We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Orient Beach with tropical trade winds sitting on your personal deck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Every Villa is different. Looks like your in the French Qtrs. Older resort but clean and comfy. Housekeeping was always there if you needed anything. Very friendly Island hard working people at Villa. Loved listening to them speaking French. Nice pool to relax at after the beach. Beach is only a 5 minute walk. Breakfast was included in our plan. Lunch and dinner available poolside but they didnt change the menu at all while we were there. But there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance that are terrific. Recommend renting a car to tour the Island. Roads can be very trick at night. Very steep mountain roads with occasional goats running free. Plenty of shopping on either the French or Dutch side. This was my 8th trip there but 1st time on French side. If your looking to just lay back and enjoy the beaches the French side is the way to go. The Dutch side is more the party stay up all night side to stay. Been there done that. This was a more relaxing trip.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017

This is not fancy but it is clean and well kept and the staff are great. They include a continental breakfast (do not be late or you will be told off) . They include free lounges on several nearby beaches. They are within blocks walking of the beach. You can order food at the restaurants on the beaches and they will put it on your hotel bill. This works very well. I would stay here again.

yes! And there is a kitchen in the room- microwave, coffee maker, sink and cook top. Dishes are provided.

Room Tip: I liked 683. Near the pool but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandererannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We had booked adjoining rooms - one for me and my husband and the other for our son and his friend (college age). Got there and although we had requested a king room and a room with twin beds - they both had kings. Managed with the futon for my ne boy the first night and Suade made arrangements to have twin beds brought in to the suite the next day. Great customer service from the f not desk.
The rooms are in dire need of an upgrade. They are just really tired. There was a tv in our lounge but not one in the bedroom. That was a disappointment but not a deal breaker.
The breakfast was fine. The usual petit dejeuner. The resident kitten made it so pleasant. The food staff was blah. I'd say they do not enjoy their jobs. That was unfortunate since we saw them every day several times a day.
Be prepared for the walk to the beach. I suggest going down to Bikini Beach Bar for your seats at the beach. They make great drinks and the food is good. The chairs and umbrellas are included in your hotel stay.
Only suggestion - update the rooms. I could literally hear the people on the the other side of our bedroom plugging in their appliances in the morning. No insulation at all.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms have bette view. We had 890 and 891 - great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank breezie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel during our first vacation to St Martin. This is not a very luxurious feeling hotel but rather quaint and charming with a casual Caribbean vibe.

Pros: Reasonably priced, good location (very short walk from the beach), quiet and private rooms/bungalows, plenty of parking including a parking spot right outside your room, a convenient charge card that can be used at many places on Orient Beach for food and lounge chairs, large and clean rooms, nice swimming pool with pleasant lounging area. The hotel was close driving distance from Grand Case and Anse Marcel. The staff members at reception were very friendly and helpful. They upgraded us from a studio to a suite when we arrived so that was nice to have a larger room with seating area and kitchen.

Cons: WIFI - my biggest complaint. The wifi service was usually not working and was slow when it was. This applies to the wifi in the room, reception and cafe. And I get that you don't need to be surfing the internet on your beach vacation, but we needed to research activities on the island, email people to coordinate activities like scuba diving etc, keep in touch with the pet sitter back home... We mentioned something to the front desk staff and they admitted it was a problem. They claimed the whole island has bad wifi - maybe, but we got wifi at some cafes we visited. So anyway, just don't plan to have reliable wifi. There was not enough hot water for even one person to take a shower, that was a major bummer. The breakfast was also not great (but it was included so we ate it most days). The fruit at breakfast was not fresh - how is this possible in the Caribbean? The coffee wasn't great either. The breakfast is a pretty typical French breakfast with baguette, decent croissants and jam. Don't bother trying to eat breakfast elsewhere (unless you want to drive to a French bakery like Sarafina) because there aren't many places nearby that serve breakfast and they all serve the same thing.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cmm218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and it is because you cannot go wrong. The ladies at the desk make it worth your while! They are all very charming, sincere, helpful and just wonderful!!!
The rooms are clean and contain all you. need to make your vacation enjoyable. There is an ample kitchenette, closets, nice king beds, ironing boards, coffee maker, microwave etc. Beach towels are included and you will have beach chairs, umbrellas and privileges at 5 beaches and restaurants. You just a few blocks to the beach.
Buffet breakfast is included and service couldn't be better! Of course there is a huge pool and dinner is served nightly (for a fee). There also plenty of restaurant choices for a short walk.
What could be better??

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Babboobabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We spent 12 days on this beautiful island and were very pleased with our bungalow with large room and balcony.
No, it's not 5 star so everything is not perfect, maybe some painting etc needs to be done.
But it has Charme and a real "Caribbean" feel, that's more important to us.
Nice swimming area.
Short walk to the wonderful beach, and Orient bay, which has a square with several restaurants, most French, one Italian, and a Thai. Prices were high compared to our own country.
We rented a car for two days and saw most of the island.
I would recommend this to everyone who is surching for a nice small hotel and a relaxing time at the beach on a beautiful island!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We decided on St. Martin this year for a winter get-away. We stayed at Hotel La Plantation on Orient Beach. When we got to the hotel (about a 45 minute cab ride from the airport, depending on traffic - more on that later) we were pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite. All rooms look over the ocean, but since the beach is a couple blocks away most are more of the garden view variety. The suite had a living room, a kitchen, a bedroom with a king bed, and a private veranda. Very clean. Our second day there we discovered that whenever we turned the water on the circuit breaker would trip and we'd have no electricity. Then we didn't have any hot water. It took a couple of days, but the maintenance staff worked dilligently until it was fixed. We were offered a key to an empty suite so we could at least take a hot shower. At all times the staff was helpful, friendly, and attentive. We didn't eat at the restaurant much, so I can't really review the food. The breakfast buffet was the same every day - typical European continental breakfast fare. The times we did eat there service was a little slow, but you're on vacation, so what's the hurry. The beach is a few blocks away, which worked out well. There are five establishments on the beach that will charge food and beverages back to the room. I recommend Coco Beach - separate review forthcoming on that one. Things to do: The beach is great for a good two mile walk. Lots of water sports if you're so inclined. There is a little market and some finer dining restaurants a few blocks from the hotel. We rented a car one day to tour the island (car rental available at the hotel) - I recommend doing this or getting a bus tour. The island is beautiful, and there are a lot of shops and other beaches. We stopped at Maho Beach to watch the planes land. Driving is interesting. The traffic is extremely congested, but everyone is courteous. Back to the hotel - again, no real complaints - great, friendly service. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was awesome - I could live there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GillRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.4 km away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
607 reviews
1.9 km away
Orient Bay Hotel
Orient Bay Hotel
#8 of 8 in Orient Bay
16 reviews
4.4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.7 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,819 reviews
7.6 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: $203 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing