We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
132
11
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
11
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef gregor solar power the main house mother nature perfect summer stand up paddle boarding finnish sauna natural beauty yoga retreat vegan options tranquil setting other guests beautiful lake full moon studio cabin winter retreat power lines
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 150 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending a few days Off The Grid, at Northern Edge Algonquin! I was there for a "Tourism Best Practice Mission"." Experiential Tourism" at it's finest !!! From start to finish Todd Lucier and his wonderful staff, made us feel like family. His staff are also treated like family and it shows in the constant smiles on all their faces. Chef Gregor served up some amazing dishes with an almost poetic description before each meal. Guides Kim and Jeff also made us feel at home in their beautiful log cabin which was rebuilt by Chef Gregor. Gregor is a real jack of all trades, his incredible stone work can be found throughout the various buildings, including an outdoor pizza oven, lovingly named "Rocky". Although it snowed the whole time we were there it was Christmas Card perfection. We were cozy and warm in all of the buildings. Some of the highlights were the wood fired sauna and jumping into the lake where Todd had cut a hole in the ice. Very refreshing to say the least !!! Making our own pizza in Rocky was a real treat. Snow shoeing and hiking though the maples and hemlocks made for some great photos. Thanks for an experience I shall never forget.

Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Thank you for you note Cameron. Hope your summer is rewarding and that you've been able to apply your learning at the Edge!
~ Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2014

It was an amazing experience at the EDGE, where do I start.... lets say when you stay at a place and hug the staff its awesome. When halfway through your meal you get up and hug the chef it is also cool. When you know everyone's name the first day its memorable. Thanks to Todd, Martha & Tim, Jeff & Kim, Gregor & Vicki...AKA...Darling it was an amazing experience and being away from all the distractions of TV, cellphones, and internet is freeing. Its a real combination of many things that make this place unique, freeing, and memorable. Hate to tell you too much, it may spoil your experience living on the EDGE. THANKS EVERYONE HAD A BLAST.

Room tip: Take a swimsuit, the sauna is amazing.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2014

PEIPerry, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We loved hosting you for an early taste of winter adventure at the Edge. It means a lot to the team that you appreciate the efforts everyone made to ensure you had a memorable stay.

Cheers!
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2014

This past fall, we brought a group of Indigenous students to Northern Edge for a Leadership Conference. In taking students out of the western world, away from social media and modern conveniences, we are better able to teach our traditions and connect to the environment. We value the Northern Edge as it offers a disconnect to the hustle and bustle of our life in the urban setting. We were able to experience the Spiritual geography and it's relation to our peoples. This approach is vital to being "one with our Mother, the Earth." The land is vital to our teachings and we acknowledged how lucky we were to be able to come together and connect and learn in this way. Northern Edge is an amazing place with great staff, great meals and beautiful surroundings. Thanks you so much, this is an experience the staff and students will always hold with them.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2014

Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for sharing the story of your visit with your young people. We enjoyed creating the space for you to take your students to the Edge for a memorable experiential learning experience.

We hope you can visit again soon!

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2014

Ive been into Recovery/Healing, Peace searching, for most of my life.
Ive done Step groups, Religion, self help gurus, Rehab centers, doctors, therapists and Adrenalin rushes.
At the 'Edge' and the Shamanism Training program ,
I was taught to tap into Humanities ageless deep well of Spirituality
like never before.
Its been a week since the Training and iaM more balanced and content then ever.
From the very cozy cabins, to the gourmet all local natural cuisine,
to the breathtaking country lakeside setting,
to the totally caring and eclectic staff,
everything was Topnotch and far exceeded my expectations.
I will be returning to an Educational/Spiritual, Heart felt experience most definitely to continue Training.
If its your Life that you want to Change for the better,
I highly recommend the 'Edge'.
.eric esko jalonen.♡
Parry Sound ont can.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericeskojalonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Hi Eric,
Thank you for your visits and taking the time to share your reflections.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2014

I am a 21 year old girl and really want to reach out to the younger population when I say do not overlook this amazing place! This place is beautiful, spiritual, fun as all hell and just so homey. I adore this place. I experienced stand up paddle boarding for the first time and canoed on the most gorgeous lake! The areas in which you eat and do yoga in are so beautiful and the food is to die for! Take the time to enjoy this place and jump in with both feet. The staff will not disappoint you they are the kindest and most welcoming people!

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinG1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Hi Robin,
Thank you for writing to encourage younger people to consider a visit to Northern Edge Algonquin. We host a number of young folks throughout the year and some of them are inspired to take on a career in outdoor adventure, ecotourism or go into environmental careers.

We hope your visit still brings up good memories. We hope you come and visit us again some time in the future.

All the best,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews