We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
138
11
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
138
11
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef gregor retreat algonquin winter campfire lake cabin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 156 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2018

I feel so grateful to write a second review for this unique and authentic facility, its programs, its values and its spiritual grounding.

Once again, the physical setting was so ideal for this retreat, which was focused on shamanic practice. We drummed, danced, dined like kings and played in the water to reconnect with our inner selves and our collective power to support and care for one another.

All the superlative adjectives in the world would barely scratch the surface of how special this place is in so many ways. Make time for it, if it calls to you. You won't be disappointed.

Big shout out to:
- the Lucier family for sharing their paradise with us
- Chef Gregor for knocking my gluten-free socks off with support from Eric, Megan and Luke
- the participants for being so open and generous
- the powerful energy of the Finnish Sauna, Grandmother Cedar, the birds and the bees, the flowers and trees, the full moon up above, visible Mars and Mercury in retrograde...it was amazing.

Room tip: Dream Time cabin with compost toilet. Great location close to the main buildings.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KiwiFan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

We are humbled at your appreciation for the care you received. Thank you for sharing the specialness of your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Northern Edge Algonquin exceeded our expectations. It was a fabulous place to spend 3 nights in such a peaceful, beautiful setting on Lake Kawawaymog. My husband and I enjoyed the entire UP NORTH experience. We were there on a perfect summer weekend, and spent our time swimming, biking, hiking, paddle boarding, canoeing, relaxing and meeting/enjoying other guests. Courtney, our group leader was so instrumental in keeping the group of 14 engaged for the weekend. She was a great teacher for the water sports and her main concern was that everyone enjoyed the experience and was meeting the guests’ expectations. She never pressured anyone to participate. There was ample time to spend on your own or join in with the group. It truly was an unplugged weekend, with no cell phone or internet access, but in a good healthy way. The only thing I truly missed was Google and sharing my wonderful experience instantly with my friends on FB.
The food, 3 hearty meals daily, was nutritious and delicious. I have never been away for 4 days and had such consistently awesome food and beverages. Greg the chef is a master in the kitchen, and you can tell he loves what he does. Loved the trifle!!!
The accommodations are perfect. We spent 3 nights in a studio cabin, with a compost toilet and running cold water. It was very comfortable, clean and in a tranquil setting in the bush, yet close to the main buildings and the lakefront.
The main area, which includes a large building that houses a common area for meeting and lounging, an upper area for yoga, meditation and reflexology, also has very nice, clean showers and washrooms.
The dining area is in the main house, and overlooks the lake. It is set up perfectly to have the opportunity to talk with other guests. Guests chip in and wash and dry the dinner dishes (not the preparation pots and pans).
The entire place runs off the grid, with a backup generator. That proved to be very beneficial for the weekend we were there, as the entire surrounding area was without power for about 3 days, caused by a major storm on our first night, that took down a lot of trees and power lines nearby. If we had not been told about the power issue at other places, we would have been oblivious to the situation, as Northern Edge ran so very smoothly all weekend.
My husband and I agree it was a fabulous experience and we would love to return. Thanks to all who made our weekend such a pleasant experience!!!

Room tip: Studio cabins have a composting toilet and running water. Worth the upgrade.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Karen_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Karen!
Thank you for sharing the story of your visit. It can be hard to express how special these guest experiences can be, especially when we get to meet such wonderful visitors from around the world. We hope you can visit us again.

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The weekend experience was amazing! Mother nature flexed her muscle with quite the lightning storm. Solar power trumps power lines down nearby! Gregor is SO amazing with mouthwatering dishes every meal. Stories about ingredients and recipes.
Our weekend facilitator, Courtney was a cheerful, positive, delight, and got us up on standup paddleboards! The group there was such a wonderful mix- two young women from Belgium, Francis with his telescope showing us jupiter and Saturn! S'mores at fireside, two Masters international soccer players, an artist from Australia, and her 70+Mom who is more adventurous than most of us! A wonderful session with Jill, releasing our inner artist, and enjoying Tom Thompson's story. Too many wonderful experiences. SO hoping to come again. Thank you Todd, Marsha, and Tim, for opening your home

Room tip: A Canvas sided cabin was perfect, reminiscent of camp, comfortable even in the heat, as in treed area
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank T3558QCanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

It was indeed a wonderful time sharing experiences with our guests. It was wonderful to be in the dining room and on the hive deck with an inspiring group of travels appreciating our home in nature.

Thank you for writing about it.

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Meals were outstanding. Hosts were very warm and inviting. Facilities were beautiful and made it easy to enjoy nature. Would recommend to anyone looking for quiet, nature and to unplug- there is no internet service or phones-Can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ElLeKay2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Thank you for appreciated our unplugged nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

We went with some friends for an enjoyable escape from work into the outdoors and we were not let down! It was a wonderful facility and the staff were so kind and welcoming. Our cabin was rustic and it felt like a genuine lakeside experience! We will definitely be going back again in the summer! Or maybe we will try a winter retreat. Who knows :)

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Northern Edge Algonquin, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Hi Erik,
Thank you for joining us at the Edge. We look forward to your next visit.
Todd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews