We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
138
11
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
138
11
2
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 156 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic time with our Environment SHSM students. Great learning, great environment, great food! I would definitely book again. They hired the correct people for the instruction and all learning was hands on.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank treeknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roxey S, Guest Services at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi treeknit!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Northern Edge Algonquin.

We love hosting students and teaching them about eco-tourism and the earth around them. Thank you for praising our staff, we work hard to make sure we provide the right people to lead our groups.

Our chef Greg never fails to impress and I we are so glad that you all enjoyed his locally produced meals.

We hope to see you again!

- Roxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2017

LOVED the making tracks weekend. The weather was perfect, the food was incredible and the experience will be long remembered. It's not a luxury lodge but everyplace was very clean and comfortable and it's great to see that a wilderness lodge can be maintained by solar power. It was great to be disconnected for 48 hours and reconnect with nature. Todd and Martha and their family have created something very unique and special here.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bassd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roxey S, Guest Services at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi bassd0g!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Northern Edge Algonquin. We're so happy that you loved your winter experience.

We take pride in our facility and love that you were comfortable and took away memories that will last a lifetime. It's amazing how unplugging reconnects us to nature, thank you for joining us to experience that.

We hope you can join us again to make more memories!

-Roxey


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2016

As part of a group of Travel and Tourism students from Georgian College, we got to experience first hand what eco-tourism truly means. The facilities were great, food the best ever and we got to participate in water sports, and just enjoy one of the most beautiful parks in Ontario just as the fall colours were starting. Fabulous time! It is not a hotel, restaurant property, but rather cabins and lodge style dining.

Room tip: depending on the time of year, some cabins have different facilities
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyAT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roxey S, Guest Services at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi Judy!

Thanks so much for visiting us here at Northern Edge Algonquin. We pride ourselves on our eco tourism feature and work hard to use renewable energy. We are glad that you got to experience this with your classmates and take away everything that you learned.

Fall is one of the most beautiful times here at the Edge and we are so happy you got to experience the fall colours with us.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

After having had a fabulous experience up at Northern Edge Algonquin this past February, we decided to try one of their short canoe trips and we're very happy we did.

We got off to a bit of a rough start when we headed out on Thursday afternoon - paddling and portaging and getting gear unpacked and tents / camp etc. set up in the rain - but our guides were up to the challenge of keeping our spirits up. Kieran and Alyssa kept us well fed and offered activity options for the whole trip.

Thankfully the weather co-operated for the rest of the trip - so we all got the chance to dry out and enjoy the paddling / hiking / conversations around the camp fire and the fabulous food. :-)

The final night back in a cabin at the Northern Edge felt like absolute luxury - especially since dinner was Gregor's famous pizza!!

It felt like an amazing way to start the Fall!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deirdre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you Deirdre.
We always appreciate repeat visitors. Every season has something special to offer guests who want to step away and unplug from the world for a few days.
Silver days in Algonquin Park are part of the experience. Our guides like Kieran and Alissa do their best to ensure everyone is warm, dry and comfortable. On those days when the rain is falling they keep spirits high because they truly love what they do. Thank you for opening your heart to the adventure and not letting the rain dampen your spirits.

Greg's pizza: It's not on everyone's menu, but when it is, we are happy to report most guests spend the rest of their lives remarking on the best pizza they ever had!

We hope to see you again.
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

My husband and I are avid car-campers; when we saw Northern Edge popup on Travelzoo, we jumped onto the opportunity to see if backcountry camping is for us. We had never done a portage before, never been to Algonquin, never canoe-camped (although we have canoed a lot).

Well, at the end of our 4 day trip -- yes, backcountry camping is for us. Alissa and Kieran, our guides, are fantastic at what they do. They are a wealth of knowledge and truly love what they do. I've taken many vacations, but this truly was the most relaxing vacation I have ever taken. Everything -- every last detail -- was taken care of. Kieran and Alissa provided great leadership, saw to it that everyone was well taken care of, and were overall, a pleasure to be around. I cannot imagine having better guides to be around.

If you're looking for a laid-back, relaxing vacation -- this is for you. It's a truly unplugged experience where you just bring your clothes and a toothbrush.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkyardbottles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Wow, thank you for the compliments on the care you received. Kieran and Alissa are special guides. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for all they did to make your Algonquin Park adventure a memorable one. Maybe next time you'll go on a longer adventure!

cheers,
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews