We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
15
18
11
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
18
11
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea and coffee making facilities clean towels friendly pub nothing fancy next morning ensuite bathroom lovely breakfast place to stay james dog
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 54 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We drove through mid Wales from Chepstow towards Snowdonia, and this was a convenient stop through very attractive, sparsely populated scenery. The town didn't sound very enticing, but I was pleasantly surprised when I explored the town center. The pub was very busy and friendly, with excellent food and a good selection of craft beers. The sleeping accomodation is in an annex behind the hotel, and was perfectly adequate. Nothing fancy, but comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Overall, it was good value and an enjoyable place to stay. The owner, James, was very pleasant and full of suggestions about routings to follow as we drove north.

Room Tip: All located in an annex behind the pub. Quiet and decent size room. Had to climb outside steps to reach our room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank iljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

Unfortunately we didn't get off to a good start as the bar attendant checked our booking(without any initial greeting!) & eventually confirmed we were in room 5 -which was in the annex at the rear of the pub! He couldn't find the correct key & on the 4th attempt he let us in! The disappointment began then! The room was very dark & dreary, with hardly any daylight coming from a completely sealed window( no fresh air either) so the only light had to come from a massive metal ceiling light( which vibrated with every footstep from the room above)! In the bathroom there was no toilet roll holder & 2 half-used tiolet rolls on top of the radiator. We decided not to shower, as the shower head was clogged with lime scale & what looked like mould & the very thin towels were fraying & had old stains on them!!
Regrettably, this is the first time I have ever had to give a negative review.We paid £68 for the night, but whatever the cost may have been, I feel that certain basic standards should be obligatory!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Nice clean quite large rooms. Nice ensuite bathroom.
Comfortable clean beds.
Friendly staff, good service with a lovely breakfast.
Good location . Quiet but good location fot town centre.
A friendly pub too for a nice relaxed evening.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Comfortable and clean for my daughter and grandchildren food looked good. Popular with the local and has a decent pool table. The noise from the pub could be a little intrusive but we felt the hotel good value never the less.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

What a fantastic welcome awaited us at the Mount Inn! We arrived earlier than stated check-in time, and were greeted cordially by a member of staff who informed us that our rooms (3) were ready and we could check in immediately. Rooms were very comfortable and clean with tea and coffee making facilities and free toiletries. We had requested an accessible room for one of our party who is in a wheelchair, and this room was perfect with everything she needed to make her stay comfortable. We were attending a family funeral that afternoon and returned to the Mount in the evening. None of us wanted dinner so after looking at the menu we asked if we could instead buy a few small items to share as platters. We then ordered a selection of hot 'nibbles' which were plentiful and tasty. Nothing was too much trouble here, and staff were friendly and very accommodating. Similar experience the following day at breakfast (which was lovely), and checking-out time, everybody went the extra mile to do all they could for us. This is a lovely old pub with rooms, so expect a few creaking floorboards from above if you are on the ground floor, but this did not in any way detract from what was a very pleasant stay. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the town. Thanks to all staff for your hospitality and welcome!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank margarett108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews