We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay to relax and enjoy village life”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sivas, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
danielbea...
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay to relax and enjoy village life”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Agapi and Manolis are wonderful hosts and gave us a very warm welcome.
The house is 100 year old stone house, very tastefully renovated. It is equipped with everything you need.
We liked best the situation of the house almost in the centre of the village of Sivas. Although it is very quiet and relaxing. 2 small supermarkets and a few taverns are just around the corner, so you can get everything you need for your daily life easily. The best thing by far is to enjoy a drink in a traditional greek kafenion and have a small talk there with Kostas, who can give you hints and further information about the area.
Whatever your interest is: Some of the most impressive archeological sites of Crete, lovely beaches or outdoor activities are within a short drive by car.
If you like a quiet stay without the hassle of big tourist destinations and don't want to miss luxury accommodation, this is the place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert B
Kythera
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A little diamond hidden away in Cretan hills”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

For our Winter holiday, we had been looking for quit some time on the web for a nice traditional accommodation on Crete, somewhere outside the tourist regions. Actually it wasn’t easy to find something interesting, so when we saw Agapi holidayhouse in Sivas it was immediately clear, that's where we had to go.

The owners, Agapi and Manolis, did a fantastic job in renovating the old family house in the original style but with modern comfort. Every little detail was been thought of and really all the facilities you need for a perfect holiday are available. While it was cold outside (it was January) we enjoyed some great evenings with a glass of wine next to the woodstove.

Most of the coastline of Crete is completely ruined by excessive and ugly building but Sivas is still a very nice typical Greek village just a few kilometres land inwards. Although it only has a few hundred inhabitants, it is very lively. There are 2 small ‘supermarkets’ and it has cosy village square surrounded by kafenions and restaurants. Even in January every evening there were at least 2 restaurants open and often full with locals. From Sivas it is easy to walk to beaches like Matala, Komos (very nice beach) and Kalamaki. We hiked to the impressive archaeological sites of Phaistos and Agia Triada. And the nearby gorges of Agiafaraggo and Martsaliotiko are worth visiting. As Sivas is centrally located on the island, we were able to do daytrips to Heraklion, Rethymno, the Lassithi plain, Preveli (!) Knosos and Phaistos(!).

So if you are looking for a fantastic holiday on Crete, away from the tourist crowds, Agapi Holiday house is the place to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Marvellous stay to calm down and explore without artificial entertainment”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just passed a whole week in Agapi's holiday house and are happy to be still here. We have experienced an outstanding level of pre-booking information and agreement, felt right and just from the first contact onwards and the help and thoughtfulness exceeds by far out expectations and also earlier experiences elsewhere.

The house is spacious, tasteful as announced on the web, everything is clean, of high quality and makes sense - even for a young family with a toddler and an explorative 3-year-old. The first thought when we came in was that we would definitely return after our stay because everything was at least as nice as we hoped. It is clear the usability has been tested thouroughly and the place reflects a high value of comfort and overall well-being. We have been provided with firewood for the two ovens (in two seperate rooms) and wondered if we should leave the house, terrace and garden at all :-)

Even in December, you can find taverns within short walking distance which are open and offer an attractive menue and welcoming restaurant rooms, we even had the choice between two different, which was more than expected given the size of the place. It is a good alternative, although the kitchen is well-equipped and staying with the cook during preparation time can here be a cosy, comfy and sofa-involving.

What we like best is the missing tourist hazzle, the realness of a place where people have their homes and jobs, daily life. The absence of big city features is what we have been looking for and what we found. The water in the sea at Kalamaki was still so warm that we should have tried more than lower limbs bathing. Furthermore, we could witness the shared activity of the cretan people during olive harvest and could participate in orange picking. Within reasonable time even people with small kids find places to visit - some are shown on the pictures of this advisory entry.

Actually, there is nothing we don't like here at the house. The casual mosquitos - even on a warm December day - have been taken into consideration by a mosquito net and other items, so becoming bitten turns out to be a matter of our own laziness before going to bed.
We could proceed praising a long list of details but to know that any concern mentioned to the friendly landlord is taken care of instantly and very willingly might do at this stage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: high standard of house, equipment and comfort items, space, view, calmth
Liked least: lack of time
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kretafan1...
Kiel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi_Stra...
Strasbourg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cat s
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencee...
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: L'authenticité de la maison et l'accueil chaleureux de nos hôtes
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing