We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Two Welsh yurts

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Welsh and Black Yurt set in their own paddock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The Welsh and Black Yurt set in their own paddock
Path down to Yurts
Fire pit for the welsh yurts
Interior - white yurt
Woodburner in white yuirt
Soay sheep with twin lambs
View at top of path to yurts
Thatched Barn
The Farmhouse
Evening meal
Cheeses in cellar
The bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
siwazzer
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One of the best short breaks we've had ever. 3 nights away from it all was just what we needed. Fran has created a tranquil haven in this beautiful part of Wales. The two Welsh yurts housed our 4 children, dog and us in rustic comfort. Cooking on the open fire pit and on the old Red Bus Merlin is something we'll always remember. Children and their dog roamed untethered from technology at last. Fran welcomed us to stay in her beautiful clean yurts decorated with wild flowers and old furniture. A lovely touch being a bowl full of fresh eggs from her lovely chickens and a bottle of delicious home made wine.

If you seek to get away from modern living this is the place for you. If you're after perfection it's not. The compost toilets didn't smell at all and the solar shower was surprisingly good! Go, enjoy and relax. We'll be back I so hope...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatweare
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A positive experience but not returning.”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here with our children 5 and 8, granny and the dog, for a weekend. The two welsh yurts were very comfortable and the welcome we got was also lovely with touches like cake, wine and beautiful flowers. We had a relaxing holiday concentrating on collecting wood for the campfire, walks and buying and cooking tasty food. We all slept well and the stars were amazing. The kids enjoyed the freedom and swing, trampoline, watching the cow being milked ( I did laugh at the comment regarding the dirty cow! Udders are washed before milking but the cow did not have any personal hygiene issues!) We were using a hastily set up kitchen which was perfectly adequate and clean. It was a great experience to see how self sufficiency works but if you have a stuffy mind set go somewhere else. Worst points were a smell from the septic tank I think that wafted between our yurts from time to time, this would have bothered me if we were staying for longer, we tried to ignore it. Also the pullets in the small run by the house were too cramped and not cleaned out enough, no bedding and I saw a load of very mouldy food being eaten by them which as we know what goes into a chicken comes out in the eggs at some point, having kept chickens myself I know this is not good husbandry so we just didn't eat the eggs. Not planning to return due to the smell mainly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
647sue19
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the welsh yurts we were very happy when first arrived but soon started to see too many negatives , firstly the positives great location children enjoyed it no internet so quality family time the negatives I know it is a working farm but the cow she'd is very dirty not sure if ever cleaned the chicken run is filthy & smelly no chicken feed and stagnant water , Merlins bus is for families to cook & eat firstly the compost toilet is next to bus it is extremely dirty and there are so many safety problems electrics etc , if the farm is to be used for family holidays than safety should be a priority.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mummyof4b...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic! Feel recharged and refreshed!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got home from a week at Old Chapel Farm staying in the 'Two Welsh Yurts'.

I had been looking for somewhere peaceful where, as a family, we could step away from all the technological distractions at home and really spend some quality time together.

Well, I picked the right place! Old Chapel Farm is a tranquil, self sufficient paradise. The surroundings are beautiful and the farm itself was breathtaking. Although, there is a lot to do in the area, my family and I opted to spend the majority of our time at the farm or walking in the surrounding area. Our boys are four very technologically-minded boys ranging from 3 to 18 and they all loved it and didn't complain once about missing their laptops or xboxs and you really can't get a better recommendation than that!!

In terms of the Yurts, they were wonderful. The large white Yurt was spacious and light and comfortably housed my husband and I and our three youngest boys (and our energetic Shih Tzu).The beds were comfortable and I loved the added touches which made the Yurt really special - a wood burner, lanterns which when lit at night made for a very romantic aura, solar fairy lights around the yurt which made sure that if any of the children woke in the night they were not frightened. I loved the homemade bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival and the fresh flowers, fruit and eggs from the farms very own hens. Everything was thought of and it really made it even more special for us.

The smaller yurt housed two members of our family and was a warm and wonderful environment.

Our Yurts were situated in our own private paddock which was gated which was great for keeping an eye on our three year old and the puppy. Also, in our enclosure, we had a 12 foot trampoline (which mum, dad and kids loved!) and a small hut which housed a compost toilet in one section and a small gas stove (handy for morning coffee!) in the other. A favourite with the whole family was our own fire put where we lit a camp fire every evening.

In terms of cooking, Merlin's Bus is fully kitted out with a gas cooker, Rayburn, toaster, fridge, freezer, and all the necessary pots and pans and crockery and cutlery. We loved the bus and cooked and ate most of our meals in there.

All in all, all I can say is thank you Fran, we had the most wonderful week. I would highly recommend Old Chapel Farm to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly atmosphere and beautiful location
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing