We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
132
11
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
11
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef gregor solar power the main house mother nature perfect summer stand up paddle boarding fabulous experience natural beauty finnish sauna tranquil setting other guests beautiful lake full moon vegan options studio cabin winter retreat power lines
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 150 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Kieran and Alissa made this a fantastic trip for our family of 2 adults and kids aged 4 and 7. I was a bit nervous having neither canoed or camped before but no need, it was brilliant. The park is beautiful and so peaceful. The kids loved the whole experience and it was really tailored to take into account their ages and interests. I would hugely recommend it too anyone.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank ckwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Thank you for your visit and your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your family adventure canoe trip in our nature wonderland with Kieran and Alissa. They are shining stars.

Cheers!
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We cannot highly recommend this wilderness experience enough. This was the highlight of our holiday in Canada and Alaska.
From the wonderful welcome from Jeff, to all the activities: cycling trails, hiking Moose trail, a day canoe trip, kayaks, paddle boarding, swimming, real wood burning sauna, rest and relaxation in the tranquil setting, hunting moose, and the delightful talk from Jeff sharing all his knowledge and precious artefacts, topped off with the famous trappers pie. The food was absolutely amazing, all locally sourced, natural and packed with flavour. I tasted the best tomato soup ever thanks Greg!
All the little huts and buildings are so quaint and well maintained, with comfortable rustic accommodation.
Maddy really took to paddle boarding and disappeared off across the lake and round an island with Chanel. We were very impressed.
A very memorable holiday and we would all love to come back again.
Marion, Mike, Maddy & Amie July 2016

Room Tip: The bears den is lovely for a family of 4
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Hi Marion,
Thank you for joining us with your clan for an Algonquin Park stay and adventure.
We certainly appreciate the shoutouts to our team members who deliver our experiences. They truly are the magic that makes our Algonquin Park home such a special place to visit.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and share your story with others.
We hope you can return to Canada and share a visit with us in the future.
All the best,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

First off I want to put a BIG shout out to our guide Chantelle and thank you for all you taught us on our trek!

The second was the food...oh wow the food is all I can say!

This was an amazing adventure and so worth the trip to the Northern Edge Algonquin!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you Julie,
We are glad you enjoyed your Algonquin Park adventure with us.

Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

First off, a big thank you to Kieran and Alissa for being the best host-guides. They are friendly, knowledgeable, passionate, fun, helpful, mindful, wonderful and more. They made us feel welcomed and it was great to see them again.Both Alissa and Kieran worked tirelessly to make sure that our time at the Edge was everything we wanted. They made the experience just perfect.
Gregor's food...what can I say. "Delicious" doesn't even begin to describe how good and tasty his menu is. As before, Gregor uses local suppliers and describes their contributions to the meals. He demonstrated his passion for local foods and he went above and beyond taking care of my wife's dietary restrictions. We never left the dinner table feeling like we wanted more.
The Northern Edge sits on a beautiful lake that is perfect for swimming, kayaking, canoeing, and paddle-boarding. The scenery is spectacular. Loons and eagles, rainbows and stars. You can't imagine a more picturesque location. The cabin we stayed in was very comfortable and cozy. The addition of an electrical outlet made sure my CPAP machine would work. The amenities are clean and convenient. Points North is a perfect spot to sit and drink a tea, read, or play a mean game of Sequence with your guides and fellow campers. "Unplugged" fun is the name of the game. We couldn't have felt more restful and adventurous.
We also had a great visit with the co-founder, Todd. We enjoyed sharing our experiences with him. The new staff members, Connor and Chantal, are a perfect fit in the Edge family. Although Chantal left to take a canoe trip, we enjoyed meeting her. Connor was awesome. His knowledge of fishing and wildlife made him a valuable source of knowledge. A real pleasure meeting him!
Overall, the Edge was fantastic. This is our second time making the trek, and as before, it was well worth the drive. It really is a place that allows you to relax, but participating in the group activities are what make this place extra special. It was fun to meet new campers and get to know them a little bit. We hope they had as much fun as we did.
Thanks again, folks at the Northern Edge. We'll be seeing you again very soon! Awoooh!

Room Tip: We liked staying closer to Points North. Closer to the bathrooms and showers.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Hi Shannon,
Thank you for your visit. It means a lot to us that you took the time to share your story of what makes the Edge for you. I'll be sure to pass along your notes to the team.

Until we see you again, All the best,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

I signed up for the "Morning Tea with Moose" canoe camping trip. Food was excellent as they used local and organic food, all prepared by in-house chef. Our guides, Kieran and Chanel were very knowledgeable and put forth great effort to make sure we had a enjoyable and pleasant trip. This trip provided beautiful scenery of the backwoods of Algonquin Park and best of all, allowed me to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of urban city life. Thanks for a great weekend friends!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Chinamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

We are glad you appreciate the care you received during your stay. It means a lot to each of us that you took the time to share your story. We hope you appreciated unplugging and chilling in Algonquin Park with us. Hopefully you returned to the city with some Northern Edgy inspiration.

Hope to see you again soon,
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews