We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
129
11
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
11
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolar poweryoga retreatwinter retreateco tourismgregorcanoecabinhostslakesawe
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 147 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2015

I had a wonderful time @ Northern Edge the beginning of June to attend a Yoga Retreat and what a magical weekend it was. The beautiful surroundings right on a lake with nooks, restful areas to reflect,go within & contemplate. Which is just what I did. Plus swimming in the lake @ 4:30 in the morning under a full moon with the am mist at a distance then followed by dawn yoga & breakfast was just bliss. A dream place to just turn off completely and just be. The staff were all very welcoming and
friendly. The food was superb. The accommodation in the cabins were more than adequate.Was sad to leave will just have to go back again.

Janine Rhodes, Ottawa

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2015

Hi Janine,
Thank you for sharing your story. We hope everyone feels at home with us as you do. We look forward to a future visit.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2015

Northern Edge Algonquin is like a home away from home. At least that's how the Lucier's and the staff of Northern Edge make you feel. From the moment you arrive, to the moment you leave -- you are family.

There is plenty to do and see and experience while at the edge. Activities include sauna, water sports (kayak, canoe, SUP), crafting in the steward's shop, gardening, relaxing, hiking, yoga, campfire etc etc etc. The food is divine and a true expression of the slow food movement. Made from locally sourced organic ingredients Gregor makes your taste buds come alive with the perfect combination of flavour, spice, and love. #trustinthegregor. Family style dining reconnects you not only to the people around you, but the pleasure of dining and conversation!

If you prefer to be closer to nature, the canvas cabins are the best choice, but if you need a washroom during the night, pay the extra $$ for a cabin (peat eco toilet, running water). Go to the edge, push yourself to the limits and see how much you can accomplish in just a few short days.

Driving Tip: Just keep driving, follow the signs, eventually you will find your way to paradise. When you think about turning back, keep going forward, eventually you will arrive at the edge.

Other tips: Bring lots of eco-friendly bug spray (mosquitos are hungry!), a flashlight (you have never seen darkness like this before), and bathing suit/towels for the sauna and swimming in one of the best lakes ever!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Meaghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Hi Meaghan,
Our home is your home! Thank you for sharing the #trustingregor tag. He is certainly a special character who brings much flavour to mealtime . . . and not just in the food he presents.

We hope to see you again soon.

~ Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2015

I had the pleasure of visiting this location for the first time during a spiritual retreat centred around yoga, meditation, great food and fantastic accommodations. The entire experience is so well integrated with themes of ecological awareness, aboriginal spirituality, healthy eating, outdoor experiences, pushing one's boundaries and whatever mix of solitude and togetherness suits you.

I am so hopeful to return. It's like visiting the world's best cottage in a stunning location, totally unplugged and oh so enjoyable. Special thanks to the Lucier family, Chef Gregor, Gwenith, Carly and Vicki for such a phenomenal adventure and growth opportunity!

Room Tip: Well worth the extra cost to have a cabin with a small indoor bathroom included (composting toilet and running water in the sink).
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiFan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Edge on TripAdvisor. . . and thank you for your words of wisdom #trustinthegregor!

WE certainly do!
Gregor's level of care in the kitchen is a vital part of the guest experience at the Edge.

We hope you can visit again soon.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2015

The Northern Edge is an absolutely beautiful magical place! We had such an amazing yoga retreat weekend with Devinder Kaur and everything was perfect. The cabins are beautiful, the setting and surroundings are gorgeous and the food was AMAZING! I also love the sauna and will definitely go back again - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Hi Lynn,
Thank you for writing to share your experience of staying at the Edge for a recent retreat experience. We do our best to ensure guests like you have a meaningful and memorable stay at our Algonquin Park home.

We hope to see you again soon,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 17, 2015

The location was great and set the tone for an awesome, inspiring ,fun filled weekend. The food was divine prepared by Gregor the resident chef. Every meal was a gastronomical delight , fresh, organic and prepared with love. The sauna was energizing . There were little spots on the property for reflection, appreciation of nature. The lake was good for bathing and sharing the water with the loons.The bungalows were rustic. It is in the wilderness so you may wish to walk with citronella to repel the mostquitoes

I tried my hand at paddle boarding on the lake with our group

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlesbycanoe, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Thank you for sharing the story of your early summer retreat with Carly.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews