We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely period cottage in stunning location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morv P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely period cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great location for a family gathering. We were 6 adults and 4 children (including one baby) and high chair, change mat and travel cot all provided. There is a playroom off the kitchen which is great for the kids. Kitchen is well equipped for self-catering and has an AGA in it to keep it nice and warm. Only issues we had were no dishwasher tablets included (although full complement of cleaning products/Fairy liquid etc) and no sugar or pepper or further logs after we had used the starter pack. Also probably characteristic of the style of cottage but there is no soundproofing between the floors and every word in the kitchen and lounge carries upstairs. A beautiful location and outlook although quite a hairy approach on steep hair pin bends. Would highly recommend the Punchbowl Inn at the foot of the hill for dinner (great for kids too).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing cottage. Clean roomy comfortable and serene. There were seven adults staying and there was plenty of room so that we weren't on top of each other. The views were out of the world and the neighbours are friendly and knowledgeable. The cottage is faultless and grabs the imagination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“well equipped, comfortable cottage in Swaledale”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Pursglove cottage is set in the heart of Swaledale and is reached up a steep and twisty lane. The effort is well worth it. The cottage is warm and welcoming. It is very well equipped and very well presented. The standard of cleanliness is very high. The owners live in the area and are very friendly and helpful. Being in the heart of Swaledale means there are plenty of wonderful walks, starting literally on the doorstep. Richmond, Harrogate, Hawes and Leyburn are all within easy reach along roads offering stunning views. We also drove to Settle and took the train to Carlisle. Altogether a wonderful week's holiday. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Pursglove cottage, which we booked through Sykes cottages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicBrog
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend with family including children. Absolutely beautiful cottage. Every detail was thought of, best equipped cottage I've ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, and finished to a high standard. Plenty of space for all of us. We loved the boot room for coming in with wet dogs, and the kids loved the playroom. Outstanding views, this cottage is very high up - the directions mentioned a hairpin bend which doesn't quite do it justice! Take it wide, and don't get stuck like I did! Fine once you get used to it, and it certainly wouldn't put us off returning. We just loved every inch of this quirky cottage, steps up and down to all the rooms, beams and thick stone doorways. The Aga was a pleasure to use and we wanted for nothing in the well equipped pantry. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and quirkiness
Liked least: That road!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R
Hull United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just about the perfect cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is just about the perfect well equipped cottage for a fantastic family holiday, the accommodation is great and the cottage has everything you need for a perfect hols. it's got everything your own home has and more you don't need to take anything with you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is exceptional and it is so well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Hearing the property described as "perfect" really makes our day, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We would love to have you back very soon, and next time you will be able to pack a little lighter knowing everything you need is already at Pursglove Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing