We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$291
View deal
Expedia.comUS$312
Hotels.comUS$312
TravelocityUS$312
PricelineUS$311
eDreamsUS$291
Orbitz.comUS$312
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
201
241
67
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
241
67
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the lower level baguette superior room hill kitchenette beach st caribbean gourmet units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 536 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Mz. D and I returned for the first time since Irma. La Plantation remains a stellar experience at Orient Beach. Hotel staff are cordial and competent, and make for an easy stay. The on site poolside cafe can’t be beat, and the front desk staff and cafe staff are first rate. It is only an eight minute walk to the beach.....
Perfect. Our seventh stay at La Plantation and our seventh successful stay!!

Room tip: This is a single level set of bungalows. We prefer the upper tier on the hillside.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Stayed here four nights over the Memorial Day weekend. We had a king suite. It was quite large with plenty of room for two people. Good sized porch. Clean everywhere and kept clean every day by housekeeping. Beach towels provided. Small continental breakfast served daily included in my price. Paid about $150/night in US dollars. I thought it was good value for how close it was to the beach. (Fifteen minute walk or two minute car ride) My stay also included complimentary chairs and umbrella at Kontiki.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetreker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

Sweet little place! Loved the friendly servers! The breakfast was great! Especially the homemade breads! The rooms are spacious and the ladies up at check in front are wonderful!!! Thank you Indiana for the wonderful drinks and friendly service! Made our 20th anniversary extra special! Don’t miss the Salmon and risotto- delicious! Hugs!!!

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank Stickwithmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Don't go and expect to be waited on hand and foot. The hotel is more of a cottage style community right on Orient Beach. Convenient location to dinning, shopping, watersports and a beautiful stretch of beach.
Just about 30 minutes from SXM airport.
Bring your own power converter!

Room tip: Room 529 was a great location
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caribispecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

Hotel “La Plantation” was restored after hurricane Irma and it’s in good conditions, it could be better but under the circumstances and how the rest of the island looks (which undergoes heavy reconstruction), it looks fine. The superior room was very spacious and had everything we needed: pots, pans, micro-wave, coffee maker.

The location is one of the best in St. Martin. Currently, Orient Bay it’s one of the most reconstructed part of St. Martin, from both French and Dutch side: even though more expensive than Marigot, there are newly built restaurants open during the evening as well, supermarkets, and an overall feeling that disaster that hurricane Irma left behind has been left behind.

From the service point of view, it was one of the most unfriendly and un-hospitable hotel we have ever traveled. From the start we were welcomed with the information that the front desk is open until 6 PM, because “they also have a life”. This information was provided upfront, in the first 5 minutes, without even enquiring about it. The second was that “you have a bottle of water, but the rest you will have to buy for yourself". Again, this information per say, on an island that has been struck by hard times, is not unheard off, but the aggressive way it has been provided left us with a sour taste about the choice of hotel.

And now, just don’t get me started on the restaurant service. If you plan to travel with kids, like we did (1 and 4 years old), you would do a lot better elsewhere. From the first day, each time we requested the high-chair for the baby, we were welcomed with rolling eyes and a grunt from the lady that was supposed to help us. One day, we had to eat with the little one in our lap, because she has not deigned to show her face near enough for us to ask it. In another day, she just said that if we want a high chair, we could just get it for ourselves from the back (of the restaurant). Each time she saw us with the kids, she just plastered a sour look on her face like “not them again”, even though the kids are really well behaved in the restaurant. I guess that the behavior against kids is something specific to the entire island, not just this hotel, because the same rolling eyes and lack of smiles we encountered in multiple restaurants all over the island.

From the breakfast perspective, it’s just plain breakfast, not bad, but nothing special either. There is no variation of foods, the omelette was most of the time overcooked, but there was freshly squeezed juice (or it seemed that way).

The room was cleaned daily, but the floors continuously left us with black feet.

Overall, the location saved our vacation, and we were lucky that we chose Orient Bay. However, we would not come back to this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LidiaZ983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews