We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to base yourself in Champagne”
Review of Villa Primerose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Primerose
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place to base yourself in Champagne”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our party of four needed a place to stay where we could base ourselves as we discovered the Champagne region in September last year. I was heavily pregnant (designated driver!) and we had two cars.

We couldn't have asked for a better place. The building itself was a lovely work in progress for the very approachable and knowledgable owner. The breakfast was great. He had an excellent little guide to the region and his restaurant recommendation for a wonderful small place a short drive away was fantastic - degustation menu to die for!

Ample parking and lovely grounds. The only issue (no fault of the VIlla) was there were places to eat within walking distance but they were very average.

A great holiday thanks to Villa Primrose.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the gardens and one that gets the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    80
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
40
171
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Villa Primerose is a romantic and magical place. It is conveniently located to many historic and beautiful areas, as well as all of your daily needs in regards to the charming town of Arcis sur Aube. Charles co-owns the historic chateau with his wife, and is extremely accommodating, gracious and kind. He has an easy nature and is quite knowledgable about activities and events. The building itself is something out of a fairytale. Breakfast is delightful and wifi internet is free. It is perfect for honeymooners, families and those looking to be inspired. My fiancé and I have some of our fondest memories of this place and would heartily recommend it to any traveler from any country.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We spent a night here with our son, daughter-in-law, and 2 granddaughters, ages 10 and 15. My husband and I had the Troyes room, which looks out on the garden area. It was furnished in an interesting mix of classical and nouveau and had a large bathroom as well as a small porch off to the side. Our son's room was the Reine room on the 3rd floor and next to it was the Mini-Reine room with twin beds for the girls. They loved the bright pink wall covering and the little window overlooking the front courtyard. Charles was a delightful host. He welcomed us with cookies and a homemade rose water drink on arrival and detailed the history of the house. He also guided us in choosing a dinner spot. Breakfast in the morning was memorable from the best croissants and homemade jams to the artistic table settings. I would go out of my way to return to Villa Primerose.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Our traveling group of 8 adults - family and friends - stayed at Villa Primrose for 5 days in October. It was well located to tour the Champagne region and the property was very charming. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast room (and the meal itself) was great and the lounge area provided a comfortable spot to plan and regroup. The best thing about Vila Primrose is the owner/host Charles. He is a delight - charming and most helpful. He prepared a detailed itinerary for us daily, recommended restaurants we would never have found ourselves. When we returned from our touring he welcomed us with champagne and even gamely tried our 'strange' non-alcohol wine. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this spot and hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjjxxxvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The house was built for the president of a 19th century Brewery. Now the Brewery is gone and the area is now built with new houses. The new houses are not to my taste. But you soon forget that when you enter into the beautifull hall. The room is also large and filled with antiques and period furniture. The owners are very friendly and happy to tell you about the history of the house and advise you were to dine etc.
You are also welcome to have a drink in the lounge.
We only stayed here for one night, so could not really comment on what to do in the area. But it is just 20 minutes fom Troyes, which is a very nice town.
Breakfast is typically French, but cheeses and yoghurt are also offered, aswell as fruitjuce.
Really good value for money we feel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doucefrance_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Beautiful Grande Maison, charming (and slightly eccentric in the nicest possible way) host, wonderful home made jams and cakes to compliment the breakfast. A really enjoyable stop over. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked the Villa Primerose as a stop over on our way to South of France. My wife, two sons (21 and 19) and I received a very warm welcome, provided with all the information you would want and shown to our rooms.
As we were up on off early the next morning we asked for breakfast earlier than usual, Charles was very accommodating and even rang the baker to organise the fresh bread and pastries. In the morning we saw Charles shooting off to meet the baker on his rounds just for us!
The breakfast was lovely and set us up for the journey ahead.
The Villa Primerose is an ideal base to explore the region or as a stop over.
Thank you Charles

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenG089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcis sur Aube
26.0 km away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
26.9 km away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
24.4 km away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
24.5 km away
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
#2 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
26.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Golf & Spa De La Foret D'Orient
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Primerose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Primerose

Property: Villa Primerose
Address: 94 rue Saint Remy, 10700 Arcis sur Aube, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Arcis sur Aube
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arcis sur Aube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Primerose 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Champagne, near Troyes and shopping outlets, the Villa Primerose offers accommodation in a particular hotel offering luxury and comfort. Our 5 bedrooms have got 4 keys assigned by the Committee for Tourism in Champagne. Moldings, wainscoting, wood floors, high ceilings and fireplaces are part of the decor of the rooms of this mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Primerose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing