kitchen. We were here in November and in the chilly evenings we were invited to sit in the cozey guestroom next to the fire. The hospitable hosts welcomed us warmly and friendly and made us feel at home during all our stay. We stayed here for five days but if we had more time.......
And last but not least, the prices of te rooms are low, compared with other pensions in this neighbourhood and considering the kind, well-giving hosts and the quality of the stay.

Regina and Adriaan from Holland

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julia28DenBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Hosperdaria Rita was one of our best stays in Portugal. New, clean, excellent service (minus the english). Wifi, great views from the balcony, spacious. TV was only 3 channels as per most of Portugal. Top value - $55e with breakfast - one of the best continental breakfasts on the continent !
S&S

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveSueColditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We were so lucky to come across Hospedeira Rita. We're a family with two young girls- 2 & 1 yrs old. The place is brand new. The view's amazing, overlooking the river. My daughter especially loves the hammock on the balcony. The room has a double bed, but the owner added a single bed for our daughter. Breakfast was lovely too. Halfway through, the owner came out with two tall glasses of fruit salad as a treat. Only downside is that they don't speak much English. We speak Portuguese... so it wasnt a problem. Check this lovely home out, you won't regret it..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mumster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mertola
32.7 km away
Pousada de Sao Gens
Pousada de Sao Gens
#1 of 1 in Serpa
16 reviews
0.3 km away
Residencial Beira Rio
Residencial Beira Rio
#4 of 13 in Mertola
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa da Tia Amalia
Casa da Tia Amalia
#6 of 13 in Mertola
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Museu
Hotel Museu
#2 of 13 in Mertola
198 reviews
1.0 km away
Quinta do Vau
Quinta do Vau
#1 of 13 in Mertola
74 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Rosmaninho
Casa Rosmaninho
#2 of 7 in Mertola
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaria Rita - Mertola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaria Rita - Mertola

Address: Azinhaga do Ti Serafim N 0., Mertola 7750-352, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Mertola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mertola
Price Range: $47 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hospedaria Rita - Mertola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing