We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
10
18
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
18
6
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 40 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

The hotel went out of business 10 years ago and was abandoned. 5 years or so ago, it was made a residence ( think condo) and the former rooms are now owned and lived in by locals or rented to locals. The rooms are also rented on AirBnB, VRBO and other sites. There are no hotel facilities other than a pool and a pizza place. It is a great location, but you have to take care of yourself. It is very much French with french visitors.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Woolfcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Really nice place, the beach and the ocean were spectacular not busy as it was off season
Maybe 50+ steps to the beach so good exercise
The beach is 1.6 km
A car is a must
Nice restaurants in the proximity
Le Piment as really good, in rest lots of other options available

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Dalis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2016

Had to pu keys in Grand Case. It was pouring buckets of rain. The hostess gave us a map and keys but no directions. What a nightmare in the pouring rain. No one at reception hall at Mt Vernon. It stunk like cat urine. We walked the complex till we figured it out. Hostess told us parking was difficult but that if we drove around a few times we would certainly find a parking spot. What a joke. Mud everywhere as the parking lot at the bottom is not paved. Our shoes are of course ruined. Left them in our room.. We have done lots of vrbo exchanges over the years but this is by far the worst! We have always had an owner or representative greet us at the front door with handouts for everything in the area. Not much here except a pamphlet on their own restaurant. My Vernon is a dirty, dirty place. Most units are rented or owned by locals who all seem to own a cat or dog. None of them poop scoop so beware of where you walk. Dog feces on all the paths. Disgusting. It's a long walk to the unit from the parking lot and back down to the pool. The best feature except there are no washrooms. If you need to go you have to trek up the hill again. Yikes! Not relaxing at all! Our unit was one of the better locations and it is true that Mt Vernon is on the beach however a long beach walk to the closest restaurant. We chose to go to Orient Bay everyday as we were looking for the ambience that we know St Maarten has to offer. We have been here 3 times before always staying at the Esmeralda Resort. although you pay more it is truly a vacation. By the way our unit came with one beach towel each for one week, one bath towel each and one hand towel each for the week. What a joke!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hickerquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

My husband and I rented an ocean front studio apartment directly from an owner at Mont Vernon in Orient Bay on the French side of the island. We had an incredible stay. Mont Vernon used to be a hotel, and does have some wear. The outside of the buildings are peeling from old paint and the grounds have seen better days but if you look past that, out to the beautiful vistas that Orient Bay offers, it is quite stunning! It is off the beaten path and the road to get there is bumpy and quite residential - but if you are a traveler with wanderlust and not a tourist (like us) this will be a wonderful vacation. We rented unit 3103 and it was super clean, well supplied and unobstructed ocean front. It is also quite inexpensive. Our ocean front unit only set us back around $115 per night. We stocked up breakfast meals, sandwich makings and snacks from the grocery store and that kept our food costs down substantially. We rented a car that enabled us to make grocery store runs, dinner every night at another location of the island (Grand Case is our favorite for cuisine) and it also made it possible to explore the entire island when we wanted.

The first day there, we walked down to the more public beach (about 1/2 - 1/2 mile one way) and rented beach chairs for $20 for the entire week. Fyi- the restaurants down there will negotiate price if you rent for more than one day. You will be served food/beverages at your beach lounge chair so take advantage of that.

It was a lovely vacation. I just booked another stay at Mont Vernon and am already looking forward to going back.

My personal tip is to spend a day at Pine Island. You have to boat there. It was uhhhhh-mazing!

Stayed: February 2016
4  Thank Wanderita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016

We had an absolutely fantastic time at Mount Vernon. Nick and Gloria were great to rent from and very helpful if needed. It was a very clean, nice set up and I can say anything more than the location is FANTASTIC and convenient. You are at the quiet end of Orient Beach and its a short distance down the hill to the beach. We would walk the entire length of the beach several times a day. You could lay by the pool or the beach area in front of Mount Vernon. Or you can walk down the beach and rent a chair/umbrella from many vendors. We rented a car and it was easy to get around the island for groceries, to see other beaches and shopping. We will definitely go back to St. Maarten and will rent from Nick and Gloria again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews