We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Trewythen Hotel(Llanidloes)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unicorn Hotel(Llanidloes)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Clochfaen(Llanidloes)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Idloes House(Llanidloes)
Trewythen Lodges(Llanidloes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
15
17
11
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
17
11
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and coffee making facilitiesclean towelsfriendly pubnothing fancynext morningensuite bathroomlovely breakfaststayed for nightsplace to stayjameshounddog
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 52 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

Unfortunately we didn't get off to a good start as the bar attendant checked our booking(without any initial greeting!) & eventually confirmed we were in room 5 -which was in the annex at the rear of the pub! He couldn't find the correct key & on the 4th attempt he let us in! The disappointment began then! The room was very dark & dreary, with hardly any daylight coming from a completely sealed window( no fresh air either) so the only light had to come from a massive metal ceiling light( which vibrated with every footstep from the room above)! In the bathroom there was no toilet roll holder & 2 half-used tiolet rolls on top of the radiator. We decided not to shower, as the shower head was clogged with lime scale & what looked like mould & the very thin towels were fraying & had old stains on them!!
Regrettably, this is the first time I have ever had to give a negative review.We paid £68 for the night, but whatever the cost may have been, I feel that certain basic standards should be obligatory!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Nice clean quite large rooms. Nice ensuite bathroom.
Comfortable clean beds.
Friendly staff, good service with a lovely breakfast.
Good location . Quiet but good location fot town centre.
A friendly pub too for a nice relaxed evening.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Comfortable and clean for my daughter and grandchildren food looked good. Popular with the local and has a decent pool table. The noise from the pub could be a little intrusive but we felt the hotel good value never the less.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

What a fantastic welcome awaited us at the Mount Inn! We arrived earlier than stated check-in time, and were greeted cordially by a member of staff who informed us that our rooms (3) were ready and we could check in immediately. Rooms were very comfortable and clean with tea and coffee making facilities and free toiletries. We had requested an accessible room for one of our party who is in a wheelchair, and this room was perfect with everything she needed to make her stay comfortable. We were attending a family funeral that afternoon and returned to the Mount in the evening. None of us wanted dinner so after looking at the menu we asked if we could instead buy a few small items to share as platters. We then ordered a selection of hot 'nibbles' which were plentiful and tasty. Nothing was too much trouble here, and staff were friendly and very accommodating. Similar experience the following day at breakfast (which was lovely), and checking-out time, everybody went the extra mile to do all they could for us. This is a lovely old pub with rooms, so expect a few creaking floorboards from above if you are on the ground floor, but this did not in any way detract from what was a very pleasant stay. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the town. Thanks to all staff for your hospitality and welcome!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank margarett108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

I booked this hotel for myself and 5 friends for 3 days. We arrived on a Sunday evening and were disappointed to find that the restaurant was closed. However my room was reasonably appointed apart from a broken blind in the bathroom and a toilet which did not flush. There wasn't any soap or toiletries but these were provided when we asked for them. The room had not been vacuumed and the waste bins in the bedroom and en-suite had not been emptied. We went to the bar for a drink but some very drunk customers put us off staying for more than 1 drink. Breakfast was nominally served between 8.30 and 9.00 am. Since we had a full days walking ahead of us we asked for an 'early' breakfast the next morning at 8.00 am. When we came down just before 8 the hotel was locked and we could not get in. Eventually at about 8.05 we got a response to the door bell and were shown to the restaurant. Cereals and milk were laid out but no bowls. Since there was no one in the dining room a member of our group collected some from the kitchen but got told off for his efforts. Then we found no spoons had been laid. After all of that, when breakfast came it was fine and the manager said that he would deal with the non-flushing loo.
When we got back from walking in the evening the toilet had improved although it still wouldn't flush at first attempt. The towels had been changed but everything else in the room was exactly as we left it - beds not made, bins not emptied and floor obviously not vacuumed. Breakfast the next day was trouble-free although there was a queue of customers waiting for the door to be unlocked at 8.00am.
In the evening the state of the bedroom was still the same - clean towels but no cleaning, bins still unemptied and beds untouched.
In fairness, everything we asked for was dealt with but too much of the basic details were simply not being watched and shouldn't depend on the customer asking for them to be put right. With a little bit of proactive management and quality control of minor, but basic, detail this inn could be very nice. A pity it wasn't during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrChips186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews