We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
138
11
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
138
11
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef gregor retreat algonquin winter campfire lake cabin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 156 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I don't know what I expected but I certainly did not expect to be blown away like I was.

Gregor (The chef/The Carpenter) is amazing. Like will you marry me, get in my trunk, I'll never eat another meal again kind of amazing. The food he makes is creative and what real farm to table was meant to be. He describes every dish with the care of someone who knows when and where each item was picked. Waiting for that dinner bell was a pavlov's dog experience each time.

Todd was a wonderful host. His pop up appearances were always anecdotal and amusing. He clearly cares that you enjoy yourself but is hyper aware not to be intrusive in your experience. Each one of the people whom popped in an out of our days taking un on canoe trips or hikes were all amazing.

The "experiences" evening events were such a welcome distraction from how full you were. The Tom Thomson art experience and the Animal Pelt discovery were just such interesting and unexpected entertainment.

The activities were just loosely organized. Striking a great balance between "we are going hiking" and "if you don't want to all good".

Had you told me before I left that I was going to a "wellness" retreat I am the kind of person whom would have run in the opposite direction but now, now I will be coming back. This was amazing.

Also for reference it was a large mix of ages. My friend and I were some of the youngest (Age 32) and it was the people who were there that added to the atmosphere.

Room tip: The small bunk cabins are loud when it rains. If this will bother you upgrade but I loved them!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheyenne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Hi Cheyenne,
It can be hard to describe what an experience at the Edge is like. Indeed things at our nature retreat are quite different from most accommodations and we strive to provide a high level of care that helps guests connect and be inspired.
It sounds like your visit was just what you were looking for.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic time with our Environment SHSM students. Great learning, great environment, great food! I would definitely book again. They hired the correct people for the instruction and all learning was hands on.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank treeknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxey S, Guest Services at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi treeknit!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Northern Edge Algonquin.

We love hosting students and teaching them about eco-tourism and the earth around them. Thank you for praising our staff, we work hard to make sure we provide the right people to lead our groups.

Our chef Greg never fails to impress and I we are so glad that you all enjoyed his locally produced meals.

We hope to see you again!

- Roxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2017

LOVED the making tracks weekend. The weather was perfect, the food was incredible and the experience will be long remembered. It's not a luxury lodge but everyplace was very clean and comfortable and it's great to see that a wilderness lodge can be maintained by solar power. It was great to be disconnected for 48 hours and reconnect with nature. Todd and Martha and their family have created something very unique and special here.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bassd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxey S, Guest Services at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi bassd0g!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Northern Edge Algonquin. We're so happy that you loved your winter experience.

We take pride in our facility and love that you were comfortable and took away memories that will last a lifetime. It's amazing how unplugging reconnects us to nature, thank you for joining us to experience that.

We hope you can join us again to make more memories!

-Roxey


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2016

As part of a group of Travel and Tourism students from Georgian College, we got to experience first hand what eco-tourism truly means. The facilities were great, food the best ever and we got to participate in water sports, and just enjoy one of the most beautiful parks in Ontario just as the fall colours were starting. Fabulous time! It is not a hotel, restaurant property, but rather cabins and lodge style dining.

Room tip: depending on the time of year, some cabins have different facilities
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyAT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxey S, Guest Services at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi Judy!

Thanks so much for visiting us here at Northern Edge Algonquin. We pride ourselves on our eco tourism feature and work hard to use renewable energy. We are glad that you got to experience this with your classmates and take away everything that you learned.

Fall is one of the most beautiful times here at the Edge and we are so happy you got to experience the fall colours with us.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

After having had a fabulous experience up at Northern Edge Algonquin this past February, we decided to try one of their short canoe trips and we're very happy we did.

We got off to a bit of a rough start when we headed out on Thursday afternoon - paddling and portaging and getting gear unpacked and tents / camp etc. set up in the rain - but our guides were up to the challenge of keeping our spirits up. Kieran and Alyssa kept us well fed and offered activity options for the whole trip.

Thankfully the weather co-operated for the rest of the trip - so we all got the chance to dry out and enjoy the paddling / hiking / conversations around the camp fire and the fabulous food. :-)

The final night back in a cabin at the Northern Edge felt like absolute luxury - especially since dinner was Gregor's famous pizza!!

It felt like an amazing way to start the Fall!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deirdre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you Deirdre.
We always appreciate repeat visitors. Every season has something special to offer guests who want to step away and unplug from the world for a few days.
Silver days in Algonquin Park are part of the experience. Our guides like Kieran and Alissa do their best to ensure everyone is warm, dry and comfortable. On those days when the rain is falling they keep spirits high because they truly love what they do. Thank you for opening your heart to the adventure and not letting the rain dampen your spirits.

Greg's pizza: It's not on everyone's menu, but when it is, we are happy to report most guests spend the rest of their lives remarking on the best pizza they ever had!

We hope to see you again.
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews