We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The 4 Fish(Bunaken Island)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunaken Kuskus Resort(Bunaken Island)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Arto Moro Bunaken(Bunaken Island)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
US$192
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bunaken Beach Resort(Bunaken Island)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Froggies Divers Bunaken(Bunaken Island)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bunaken Lodge(Bunaken Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
153
23
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
23
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tideother guestsocean view villalong tabledive masterreef fishjapanese dishesfloor to ceiling windowsconvivial atmospherehis wifedive sitesoutdoor showerprivate beachevery mealunderwater worldmodern roomswell trained staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 188 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at Cha Cha and cannot wait to be back. The dive sites are simply gorgeous. The food was great and plentiful and they accommodated for my dietary restrictions. The rooms are spacious - our even had a cosy balcony to lounge in. The view is simply spectacular, the staff are friendly and really helpful. Raf and Reiko, the hosts, are an awesome twosome. We were always in splits of laughter and enjoyed their company and conversations thoroughly. Loved the idea of everyone dining together because that made sure we all got to know each other, which is a part of travelling I really love. At low tide, we also took a nice walk around the island with Brexie, one of the many friendly dogs at Cha Cha.

Just a small note - If you are a beginner diver (like us), do let them know in advance (unlike us), because you might want a dive master specifically with you that they can then pre-arrange. I say this because we forgot to tell Raf and we went diving with super experienced divers and while we never feared for our safety or were uncomfortable, we found our interests were different. The diving is still spectacular, but I would have loved to see more fish than spend majority of our time looking for and at small critters. I know this sounds like a first world problem, but it is a small thing that might help you as a newbie to enjoy your dives a little more.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4evertravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2017

If you want a destination where you can unplug from your devices, be pampered by Raf and Reiko and their amazing staff, eat wonderfully prepared food and experience unparalleled multitudes of many varieties of tropical fish and turtles, then look no further! Raf and Reiko are wonderful hosts who join the guests for communal dining. Unfortunately for me, I had planned to dive but, came down with a rather nasty head cold just prior to arriving at Cha Cha. Raf had his staff mix me up a hot totie one evening which worked wonders! We thoroughly enjoyed the daily snorkeling boat trips as well as the local reef just offshore. The accommodations were also great and bed very comfortable. Our only regret was not booking a longer stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoCalWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at Cha Cha and wish that we could have stayed for longer. Raf and Reiko and their staff made us feel very welcome. The room had everything we required and was very spacious and clean, it had an ocean view and its own terrace. The diving was fantastic with huge numbers of reef fish all around, Anton (the dive guide) was very good at finding very tiny creatures for us. We dived every morning and on alternate afternoons.
The food was very impressive with a mix of local and Western dishes. The wines we had were also very good and, especially compared to Singapore, very reasonably priced. Sitting at the long table with the other guests gives you the opportunity to have some very interesting conversations over dinner.
The dogs make the place feel very like a home and were very friendly. If you're the type of person looking for 5 star luxury this is not for you but if you like great diving, good food and wine, a warm welcome and comfortable lodging with peace and tranquility then Cha Cha is the place for you. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

I spent a truly relaxing week at ChaCha in a beautiful cottage with the view of the sea, great diving, pleasant walks and friendly locals to interact with.

The resort is a small family run affair. The hosts are both experienced divers and they know the island and Manado like the back of their hand, so they will be able to help you make the most of your stay and tell you a few interesting local stories in the process. They also have five adorable dogs that will keep you company.

The villas/cottages are modern and well appointed, pleasantly cool during the day - yes there is airco and hot water. The staff are polite, friendly and efficient. They keep the place clean.

The owners are foodies, so the food is excellent. The chef makes a really good effort on Indonesian, European and Japanese dishes. It is a double challenge, because all ingredients have to be brought from the mainland. I probably put on a few pounds during that stay. They also have an impressive wine cellar, which I did not try, because I was diving.

Diving in Bunaken is absolutely world class. It was very enjoyable and in addition I had the luxury of being the only diver, which made it even more special.

All in all, a great stay if you enjoy a bit of comfort and good food with a lot of personal attention in a familiar setting.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017

If all you want from your trip is excellence in the above then you have come to the right place. This is a small resort which feels like an extended family run by Raf ,an Irish-Italian and his Japanese wife, Reiko. Many of the guests are repeaters who have fallen in love with this gem of a place. While we were there guests were from Denmark, Germany, Switzerland, Singapore ,India ,China and Scotland. Raf has imported some of the best luxuries from 5 star resorts and applied them to his resort. For example ,best hot shower I have ever experienced in a small island resort, thick soft towels, ice cold Bitung beer and well stocked bar including wine, unusual for Indonesia, well functioning wifi ,experienced knowledgeable and friendly dive /snorkel guides. Excellent and friendly service from all staff. There is airconditioning functioning during the day while the resort generators are running .At night the resort reverts to island power hence no in room coffee/tea facility as the electricity supply wouldn't cope.
This resort is not for everyone though. The dining is communal with a set menu and mealtimes and there is no pool or evening entertainment ,other than Raf and his wealth of stories. Also there are 5 resident dogs that have the run of the communal area ( and 5 puppies in addition while we were there).
Cha Cha is located on the cleaner, more sheltered East side of Bunaken Island and has its own house reef about 60 metres from the shore.At low tide you can just about walk to the drop off edge of the reef.We were there during the half moon when apparently currents run stronger and one day struggled back to the shore. There is no safety boat on site, only the dive boat so it is important to operate within your individual competency. I would not recommend the house reef for beginner snorkelers or those who are not strong swimmers, although snorkelling from the boat is excellent. The house reef has excellent healthy coral and abundant marine life including turtles, rays, reef sharks and reef fish.
We were met at Manado airport by Benni , easy to locate with a clear sign ,friendly and English speaking and driven 45 minutes through the busy city to the harbour where we clambered onto a chartered speedboat for the somewhat choppy crossing to Cha Cha . On our return trip the boat actually docked at Wori instead of Manado for a shorter smoother crossing , again met by Benni. There is no arrival jetty so you have to wade ashore in shorts and water shoes/booties.
We stayed in the Superior bungalows made of traditional design as we liked the more rustic style with open air showers missing from the newer concrete design villas. The rooms were clean and tastefully designed. The bed was 2 singles pushed together to make a king which left an uncomfortable ridge in the centre though the bed was comfortable .The resort battles against nature constantly and we had to move rooms on the second night due to the ceiling leaking .There is an extension cable accommodating plugs from all locations in the room and wifi worked in the rooms. The sockets are European.2 litres of drinking water are supplied in the rooms and can be replenished anytime. Mosquito coils were lit inside and outside the rooms .We did get a few mosquito bites but the insects were not in big numbers or obvious. All the rooms are on a slope with sea view requiring steps/stairs , some of which are quite steep. The resort is colourfully landscaped with pretty flowers and foliage
The meals were beautifully presented and varied .The food was a mixture of Indonesian and Japanese fare .No chance to go hungry .3 meals a day with coffee and cake mid afternoon in addition. Special dietary requests are catered for. Wonderful fruit plates with every meal .
We went on a couple of dive/snorkel trips which were excellent , with healthy extensive coral carpets at Bunaken Timur. snorkel guide Mull was first class : sharp eyed and funny and able to spot any critters hiding from view. Both Anton , the dive guide, and Mull the snorkel guide made sure everyone had the best experience and both indeed borrowed my camera to take underwater photos of deeper creatures which was much appreciated. The dive boat goes out every morning to 2 sites and also in the afternoon on request.
It is possible to walk to several of the local Indonesian villages, the closest being 20 minutes along a dirt track , and also onto Liang beach where Bastianos Dive Resort is situated (about 40 minutes walk). Observing the litter on the beach outside Bastianos made us even more appreciative of Cha Cha.
All in all an excellent relaxed, no frills resort , good value for money

Room Tip: all excellent with sunrise views
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews