We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Place”

Crown, Hungry Horse
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Claydon
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Crown is part of the Hungry Horse pub brand, with an outstanding reputation for great sports viewing, a great selections of drink, value food and regular entertainment. So whether you want to watch sports, enjoy a pint with mates, or you'll always be welcome - so pop down and tuck in! Whatever you're hungry for, come hungry.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The landlord was friendly with people leaving and entering the place. And the food was great. Just unfortunate the place is in need of some money spent on the interior

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JDL93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival it was disappointing as the pub is desperately in need of updating, interior is tired and grubby. The ladies toilets look like something has tried to eat it's way through the cubicle walls. We were debating whether to stay or go as the table next to us were returning their food . We decided to stay and were glad we did. The food was of a good Hungry horse standard and arrived promptly, no complaints about the food, we got exactly what is expected from a Hungry Horse. They did forget the fishcske from the fish platter but I'm sure if we had pointed this out it would have been rectified. They were changing the syrup on the draft coke and apologised and replaced the drinks.
We probably won't return until the pubs interior has been refreshed.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Haven't been in for a while but the pub management has changed so decided to go back. Fabulous atmosphere, staff are friendly, efficient and professional.It was really busy but got served more or less straight away. Food is very reasonable and excellent quality.The cocktails are good too.
Children clearly enjoying the play equipment in the garden, its great for families with an extensive menu and plenty of choice.
Some bad behaviour in the car park, dealt with swiftly and decisively by the landlord with no fuss at all.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michellekirk2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Great place for a quick nosh-up. Extensive menu to sort all tastes, as you'd expect from any Hungry Horse pub (they're all the same, aren't they?) Staff are friendly and efficient, food is well prepared and the beer (ale) is excellent! (Make your own minds up about lager- I don't drink that! But I'm sure it's equally good).

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank StuML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Food was perfect and staff were friendly and service was brilliant. Food was just right we had chicken BBQ sauce, chips,Peas, onion rings and tomato. Enjoyed the meal definitely eat here again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown, Hungry Horse also viewed

 

Been to Crown, Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing