We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Algonquin Motel(South River)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nipissing Inn(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Garry Motel & Cottages(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Suites(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lincoln Inn(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham North Bay(North Bay)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
129
11
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
11
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolar poweryoga retreatwinter retreateco tourismgregorcanoecabinhostslakesawe
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 147 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Just got back from Northern Edge Algonquin, Coldest weekend of the year, our studio cabin was warm and cozy! Food was absolutely amazing, thank you GREG. Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing all first class equipment, and instructions. Kim and Jeff, great people, very passionate about their lifestyle. Don't worry about the composite toilets, solar panels, it's an adventure not to be missed. We did not see Moose, too cold for them LOL Lines were installed as promised to dry clothes. A lot of work goes into making all guests comfortable and I can tell you, we all were and all was done seamlessly From the young folks in their 20's to the ones in their 50's and in between, we all had a GREAT time. Thank you all!!

Room Tip: For cold winter days, I would recommend the private studio rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catherine155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2016

Hi Catherine,
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the care our team provides. Glad you tried out the drying lines!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2016

This is the 3rd time I have been to The Edge for a retreat. The moment I step onto this sacred land, I feel renewed. The energy here is incredible and so nourishing for the mind, body and soul! Attention to detail is found in every corner, from the warm, cosy beds, to the immaculately prepared gourmet meals. To every item displayed on the walls to a book case I could spend months pouring over...
Thank you to Martha and Tim, to Jeff and Gregor and to all the incredible staff that make coming to the edge a truly special experience.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2016

Thank you Toria.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Just got back from the "Making Tracks" program at Northern Edge Algonquin - my husband and I both *really* enjoyed it! While it's cold with a bit of snow in Toronto now, we haven't had much winter weather so far this year, so figured we'd head up north to get some winter activities in and we sure did that. From snow shoeing to x-country skiing and a little bit of skating - we were on the go all day.

We were well 'fuelled' with fantastic food! Their chef is really amazing and uses locally grown / raised ingredients as much as possible.

We were in one of the studio cabins - it's pretty basic but clean and warm and lots of space (only suggestion for improvement here would be a few more hooks to hang clothes on to dry out after the day's activities).

Kim and Jeff were our guides and they were pretty amazing too! Very friendly and their knowledge of the area and stories shared while guiding the activities was really interesting.

Overall this was a really excellent getaway and one we'll likely do again!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Hi Deirdre,
Thank you for visiting and sharing backcountry winter adventures with us at the Edge.
You'll be happy to know that this week we're putting indoor clothes lines into the studio cabins to help folks dry their things after playing in the snow.

How's that for responding to guest needs? It's how we roll in Winter, Ontario, Canada!
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

All the best,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

We had a super experience at Northern Edge. Jeff and Kim were so down to earth that we didn't feel self conscious about our limited outdoorseyness. Although our Wolf call wasn't successful it was a nice outing to learn about the park and wolves. We learnt to canoe and were also able to join the group canoeing activity. We also paddle boarded. The location was brilliant. we stayed in a cabin with a toilet. It was spacious and comfy. Our compost toilet was clean and did not smell. There is a main area with showers and flush toilets where drinks and snacks are available all day. The meals are served in the main house where the owners live. One of the highlights of our stay was the amazing and inventive meals created by Chef Gregor. Absolutely outstanding. We have noted that the website has been updated since we stayed and now does give information about the food. We had a number of questions when we were first booking but luckily we had super service on the live chat which resulted in us booking immediately. We particularly enjoyed the evening where we cooked pizzas outdoors and Kim and Jeff told us about life in the outdoors and showed us bones, teeth etc of local animals. The other guests were really nice and mealtimes and activities were fun and friendly. The sauna was an unexpected treat. The only suggestions would be that one afternoon a thunderstorm hitband there were no activities for the rest of the day so it might have been nice for an organised activity in Points North and secondly more gear available in the shop as we would have bought more had there were only a couple of each style available.
We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank pugdoggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Well what a wonderful surprise in the deep winter to receive your story of your summer adventure - connecting with nature, our extended family! We all appreciate you taking a few moments to share your story. We always look for ways to improve our guests experience. If you have a few moments to say "Hi" we monitor our instant chat window most days Monday to Friday so visitors can ask questions or learn more about upcoming experiences at our Algonquin Park home.

All the best,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Friday morning and learned how to mush from the Head Dog Masher, Mr Ed. A lovely guy and the dogs were well fed and looked after. And the rest? Food wonderful, check. Staff friendly, knowledgable, hardworking and fun to be with, check. A range of great activities, including snowshoeing, skiing, walking, drumming, sauna and snow diving, recipe swapping and local beer and wine sampling - all aided by sumptuous meals lovingly cooked using local fresh ingredients by Greg. Great that local growers and farmers are being supported!

Kim and Jeff made us feel so welcome - thanks to all the team at Northern Edge, we will be back!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BellaandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Hi BellaandKat,
We are so happy you could join us in Winter, Ontario, Canada - aka, Algonquin Park. We super appreciate you taking the time to share your story on TripAdvisor too. We'll pass on your well wishes and look forward to your next visit!

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews